We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy your stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #25 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is really good and clean and meets your all requirements. Close to metro station and shopping centers. Very good furnished rooms and kind person give you everything you need. Clean rooms, good room service, ATM machine etc. they have well trained person. Safe and reliable hotel with shopping center, starbucks cafe, and much more you need. Enjoyable place to stay with your family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cankad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

A quick 20 minute trip from the main train station sees you arrive at one of the original western hotels in Guangzhou. A great location with beautiful parks within easy walking distance and the essential metro station right outside the front door. The Food Street restaurant served authentic and tasty Chinese specialties at a reasonable price. A Starbucks is located int he small mall off the reception area of the hotel and is handy for a quick breakfast or for a late afternoon pick me up after you have wandered the streets of Guangzhou for the day. An easy 50 minute train journey to Chimelong resort and the outstanding International Circus. A must for all visitors to Guangzhou. The hotel is comfortable and functional but is showing signs of its age.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfromHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My flight was delayed by 3 hours and I decided to spend an extra night in Guangzhou instead of waiting in the airport. What convenience to have a meeting at the hotel, since then I can just walk to reception to get a room and head upstairs to rest. The basic room is perfectly pleasant - decor is typical Marriott, so don't expect much. Wifi is fast and free for Marriott Rewards member, the mattress is superbly comfortable with very nice sheets. For a one nighter (I did not even spend more than 8 hours at the hotel), this is a perfectly good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am in the hospitality business and usually Marriott is a safe and rleiable choice but this hotel had mold and mildew even in the upgraded concierge rooms.We upgraded because the standard rooms we so poor.

The lobby was old and tired and the entire hotel has a real run down feeling.

The staff however was very attentive and nice..

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Location wise is excellent - just located opposite subway and availability of major coach buses provider downstairs (to Hong Kong / Macau / Shenzhen). 7 Eleven and Starbucks located below the hotel mall, which is a plus point in terms of convenience. The room was very comfortable, we had twin sharing and the bed was queen size - big enough to accomodate 3 people. The staff have no problem in speaking and understanding English - very accomodating your needs and ensure we have comfortable stay. Amenities in the bathroom were plentiful. The only drawback that I had was the shower pressure which I hope the manager who has spoken to me have already looked into this matter. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Convenient: direct access to Yuexiu Metro station. always many taxis waiting outside hotel too.

Service: no one offered to help take the luggage when entering the hotel, or when getting off/on taxi with the luggage at the entrance. check-in was a bit slow. but friendly and helpful staff at the executive lounge.

Room: good size. quite new. quite modern and with a Chinese flavour. quite clean, but a bit dusty though - some problem with my nose and trachea. even queen bed is super huge and very comfortable. evening turndown service was included but was not available in the end though. executive room was on 16/F – with stairs for going up to executive lounge on 17/F conveniently. the lounge is super huge, i guess can accommodate 200 people or even more. good sofas and tv. good breakfast and evening canapés too, with good selection of drinks. all foods are freshly prepared.

Breakfast at 1/F Café Veranda is good too. more choices of foods (including wanton noodles, Indian foods etc), but not as fresh as those offered at the lounge.

Bathroom: the floor in the shower area is weird and it hurts my sole. Aromatherapy toiletries – seems to be of a bit different quality of the Aromatherapy I have been using. Sound-proof inside room was not that good, but luckily very few guests staying on my floor, so not much noise during the night. view from room is good.

A good bargain, given the free executive lounge access as a Gold MR member.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACPY12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location: It is located above a Metro / Underground / Subway Station, and opposite the old Canton Fair Ground. If you do plan to take the Metro, make sure to inquire the EXIT for this Hotel, as this is a fairly large Station. Nonetheless, the Exit brings you right below the Hotel so nothing to worry.
Distance from Airport: By Coach - Approx. 45 m to 1 hour (traffic in GZ is bad as per office timings)
Distance from Pazhou Fair Ground: Take a Metro (1 stop?)
The Hotel houses a Coach Terminal to Macau
Taxis are easily available

The Hotel:
Modern Hotel, seems renovated recently. The staff is courteous.

Starbucks Located in Shopping Section of Hotel. The Hotel also has its own mini super market besides deli/ bakery. There is a 7-11 in the building adjacent to the Hotel.

Internet: Please verify - I think they mentioned Free Internet for Marriott Rewards Member. Speed was good.

Rooms: Modern and comfortable rooms. The architecture had a blend of Chinese to make you feel that you are in China otherwise you would probably forget once you in the comforts of your room.

Breakfast: Had the buffet breakfast in the Cafe. It was grand.

Concierge: Helpful. In China, when you check in, always take the business card of the Hotel in Chinese with English printed overleaf. Many times, maps are also printed. If you do plan to travel by Metro, also mark the origin and final train station name in Chinese and English with the concierge and write the English pronunciation yourself.

Conclusion: Look forward to my next visit without a 2nd thought.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kd_travellogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#22 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
918 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Guangzhou
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#16 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
2,617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
814 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#45 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $103 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing