We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay at Hotel Canton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Canton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Canton
Ranked #51 of 3,392 Hotels in Guangzhou
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Hotel Canton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is located very close to pedestrian street, a prominent shopping area of Guangzhou. Hiring a public taxi can be a bit difficult. Eating could be an issue for any indian around the vacinity of the hotel. Otherwise hotel is nice and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Look for a smoke free floor. Stay above 15th floor for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEERAJ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    227
    56
    12
    7
See reviews for
19
25
14
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
429 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is not a bad hotel, but it does feel a little old. It has a large, but shallow, swimming pool; a health centre whose offerings are somewhat different from those specified in the leaflet in guest rooms(!), somewhat musty rooms (second hand smoke??), ... It claims to be 4 star, but 3 would be more accurate. Location is good - near to the Beijing Lu night markets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TempleofPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Went with my colleagues for a weekend shopping trip and choose this hotel based on friend's recommendation.

The hotel is actually not at Beijing road through its address indicated so. Nonetheless it is located some 3 mins walk from Beijing road so it's pretty convenient if proximity to Beijing road is needed. It's also pretty closed to the subway which is only about some 5 minutes stroll away.

We booked an executive suite and it's spacious. Room looks a little dated but what we really appreciate is the PC and the Internet availability in our room.

Will recommend one to stay for the convenience of location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessTKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I booked this hotel on Orbitz.com. I was charged twice for the reservation. When I got to the hotel I was told that I would receive a refund on my credit card. This did not happen. When I contacted Orbitz I was told that the hotel had refused to refund the money. I was a solo traveler and I had booked a room and checked in. However I was charged twice and neither the hotel nor Orbitz were prepared to make the refund. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL AND FROM ORBITZ.COM. I feel that they are liars and thieves!

Room Tip: There are lots of good hotels in GZ. Choose any one except this one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank China D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

stayed for 3nights in twin sharing room,

PRO :-
1. Security (especially for lady traveller) because they had 1staff on duty on every floor from night to morning,
2. spacious room
3. 5 ~ 8 mins walk to Beijing Road for shopping
4. the breakfast, many variety and good

CON :-
1. Housekeeping not up to standard, we found tissue papers on the floor and water bottle on the side table after checking in. We left the tissue papers where it was and the next day, it was still on the floor.
2. Even thought it is near Beijing Road, the return from Beijing road back to hotel, have to climb up the slope which was tiring especially after a whole day of walking/shopping (and carrying many shopping victory)
3. 15mins walk to Subway train/MRT/MTR/Metro

overall, it is OK but nothing outstanding

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have stayed here for many years but it is going more down hill. It is very tired. This time only 2 of the 3 lifts worked and as per usual the beds are so hard you may as well sleep on the floor

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here for a week on business trip. We requested non-smoking room but when we checked-in...we were told that only smoking room was available! Shocked and we insisted to have non-smoking rooms and about 10 minutes later, they managed to get us the non-smoking rooms. A relief...but made me wondered if I didnt insist would they still be checking so hard to give us the non-smoking one?

well...the room was a bit too dark and a bit smelly as well. It's a very old hotel in clear needs of renovation. but to be frank, it's only around RMB 350 a night, what can you expect?

one thing that made me very uncomfortable is about the hotel guests. I sometimes ran into some women who look and dress like prostitute (no proof though...) in the lift. They look like they are there on call service.

Thanks god I'm there only for a week. but as mentioned, given the price tag it would considered to be "ok". I personally would never really wanna go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.0 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guangdong Yingbin Hotel (Guest House)
2.2 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#31 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sino Trade Center Hotel
Sino Trade Center Hotel
#56 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#17 of 3,392 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zhuhai Special Economic Zone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canton

Property: Hotel Canton
Address: No.374 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510030, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canton 3*
Number of rooms: 465
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing