We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Guangzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Ranked #25 of 3,475 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been staying at the China Hotel for about a month now and can say without a doubt that this hotel is wonderful. It is a "monster" of a hotel ...but even though it is big ...you have that small hotel feeling where the staff gets to know you ...even the General Manager. He can be found at least once a day in the lobby greeting guests and chatting with them. The hotel has a few restaurants and all have fabulous food. Food Street has amazing fried rice. Unlike other hotels ...this one always has taxis available when you need them. It is conveniently located right above a metro stop. It has a starbucks and a 7-Eleven two doors down. The park across the street is beautiful and relaxing with a museum and a lake with small boats. The hotel has very comfortable rooms in the Marriott style and very spacious suites. Make sure you come stay at this fantastic property ...you wont regret it!

Room Tip: It is China ...so you will find many smoking rooms ...but make sure you let them know what you want...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iristpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,778)
There are newer reviews for China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

This large and busy hotel ticks the boxes in many areas. Helpful staff, nice rooms and comfortable beds. Location is great for shopping areas with a number of large malls located nearby. The Club area is popular and the staff there are helpful with translations and other extras like late check out. We found the staff to be friendly and always willing to give advice. The food and drinks in the Lounge area were excellent and plentiful. There is a nice spa located at the back of the building. An excellent choice for a stay in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this hotel, 7th march 2013 f 5 nights. Still here at time if writing. Cristine Caminiti After reading many reviews mostly good, I'm was shocked to read the few bad ones. Nothing of those bad reviews met us at this hotel. We arrived at 9 am and were very welcomed for an early checkin at no additional costs. The hotels attached to a mall so Starbucks nail salon hair salon post office 7 11 is all available. Biggest bonus, metro literally on the door step. Yeixui park a stroll across the road for early morning walk or the lantern festival which we went to today. Hotel was almost 100 percent full yet every need and assistance was met. I'm not sure what rooms others stayed in who complained but for 127 dollars per night our room on 15th floor is outstanding value for money. Mattress is lovely, room is modern and decorated beautifully can watch tv from the bath. Gym is well functional spa, a tad expensive but there are many massage outlets in the building. Never tried the dining outlets but I'm sitting in the pool bar now in the gorgeous evening weather and it's perfect. It's not the four seasons in that sense of luxury but it's pretty dam awesome value for money. I honestly honestly give it a 9 all round. Location location location. Two minutes drive to all the wholesale fashion market district and just one metro stop away.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criscaminiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is located near the center of Guangzhou. I lived during the night before the Lattern Festival, there is a night lattern next to the park to the hotel, which is quite nice!

The hotel seems renovated with a Chinese style theme (thus that's called a China Hotel), managed under Marriott. I am a platinum member and room was upgraded to executive. I was told there is no suite available for twin bed (if I booked King bed I suppose to be upgraded). However, there is free buffet breakfast and lounge access for platinum member.

The breakfast is of good variety of food, the lounge is also nice and it's opened till mid-night and you can always get your cup of coffee there! (with some cookies if you like)

The room is nice, with all the amenity in it , even including a bowl of bath salt. The only drawback is there is not much view in my room (was right near a construction site). I was able to catch a taxi easily in Hotel (perhaps it's not peak hour).

The shuttle bus to Hong Kong is just downstairs to the hotel, cost about Rmb95/trip, which is quite convenience for me to get back home.

Room Tip: Try to fight for a suite if you're gold or platinum members, it seems they're pretty kind to...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joejoejoehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you're not in Tian He, this is a place to consider. While it's old, the interior room decor is certainly nice and comfortable.

Pro
There is a starbucks, deli + wine shop in the hotel.
next to a subway stop
friendly staff (but not necessarily efficient - somehow I think it's the hotel set up)
easy to get a cab
close to the airport 20-25mins
nice bathrooms!

Con
always busy at all times of the day and night
you can occasionally hear people speaking outside your room as they walk by

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room.... i've stayed in north wing and south wing, i prefer the north wing
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have used this particular hotel on several occasions and every time they have proved to be excellent. The front desk staff are friendly and speak good english. They always enquire about current and previous stays and are always open to suggestions and opinions.
The hotel also has a great selection of restaurants along with a steakhouse.
We always try and get a upgrade to the club lounge for a small fee, you can inquire at the front desk about this and they will let you know the fees. Its really minimal.
Nice place for single travelers, couples and families. Hotel is located at a good distance from many good restaurants, shopping areas and parks. Very close to underground and the underground in guangzhou is very organized and gets you almost everywhere much conveniently. It can be a lil busy during office hours so try to avoid peak hours. Otherwise excellent.
Try the hotel am sure you wont regret it. Have fun

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to the club lounge for a minimal fee. The rooms are bigger have better view are on t...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planet3earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have been in China Hotel since year 1984 when it was grand opening. Then having business trips for more than 30 times checking in with this hotel. This is still the best in Guangzhou with resonable price versus services.
This time I travelled with my family for vacation, I have pleasure time staying in China Hotel again. Although the hotel is old, the renovated rooms are clean and comfortable. Services are good starting from the reception counter of the railway station, all along with the lobby check in, concierge, housekeeping, restaurants, check-out, etc.
I have been using the warmed outdoor swimming pool, as well as the spa and gymnasium. Which made me an unforgettable vacation with my family and full of enjoyment.
I would recommend to others for sure that this is the best hotel in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#28 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
870 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#18 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
456 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#11 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
2,552 reviews
4.2 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
594 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,475 in Guangzhou
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou

Address: 122 Liu Hua Road, Guangzhou 510015, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#26 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#48 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $103 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 850 guestrooms, China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel presents a classic charm delicately blended with contemporary leisure and business facilities to make your stay the most pleasurable possible! Our dedicated chefs will take you on a culinary journey through Western and Asian cuisines to ensure that your business dinner or your family and friends gatherings meet everybody's expectations. With over 1200m2, our large meeting space is complemented by friendly and efficient service on offer from our banquet menu - enough to make every business event or social occasion an unparalleled success. Creating unforgettable moments by offering the highest service standards -"The Marriott Way." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Hotel Marriott
Marriott Guangzhou
Guangzhou Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing