We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #24 of 3,446 Hotels in Guangzhou
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in central location”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel was much more dated than other Marriott hotels I have stayed in. However, the hotel was still good, very large bedrooms, lovely bathrooms, these were much more modern than the bedroom, nice amenities provided. Food menu for in room service was limited compared to hotels of this size, it's a huge complex, but there are lots of restaurant options within the hotel to try. Just outside there is a Starbucks & McDonalds to make it feel more homely! Breakfast was very good value & included lots of options including freshly made pancakes, waffles, omelettes, etc...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dingle-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    876
    199
    45
    29
See reviews for
148
73
60
551
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Love this hotel. Its a viberant hotel with alot going on. The staff are very attentive and the property is well kept. Rooms are oversized and wonderful for a tired traveller. Not sure I should share this, but upgrade to the concerige level and enjoy 2 hours of good food and and drinks every night. Easily pays for itself by not having to eat out.
keep up the good work... look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

As usual it was up to Marriott's standards and as all asian hotels it is far above the ratings in the states. Staff helpful, close to underground station, walking distance to parks, small playground for children, great outdoor pool, deck and gym. Being on the executive level the lounge offered great breakfast with lots to choose from. Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: I always prefer higher floors, corner rooms have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here many times. It used to be convenient when the canton fair was across the road. Prices then could be as high as a whopping $500 per night. Service is always good, staff are obliging and nice, food is good too.

Room Tip: Ask politely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missy88sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

On business in china booked in this hotel ,I would recommend it is friendly clean good service ,and every one talks English ,
1172 room very nice ,but no wifi in the room ,
Food was ok as well
So far. ,
been in many hotels all over china ,this is one of the best so far ,
But not cheap ,but it is nice ,so worth it
Harry Jeal. London uk

Room Tip: Worth a try
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel did not measure up to the Marriott standards. Challenges: a) room temperature - i was unable to cool down the rooms, whether my bedroom or our meeting room where we hosted a meeting for prospective clients,they clearly have issues with their HVAC, b) the mold in the shower was excessive (nothing that a thorough cleaning can't fix). Otherwise the room was well appointed. I will look for alternate hotels for my next trip primarily because of the mold. A spotless bathroom is essential.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JYG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyle l, Public Relations Officer at China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Value Guest

Thank you for replying on our Guest Satisfaction Survey and please allow me to extend our sincerest appreciation for selecting China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel for your recent trip to Guangzhou.

your unpleasant experience has been passed to us, and we have already taken action to resolve your matters immediately.

I would like to thank you once again for your comments which makes us strive even more to provide a better “home away from home” experience. We will always be of any assistance that you may expect and we are looking forward to welcoming you to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel again very soon.

Sincerely Yours,

Kyle Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Here does every thing it needs to , one less bar this year , but over all rooms OK , food OK , service OK and that's it OK .free shuttle bus to the Trade show , bit far out .Trade show closed 6pm , but last bus 5.30 pm , missed it then spent 11/2 hours trying to get a Taxi ! Go for a swim in the pool at 6am then sauna to find sauna not hot as only just turned on , not on a timer .And that's it with the China Hotel it could be a lot better but it just does not seem to get it correct .Have stayed here in the passed and was persuaded back .and there you have it OK , slightly dated Hotel .

Room Tip: Avoid any room ending with 18-20-22-24 avoid because of the lifts 1218 1220 1420 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 645richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyle l, Public Relations Officer at China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Value Guest
Thank you for replying on our Guest Satisfaction Survey and please allow me to extend our sincerest appreciation for selecting China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel for your recent trip to Guangzhou.

your unpleasant experience has been passed to us, and we have already taken action to resolve your matters immediately.

I would like to thank you once again for your comments which makes us strive even more to provide a better “home away from home” experience. We will always be of any assistance that you may expect and we are looking forward to welcoming you to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel again very soon.

Sincerely Yours,

Kyle Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#42 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
818 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
2,532 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,446 in Guangzhou
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Property: China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#24 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#50 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing