We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Canton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canton
Ranked #45 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My first impression inside of the hotel is the hotel is kind of old. It is very convenient located near many markets, shops and even 7/11. There is a safe inside my room, which is always very important when you are traveling to any foreign country. The WiFi was decent, the cleanness of the room is decent. This is not a five stars hotel so therefore can't expect too much of it. I will recommend anyone who wants a decent hotel without spending too much money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88Happytraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have visited this hotel in June 2012. It has nice location near to downtown and few steps to Beijing Road that has many markets, shops, resultants, etc. The bed was clean & confortable, room’s size is acceptable and staffs are supportive. The breakfast was below average. There is good swimming pool. Moreover, there is nearby mosque for Muslim.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Other than that, the wifi is terrible, our bathroom smelled like pee, and they are VERY stingy with their maps. We booked 3 rooms for the 7 of us for about 10 nights and they were not willing to give us more than 2 maps.

My parents' room was charged a 10 RMB fee for "messy room" LOL. That's less than $2 here.. how petty.

Also, anyone who collects key cards as a souvenir should not book this hotel, because they charge 100 RMB for each lost key card.

The customer service sucked and concierge is non existent. Check-in took over half an hour per room.

If you put out the "do not disturb" sign, they will go into your room regardless.

If you go to the pool, they will make you buy a swim cap.

Also, most importantly, book online. If you book at the desk, they will rip you off. Book online and pay almost half the price.

Room Tip: If you check in later, they might run out of regular rooms and give you an upgrade to the business f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Booked a commercial twin room that came with 2 queen size beds. Great value for money but the hotel is really old. We took a cab from the hotel and was dropped off at basement one. Nobody was there to help us with luggage and we had to take lift to level 2, where the reception is situated. (Level one is restaurant and salon) They do have a driveway at level 2 but it seems only private cars and on call cabs are allowed to drive in. The staff at reception provided very lousy service, only 3 staff for such a big hotel. Again, no bell boy from reception to room. Don't like carpet in the room, caught a few tiny black bugs crawling around but otherwise bed is still acceptable. For us, WIFI was perfect. Upon check out, we were told to go down to basement one, stand along the road side to grab a cab. Not very professional i would say.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Canton for three nights on a business trip and was overall very happy with my choice. To summarize, Hotel Canton is a slightly outdated, but very affordable luxury hotel with a great location and English-speaking, attentive staff. I did not have breakfast or used the gym, so I can't comment on that. The only reason I did not give the hotel an "Excellent" is because the Wifi was so slow I could not have a stable Skype conversation and internet failed fully at times. This is a shame because it would be so easy to fix. However, I plan to stay there again on my next trip.

PROs:
- I paid 350 RMB for a single occupancy deluxe room, that was great value for money
- The receptionists spoke proper English
- The location is good for shopping, the subway is about 10 min walk away, and it is strategically well located for potential factory visits in Baiyun
- Good response to service requests (ordered an iron + board which were brought immediately)
- Majestic aura of a (former) luxury hotel
- ATM, mobile phone top-up service, hair saloon, and shops in building. A small groceries shop is just outside (across the street at North exit, on the right of the ramp at the South exit)

CONs:
- WiFi connection is very slow, Skype impossible and internet breaks down fully at times
- At second sight, the facilities are a bit outdated, e.g. the light switches, the shower head (including water pressure which is OK but not great), the entire design is a bit old-fashioned
- No English entertainment channels, only CNN

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salonikanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay when in Guangzhou. Just a few walks away from the bargain shopping district Beijing Lu. Breakfast is ok, there' s a lot of choices. The gym area is not so nice, its kinda dark with very few and low en equipments and they close at 10 pm which is kinda too early for me.
I love their Kapok club perks where i use the points i earned to shop in the little store at the ground floor beside the information counter

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haelana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Got an upgrade to a suite-like room and paid only €45 per night. Great value, clean room, perfect bed and located near the main shopping street in Guangzhou with the river only a few taxi minutes away. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperHofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Landmark Canton Hotel
#46 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
498 reviews
Guangzhou Hotel
#185 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
472 reviews
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yuexiu District
Yingshang Airland Hotel Guangzhou Beijing Road
Yingshang Airland Hotel Guangzho...
#402 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
21 reviews
Guangdong Hotel
#781 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canton

Address: No.374 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510030, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $57 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Canton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing