We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good!”
Review of Hotel Canton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canton
Ranked #48 of 3,475 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I was mistakenly booked into this hotel as I wanted to stay in the Beijing road hotel rather than the one near Baiyun mountain.

The hotel was in the middle of nowhere and the taxi driver could not go up the mountain due to the road being blocked off.

However the hotel driver picked us up which was good.

The reception staff on arrival were very slow at checking us in and kept talking among themselves and didn't seem to have any urgency.

The room was large with two double beds as I booked a twin room. However it was quite dark and cold.

The hotel staff struggled to speak even basic english which made it hard and i had to resort to using google translate.

I would not recommend this hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank MelissaWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Canton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 376 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights. First impression to me is the doorman and the lift lady. Polite and helpful.
Once in my room, the housekeeping young lady, very polite. Even went to look for an extension multiple plug for me when I requested for one.
The room is wide and big and spacious.
High-speed internet available in the room - ethernet cable included - No wifi.
Toilet is clean, spacious and elegant.
Most TV programmes is in Mandarin.
One set-back, the bed is hard- mattress is not soft.
Mini-bar is well-stocked up.
Wifi in lobby not up to standard.
Impression of the food street there is of no good. Food was decent though but they expected me to eat a plate of fried rice using chopsticks and chinese spoon. When I requested for a fork and spoon, the captain or manager was like "huh" to me, seems like they did not understand my mandarin or they acted ignorant.
The chinese restaurant was good, food was good and they made us comfortable. Even provide cover for our coats when we put it on the chair.
Buffet breakfast was average.
Just 3 mins walk to Beijing road - shopping street in Guangzhou. 12 yuan by taxi to prime clubbing area - yanjiang xi lu or chang ti da ma lu. walking takes 20 mins to reach yan jiang xi lu. Just follow Beijing road straight down all the way.
Lots of shopping malls in the area - take half a day to walk around the area - numerous shops.
Guangzhou is safe at night even in the wee hours - therefore its all right to walk around or to visit convenience stores nearby.
There is a spa/health centre at the 5th floor and the prices are steeper then what you can find outside even with taxi-fare included.

Will definitely go back to this hotel if I happened to be in Guangzhou again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyhuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I tried two kinds of rooms in this hotel. The Deluxe & the standard. I would recommend the Deluxe big time. The price is a little higher but it's worth it.

I really liked the breakfast at this hotel.

The business centre is quite expensie if you need to use the internet and dont hae a laptop.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abuabdulaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at the Canton 5 days. Great location. Close to shops and restaurants. Staff was freindly and helpful. Room service was very good. Bathroom was great and clean. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonlight62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in late Aug. We booked through Ctrip and has no issues at all. We requested a non-smoking room which was provided.

- Location: good. Lots shops around having located on the major shopping strip - Beijing Road. Yet room is quiet, we didn't hear any traffic noise at all.
- Nice size swimming pool (25m). It is free to guests and also opens to public with a fee. Swimming caps are required.
- Gym is very very basic but does the job.
- Breakfast - western (buffet) and chinese (yum cha) on offer. We only used the western one, it is acceptable.
- Room: a little dated but clean and quiet (which is surprising given that the hotel is on a busy street). Bed is however, rock hard (even for me who generally prefers firm beds). Aircon is fine.
- Service: efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

'for my first visit to china , I was amazingly surprised by the quality and cleanliness of
the room. The people at the reception desk spoke good english and even the bell boys
were very helpful

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mycurrentadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

stayed in this hotel for two nights. While the entrance and lobby is good, the rooms are a little run down and need renovation..

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanChd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.0 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#45 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#176 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
468 reviews
2.2 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#18 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guangdong Yingbin Hotel (Guest House)
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canton

Address: No.374 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510030, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $50 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Canton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing