We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Landmark Canton Hotel
Ranked #45 of 3,475 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Good clean rooms with a nice shower! (be sure to get one if the newly renovated rooms. )
okay staff / polite but not a big help when asked for travelling advice.
excellent breakfast (a part from the poor coffee) for 78yuan on the top of the building which meant a great view!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonasmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Landmark Canton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 489 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Got a newly renovated room when i stayed. The bed was nice and comfy. The working desk was a bit small though and not really conducive for working. There was a LAN cable provided and the internet connection was good. Air conditioning was very good and the room cools down fast even during very hot days.

Renovation is still going on though and you can hear the noise from the renovation during the day. Thankfully, it stops after a certain hour at night.

Guangzhou does not sleep and although i was on the 18th floor, the noise from the street still filtered through the windows.

Hotel location is very central and a short walk will take you to the Pearl River.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dthk_msia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for the last eight years. The only reason why I keep returning is the location. The staff is clueless and is neither interested in answering your questions nor meeting your needs. Not that they can't, they only have a very local mentality. The only way to get their attention was when I reminded them I was their customers not their friends. It's frustrating. I must admit they got me so trained that i have learned all the tricks to be self-reliance. I give it an average because of the location and the price does justify it. But I tell you, i would rather pay more to stay at a better hotel if I had a choice.

Room Tip: Don't rely on the hotel for any special requests like non-smoking room. You always have to remi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonbonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

first the good stuff: rooms were nice since we booked a newly renovated room. i dont know what the other rooms look like that are not newly renovated. near the train station, a mcdonalds and some shopping places.

the not so good stuff: check-in took forever! we were waiting in line for more than 20 minutes...and we were the next in line! Front desk did not give us the right room. We had to transfer rooms. I had to call to correct them when I saw we had no river view. I ust want what I paid for.

The other room we booked was given a tiny view of the river even if we booked a river view room. The room smelled of cigarettes even if I requested for a non smoking room. Maybe they should not put trainees at the front desk during peak hours like 12nn to 3pm. It was the trainee that checked us in. The trainees should speak and understand a little english. Room service kept on getting our orders wrong, one item was always missing.

So, if you disregard their service, and just want a hotel to sleep in, it's a good hotel to stay in if the room you get is "newly renovated."

Room Tip: get the "newly renovated" rooms with the "river view"
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celery A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

It's clear that it's old, althghou it's clean & tidy, centered location u can find, buses, metro, many markets, rests, & others. If u like sea food as I do, don't miss the rest just on the left of the hotel. But beware prepare ur money it's expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is in a very good location, next to the Pearl River, just 50m to the Haizhou Square Metro station, plenty of restaurants, bars and nightclubs in the vicinity. Recommended for nightclubs: "True Colour" and "The Cave". For restaurants: " CocoTea"
Rooms are somewhat outdated but the hotel is undergoing a renovation currently, so this might change in a few weeks/months. Some floors have already been completed, so you might want to ask for a renovated room.
Did not have breakfast or dinner at the hotel, so cannot comment on that. Service was good, some staff excelled, especially a girl called "Bee". Very helfpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a renovated floor facing the river.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Hotel Landmark, what can i say...

Trip: Business
Time: April for 21 days
Room: Business Suite

Comments:
Room; Room was great.. would personally love them to update the rooms as fairly dated although well appointed.. Fridge, Lounge, Desk, LARGE COMFORTABLE Bed, 2 LCD's and bathroom. Only real negative is being dated,, and for crying out LOUD only LAN internet (no wifi) that crashes consistently.

Room Service: OMG, what is the go here.. eg, the toilet roll holder is a double holder and what do they do? leave one empty and let the other get below half before they replace the only one the dare to.. i have had to call room service every day to get more paper... (food has not treated me well)...

Club Lounge: this is another misconception.. do not expect to come to a club floor with all day beverages (non alcoholic), food, nibblies etc.. all that is offered is tea/coffee all day and then between 6-8pm sprite, coke zero, coke, local beer and some 'food' if you can refer to it as that.. although you can buy perrier water or wine. although service is great, they are very welcoming..

Paradise Restaurant (level 39).. this is touted as the highest western restaurant in guangzhou, omg, what defines western.. i dont recall eating fried rice and crab roe (egg) in melbourne at my local chinese restaurant.. mmm..

Staff: very friendly, language is a huge issue, although they try to be so accommodating..

In house costs: this is insane, it costs me 15.00 (plus 15%) to wash my jocks.. and boy, i could go to the fashion district and buy a new set for less than that.. it is just Canton Fair Highway Robbery.. take advantage of all traveller.. even to the extent of soft drinks, you can buy a can of coke downstairs in the supermarket for 3.00 and yet you pay $30ish plus 15% in the hotel..

Surroundings: food.. go to a german restaurant only minutes walk from the hotel.. turn right at the pearl river and it is just past the first bridge you go under.. its called 1920... nice meal, had pork there last night and will return tomorrow night as well.. hearty sized portions and very very reasonable prices...

Overall, i would stay here again.. it has been ok,, although nothing would really compare to a traditional hotel that has a truly well appointed club floor..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjllrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#176 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
LN Hotel Five
LN Hotel Five
#34 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#48 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#80 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
142 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#18 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Canton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Canton Hotel

Address: No.8 Qiaoguang Road, Haizhu Square,Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#42 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $76 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Landmark Canton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landmark Canton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Landmark Canton
Landmark Canton Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing