We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not to be disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimelong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chimelong Hotel
Ranked #31 of 3,300 Hotels in Guangzhou
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not to be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was in Chimelong a couple years back for conference and this time I am taking my family and relatives for a Christmas vacation. I expect problems and delays because of all these special instructions my wife has given to the travel agent. To my very surprise, eventhough there were big check in crowds, all the instructions have been strictly followed. Rooms were available at noon, we got the high floors, the non-smoking, and the extra bed set up on the 2nd day. I also got a birthday suprise (which I have told no one about), a fruit basket, greeting card, and a couple of stuffed tigers toys. This just shows it is well managed hotel. Staff are courteous in every outlets. The circus were great, and the Safari was much better than anyone I've seen elsewhere. It took at least a day and a half to fully appreciate the park, I have only got three quarters of a day, sheer miscalculation. I know about animals right and all this flamingo, white tigers and cubs might not be enjoying the round-the-clock live shows, but we all have to earn our living, right?! My only beef was taking a cab to the nearby downtown. It took RMB 30 but the cab driver asked for 3 times more for a 10 min ride, citing he has to kick back to the hotel, how true was that?

Room Tip: There are old block and new block, and if you want to walk less stay at Block 2 (old block) as the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mctdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    601
    95
    19
    12
See reviews for
140
28
6
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our friends who have been to the resort highly recommended us to visit, we were not dissappointed. We booked a family suite, the room is big and clean. The circus is well worth the price paid. Our children really enjoyed it very very much! We also visited the safari and to see everything, you have to go early. Sadly we didn't manage to cover the whole safari in a day. As we only stayed 2 nights, we didn't visit the theme park and water park. It was also very cold the two days we were there. We had all our meals at the Butterfly Gourmet Restaurant, a little expensive but not as crowded as the theme restaurant that provides buffet style meals.

As the location of the hotel is quite far from downtown or any shops, it would be great if the management could have some vending machines that sells cookies or warm food and drinks in hotel premises for the convenience of family with young children who tends to get hungry day and night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WKTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have heard many positive things about Chime Long so we really looked forward to this trip. I called and booked the hotel directly and bought round trip bus tickets from Yau Ma Tei in Kowloon (Hong Kong) from CTS. CTS told me that the bus ride was going to take 3 hours. We had a super slow driver from Eternal East? Travels and the ride to Chime Long took 4 full hours. He made stops at Humen and Panyu and no one was even getting off or on the bus. (I doubt we will make a return trip to Chime Long but if we do we will probably opt to hire a car from Shenzhen Bay instead of taking the bus. A taxi drive in Chime Long quoted me RMB550 per taxi for picking up or droppin off at Shenzhen Bay). In any event, after a very long drive we finally arrived at the hotel around noon time on a Saturday.

Check-in took less than 10 minutes. We were asked to pay for the night's stay upfront which we did. I paid RMB1,348 for a 'hunter family room' in tower 5 (new wing). Breakfast was not included. The room is spacious, with a king sized bed and a bunk bed for our two kids. A small desk, one chair. And there was no other furniture even though there was plenty room to put in at least an arm chair so there is a place to sit other than on the bed. There is a shower and a separate stall for a toilet. Our kids were disappointed that there is no bathtub. Even though the shower comes with a detachable shower head that I found easy to use when washing the kids, they should have provided a bathtub as this is a higher priced family sized room. In addition, the room faces some ugly buildings and there was no view. There was a small fridge with no freezer section. No minibar items whatsoever.

Chime Long Hotel has a water spa and pool facilities but we were told to use the swimming pool would cost RMB150 per person extra.

On the plus side, the room and lobby have easy wifi access. The beds were comfortable to sleep in. 4 small bottles of water were provided free of charge. We also found child sized bathrobes and slippers in the closet which was a pleasant surprise.

In general, we found the service at the hotel subpar. I would not rate this a 5 star hotel. We had problems with the safe in the room and when we called for help, someone came quickly and managed to 'fix' it but a few minutes after, we had the same problem again and was unable to use the safe. In addition, the toilet gets easily clogged and water came out. Housekeeping did manage to unclog it but did not wipe the area or make any effort to clean it so we had to put up with a stinky toilet for the few hours prior to checking out.

Another problem we experienced was with ticketing - when I booked the hotel by phone I was told that with RMB300 extra we could have two adults' tickets to both the Chimelong circus and the Xiangjiang Safari Park. But when we arrived at the hotel, we were told that the RMB300 extra only covers one of the two. I thought it was strange that with the booking they did not send me any confirmation email, and I blame myself for not having confirmed everything in writing prior to the trip. But in any event, no effort was made by the ticketing counter to clear up the misunderstanding, and no apologies offered.

As to dining, the Cantonese restaurant in Building No. 5 did a good job in feeding us very quickly for dinner so we could make it to the circus on time. The food was reasonably priced and the dishes tasted decent enough. We also tried out the White Tiger restaurant breakfast buffet. We arrived at the restaurant on a Sunday morning at around 840ish. The place was very crowded. All of the tables around the tiger enclosure and flamingo enclosure were occupied so we took a table in the back area. Please note that THERE IS NO SERVICE at this restaurant. They don't seat you or bring you any food or drink. You are pretty much on your own after stepping in. You need to find your own table, and sort out your own food options. Even though there was an adequate amount of food, the quality was very average. The orange juice tasted funny.

After we finished eating, the crowd was thinning out so we grabbed a table facing the tiger enclosure, and just sat for about 15 minutes to watch the animals. The tigers were pretty lethargic, as one would expect of animals in perpetual captivity. There was still magnificent animals to look at and we enjoyed watching their every move.

In any event, this hotel is efficient run in the sense that the management seemed to have figured out the very minimum amount of service they would provide to keep things running. Don't expect any extra effort or perks to make guests happy. I suppose if you are a family with young kids and you do want to take the kids to the circus at night (btw the show starts at 730 and ends close to 9pm), this is the best option in terms of proximity. But in any other type of scenario, I would choose to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

A very big complex incorporating not only a large hotel, shops, restaurants and conference centre but a circus with excellent human performers; watching performing large 'wild' animals is not to my taste but each to his/her own. We got a room upgrade as our rooms were not ready when we arrived and the staff remained equally eager to please throughout our short visit. The room was spacious with good, natural light and thoughfully appointed. The food in the restaurant we visited was good but very expensive and much better can be found at reasonable prices in local restaurants, if you take the trouble to find them. The breakfast buffet, however, especially the Chinese food was excellent. Our table was next to one of the resident flamingo enclosures which provided early morning entertainment as part of the safari theme of the hotel. All in all, our stay at this unusual hotel was a pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geffold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

After staying in many hotels downtown and getting tired of how the aging rooms lack maintenance, I was glad to try this one out.
Even though the rooms were not as fresh as expected, it was overall a great experience with not only a good bed but a spacious room with all the necessities.
In the safari ambiance, the restaurants are quite interesting, especially the Petrus.

This is quite far away from the downtown area (a good 30 mn) but worth it. And if you are coming with kids, there are plenty of activities (zoo, park, etc...).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffBHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

the hotel has the theme of a zoo or jungle which is very interesting to me. the entrance lobby was very cool. however there were so many people checking In. it took me 20 min to get a room (Omg). the room was big and I like the animal theme as well. the best of all was that I can get in and out of the theme park in just under one minute.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerClooney336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The service is very poor, the food in the room service menu is bad, sold out and you have no choices at all. My husband and me stayed for 2 nights there on our business trip to Guangzhou and were really very disappointed. We had to wait for an hour and a half to get our room. And although the hotel has a lot of foreigners no one of the staff speaks even acceptable English. I had to spell Salt & Pepper twice to the room service before the lady understood what I meant. The breakfast is good but they are not kidding about the deadline of it. Because it’s so huge and hence very impersonal you don’t get a lot of help there when you are asking for activities to do downtown. And there is absolutely no internal communication; you have to explain yourself three times to three different people in two different receptions before you get what you want. And every request is answered with a question?!

Room Tip: We asked for an upgrade and we got one so you might want to try...we were staying in the hunter room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
8.7 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#30 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
27.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
#39 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
8.7 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#24 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
9.3 mi away
La Perle International Hotel
La Perle International Hotel
#58 of 3,300 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou - Science City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimelong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimelong Hotel

Property: Chimelong Hotel
Address: Panyu Avenue, Panyu District, Guangzhou 511430, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#30 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#68 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chimelong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Chimelong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chime Long Guangzhou
Hotel Chime Long

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing