We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #25 of 3,503 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a great hotel. Very convenient if you travelling by bus from Hong Kong because the bus garage is at the rear of the hotel. The place has a great feel about it, rooms are comfortable and nicely done out, service in the restaurants and bar is very friendly and efficient. It's also around the corner from the Nanyue Tomb which is brilliant. It's about 15 minutes by taxi from Shamian Island and the Bund.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HofH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Enjoyed my stay here. Beds to sink into. My twin room actually had two doubles in it. The current trend for full length glass windows into the bathroom made me laugh. So glad I was in this room alone. But this does mean you can watch the tv form your bath. Clean bright rooms. The breakfast buffet offers a stunning array of choices. One does not know where to begin. There is an adjoining arcade of shops, a Starbucks and a foot massage/reflexology centre. I would recommend the foot spa place in the arcade rather than the hotel spa. Better price and you can offer what you save as a generous tip to the ladies in there that work hard and only get paid per treatment they provide and low pay at that. You can expect to pay about £23 for 90 minutes - sublime after travelling so far. Hotel lobby offers free wifi but you have to pay for it in your room. But the lobby is huge and a nice place to sit and email etc. Easy to get taxis to wherever you want to go. Not far from huge shopping malls and centres of entertainment and places to eat out. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoFSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

As a business man, I rely on fast internet and accessibility of the reception. This hotel gets 1/5 stars for having the slowest internet in China. The hotel exterior is very old but the interior is very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyle l, Public Relations Officer at China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Christian

Thank you for replying on our Guest Satisfaction Survey and please allow me to extend our sincerest appreciation for selecting China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel for your recent trip to Guangzhou.

Additionally, I would like to share our gratitude for your positive ratings on the survey regarding your recent stay in our property. Where above all, we take into account all our valued guests feedbacks, like yourself, though demonstrating that we are providing the services that you have come to expect.

Nevertheless, we have acknowledged that there is still room for further improvement; your concerns about the internet have been already escalated to our team for further investigation. Please rest assured that we would like to offer you an exceptional experience upon your next visit and onwards.

I would like to thank you once again for your recognition which makes us strive even more to provide a better “home away from home” experience. We will always be of any assistance that you may expect and we are looking forward to welcoming you to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel again very soon.

Sincerely Yours,

Kyle Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I recently stayed at the 5 star Marriott Hotel in Guangzhou with my family.
I found the hotel well located and the staff professional and friendly.
The stand out people foe me were Jacky Su and Yourick't Gilde and Ellie.
They were very professional and helpful and made our stay hassle free and enjoyable.

We liked the hotel so much we have already booked to return again.

John Halpin
Ireland

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very difficult to find anyone in Service staff who can understand English. We had a baby and pre-teen and the service was just okay. When we called for anything including room service it was necessary to be asked to transfer to a manager who spoke English.

Room upgrade was very nice. Housekeeping staff very friendly and helptul.

Very pricey given the lack of extra service.

Food was very average.

Room Tip: Be sure to try for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robsemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyle l, Public Replations Officer at China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Robsemon,

Thank you for your comment for China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel; it has given us a chance getting to know your valuable comments about us. Please allow me to extend our sincerest appreciations for selecting China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel for your recent trip to Guangzhou.

Moreover, please allow me to apologize for all the inconveniences that we have caused you during your recent stay, especially about the unsatisfying staffs’ English level. From what you have commented about us, we have well acknowledged the seriousness of the issues we have created to you. Nevertheless, please rest assured that those you have experienced are not the typical Marriott standard of services China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel provides.

Please once again accept my apologies for all the inconveniences we have caused. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel to show our improvement. We want to provide you a true "home away from home" experience.

Thank you for always supporting the Marriott brand. We are looking forward to welcoming you to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel very soon.

Sincerely yours,
Kyle Li

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We lived in an executive room, which was even too big. There's also an extra separate WC in the room. Breakfast in veranda is excellent (we didn't try the executive breakfast on yhe 17th floor lounge). We enjoyed gym, swimming pool and complimentary evening snacks and drinks in the exec lounge. For the money paid - a bargain!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

After staying our first night in a very misguidedly 5-star rated (on here too!) hotel in GZ, we were lucky enough to be able to cancel our reservation made through Agoda, and book into China Hotel. After explaining that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, Jacky at the front desk, and then Brian on the executive floor, took great care of us for the remainder of our stay. The room facilities were excellent, and the service was pretty much flawless. The hotel is opposite Yuexiu park, which was lovely to walk around as well. Breakfast was great, and there's a Starbucks in the same building if you'd like a coffee to go. Thank you, guys, for saving our 5th wedding anniversary celebration, and making it extra special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#23 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
895 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Guangzhou
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
610 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
2,561 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#17 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#51 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $109 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing