We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most favorable hotel too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Ranked #14 of 3,446 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“One of the most favorable hotel too”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've visited Guangzhou for several times and taken metro and bus so often. This time, I came to go up to Canton Tower (600m, observation deck:433.2m), look Guangzhou International Finance Center (437m) and go to Foshan (about 30km south west of Guangzhou). The reason why I stayed at this hotel was to take a higher floor room and look them through south faced window.
I could take a room at 50th floor (the hotel has 63 floors), but unfortunately it was a rainy day (next day too), I couldn't. I asked how to get there and got a small fold type map where the Tower and the Center were shown. And I was taught that now metro was extended to Foshan (Zumiao station). On the first day, I visited the Center and looked the Tower, and on the second day, I went up the top of the Tower and looked the Center from there. After that, I went to Foshan by metro. When I came back, I dropped at Gongyuanqian station and walked Beijinglu (busiest street) for the third time.
The reception people were all kind and the map was very convenient. And there was a big study desk in the room different from Ambassador hotel, Vienna. I took lunch and dinner at Japanese restaurant every day. I was fully satisfied during the stay at this hotel and in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tadahiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Tadahiro,
Thank you so much for choosing Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre while you are travelling to Guangzhou! It was such an honor that we could have your comments and high valuation regarding to our service. We are delight that you enjoyed our facilities and service. Most of our guests rooms offers you the best view and scenery of Guangzhou including Luhu Lake Park, Baiyun Mountain and Tianhe Downtown.
Next time you come to Guangzhou, please do contact our colleagues for more local information and I am sure that they are happy to show you the nice scenery and facility in Guangzhou.
Thank you for choosing our hotel while you back to Guangzhou, We are looking forward to welcoming you again for a renewing experience at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre and wish you all the best!


Cynthia Xia
Public Relations
cynthia.xia@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    177
    53
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
49
23
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our hotel was arranged by the vendor of my sister’s institute. It is very new and modern. There is beautiful colour changing laser light in the hotel lobby.

Our room is huge with an area outside the washroom for putting iron board and clothing. There is also desk with internet access connection.

The outdoors swimming pool is much smaller than the standardized pool. Yet I did enjoy swimming there in early morning when it was not crowded.

We had a full and satisfied breakfast. There were a variety of choices. There was delicate tea set with several different kinds of Chinese tea leaves provided. Fresh yogurt was supplied as well.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nemo_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write the review and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre. Thanks very much for sharing the beautiful pictures you took of our hotel.
Our team strives to exceed the expectations of our guests and provide the true hospitality of a 5 star hotel. Next time you come to Guangzhou, welcome to explore more about Guangzhou as well as our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre in the near future.

Cynthia Xia
Public Relations
cynthia.xia@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel in downtown close to anywhere you may want to go. Rooms are just OK, nothing special , good price for thi sstandard hotel, staff very friendly . Will be good to ask for higher floors of course for better view .Recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keserhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us.
We appreciate to hear that you truly enjoyed our service and your experience has been positive.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again if you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Cynthia Xia
Public Relations
cynthia.xia@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed 3 nights here in a very spactious Club room on the 55th floor and benefitted from the Club lounge which offered peace and complimentary food and drink at the end of the day in light, calm surroundings. In contrast, the hallways seemed rather dark had a musty smell. My room and bathroom (with bath) was enormous although again, a little dark. The staff were all very attentive and eager to please but not always quite on the ball language wise (a request for tape resulted in them bringing in the engineer with ropes! but we got there in the end). This said, the lobby staff were kind enough to help me with my bad Chinese.
The Fresh all-day dining restaurant offered a satisfactory breakfast (nothing special) and I had the buffet there one evening but it was quite empty which was off-putting as it's a very large room and there are lots of staff watching my every move. As a lone traveller, I preferred the club lounge which was more intimate. The lobby bar was also nearly alwatys empty and I was refused my voucher there for a welcome soft drink when I ordered iced tea.
Location wise, this hotel was very close to my meetings and not too far from Guanggzhou East station (by taxi) and there is an large luxury shopping centre a 3 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Worth chosing a Club floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ac_fava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for choosing Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre while you are travelling to Guangzhou! It was such an honor that we could have your comments regarding to our service. We are delight that you enjoyed some of our facilities which is available in the hotel and our location. However, please do accept our sincere apology for the dark hallway, the musty smell and your experience in the Lobby Lounge. We would like to assure you that we have communicated your feedback to the concerned department and corrective action has been taken.

And also, thanks very much for your detailed observation and suggestions to improve our service.We would enhance our staff training on language and service.

Once again, thank you very much and for your recommendation, also we hope the unhappy experience will not deter your to visit us again. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be any of your assistance as I would be more than happy to help.


Cynthia Xia
Public Relations
cynthia.xia@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Quite hotel more for business visit. Good breakfast with some choice of international food and more of asian food like sushi and things I don't have a clue. Very nice stuff. I didn't like food from room service. The hotel is close to city centre and some other shopping mole where u can find a good restaurants. There is a Pedestrian bridge front of the hotel. Free wi_fi. I like the
Tub. Its enough for two.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinairh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write your experience you had with us during your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of our guests and provide the true hospitality of a 5 star hotel. But we are also sorry for the room service food which disappointed you. If you'd like to, please share with us how can we improve in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre in the near future.

Thanks with best regards.

Cynthia Xia
Public Relations
cynthia.xia@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I am amazed by these reviews. How on earth did you all book a room? I tried to book directly with the hotel and received an acknowledgement and a booking reference number (six digits). The acknowledgement said I would receive confirmation of my booking within one hour. I never heard any more from the hotel despite chasing almost daily. I then contacted Crowne Plaza via its central website. I couldn't 'manage my booking' because that required an eight digit code. So I called Crowne Plaza in the UK, paying 10p/minute for the privilege. They said they would contact the hotel via their internal e-mail system. Apparently they too received an acknowledgement of their email but nothing else. I have still not heard from either Crowne Plaza or the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidCheslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write the review and staying with us at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.
We are deeply concerned to hear about that you didn't receive the confirmation letter in time. I had investigated the incident with hotel's reservation team and Front Office immediately and we're very sorry to tell you that the website www.crowneplazaguangzhoucitycentre.com through which you booked our hotel is the fake one. The phone number cannot be reached, either. What's more, the phone number is displayed on the fakes websites of Garden Hotel,Donfang Hotel,Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City etc. Kately is also not our hotel staff, and the reservation@crowneplazaguangzhoucitycentre.com is not our hotel’s email.

Our reservation team could't find your booking in the system, hope you had nothing lost because of this mistake. If you need make a reservation, we can do for you, please tell us your check in and check out date, I will send you the quotations. Actually our reservation agent has sent you an Email explaining this incident but it was bounced back may be due to the anti-junk mail set up.

It was our privilege to accomodate and help you as our guest and we do hope to hear from you. We hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.

Cynthia Xia
Public Relations
cynthia.xia@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Spent a couple of nights in this hotel - was upgraded to an executive room as hotel was apparently full otherwise . Nice spacious room , very comfortable bed , large bathroom. Great breakfast options - also had buffet there one evening which was quite good also. Check in staff very friendly. Bar was a bit dead on both nights so recommend exploring the general area for some more life as the hotel is right in the middle of the city centre. Buzzing night club just next door . As I was on the 55th floor , no noise to report from traffic ! I didn't get time to try the gym but it looked very good . I would recommend the hotel .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FearGlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCityCentreGZ, Public Relations at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write the review and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre.
We are highly appreciated for your detailed comments, which are extremely helpful for our improvement of service and facilities. For the Health Club, please enjoy the facilities there next time you stay with us. The Health Club offers you sauna, outdoor swimming pool, tennis court and so on. I'm sure you will love it.
Next time you come to Guangzhou, please do contact our colleagues for more local information and I am sure that they are happy to show you the nice scenery and facility in Guangzhou.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre in the near future.

Cynthia Xia
Public Relations
cynthia.xia@gz63.cn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
2,532 reviews
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
605 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#18 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
773 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Address: No.339 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510098, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#14 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#35 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre is an exclusive international 5-star hotel located on Huanshi Road East, the heart of downtown’s bustling commercial and shopping district. An airport express bus station is located at the hotel’s entrance, 7km to Guangzhou East Railway Station and walking distance 200m to Guangzhou Metro Station. The hotel features 460 well appointed guest rooms and suites with an extensive city or greenery view. Complimentary wi-fi and a collection of specialty pillows are on offer. Club floors with 73 rooms and suites offer personalized service and additional privacy for the needs of today’s busy executives. In addition, three superb restaurants and a lobby lounge are on offer, including Baiyuelou, a popular Cantonese restaurant featuring organic, fresh and healthy specialties; Fresh, all-day international dining hosted by engaging chefs in show-kitchens offers a lavish buffet selection; Hao Chi, a casual Asian restaurant, serving exquisite dim-sum, hand-made noodles and a variety of delicate snacks; and the Lobby Lounge, offering a relaxing atmosphere where guests can enjoy a variety of cocktails, fine wines and beers, as well as an array of your favorite appetizers. Over 2,000 sq meters of meeting space includes a 985 square-meter pillar-less Crystal Ballroom with an impressive 9 meter high ceiling. The Pearl Ballroom, Diamond Boardroom and 9 Jade function rooms feature state-of-the-art audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre Hotel Guangzhou
Guangdong International Hotel
Guangdong International Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing