We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel. Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Ranked #38 of 3,446 Hotels in Guangzhou
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful hotel. Terrible service”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It's more like 3 star hotel than the 5 star rating would suggest. The service was rude and totally unhelpful. Plus it's expensive for what it is. It's not the worst hotel I've stayed at, but it's the worst claiming to be a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    543
    137
    34
    16
See reviews for
16
19
16
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Have been staying in this hotel for past business visits to GuangZhou.

Hotel Room (7/10)
Well furnished and Furbished.

Breakfast (6/10)
Acceptable variety and food quality. Should improve on the quality of the noodles section-Tasteless. Should improve varieties. Nice coffee for breakfast.

Staff (5.5/10)
Most of the Staff are rather polite and professional. However, it takes a few to spolit the overall image of the hotel staff from the Guests. Personally, I had experienced it.

During a recent stay, there was some problems with the room booking and as a result, my room was not booked. I arrived at the hotel at 2:30 am due to late night flight to GZ. I wanted to speak to the Hotel Duty Manager as the front office staff was adamant that there was no rooms for me and colleague except for Suite Room which cost 3000 RMB. Its either take the Suite Room or leave. The hotel Duty Manager was reluctant to appear and to speak to me over the phone. After much persistent and repeated requests, the hotel duty manager finally agreed to speak to me over the phone.
In the end, we were given rooms which was one grade below our requested rooms. But at least, rooms were given instead of insisting us to take the Suite Rooms or Nothing.
Very disappointing in the way the incident was managed... and at the wee hours of 2:30am.

Location (8/10)
good location with a shopping mall annexed to the hotel. The environment is also clean and appears to be safe.

Cleanliness (7/10)
Generally, very clean room, hotel etc.

Sleep Quality (8/10)
very comfortable rest especially well deserved rest is needed after a day work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin-Sngapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thessaloniki
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

big rooms,fantastic pillows,big bathroom,very clean and very very cheap for all these.next to the hotel a shopping center with brands,a good traditional Turkish restaurant. i think is really value for money!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Comfortable, clean, fresh spacious rooms. Everything worked perfectly well. Free Internet connection everywhere, from the hotel room to the meeting room. Dedicated staff, with good level of English. One of the best hotels I've stayed at in China.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
2,532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#41 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
390 reviews
3.3 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
1.8 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#42 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
818 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel

Property: Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Address: No.367 Huanshi East Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510065, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#36 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#41 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 588
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Guangzhou
Guangzhou Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing