We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Ranked #3 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for a weekend. Very impressed with the service on the club floor. The team of staff and their manager could not do enough to make the weekend great. They offered well informed restaurant options and a couple of sight seeing things to do even though that is limited in GZ. More importantly they constantly made you feel welcome and in a genuine caring way that you don't always see in China. The rooms were lovely spacious and the bathroom was great. Liked the supply of a steamer as opposed to an iron and ironing board (which was available if requested.) The facilities in the hotel were excellent and cake shop exactly what you would expect from a Mandarin Oriental. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the club floor, the happy hour cocktails and snacks were fantastic and service superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and your positive comments following your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

I am very pleased to read that you did enjoy our facilities, including the big and comfortable room, the Cake Shop and the level of our service, especially at our Oriental Club. Please be assured that your positive comments have been shared with all team members of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your review and endorsement. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 765 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We decided to spend our anniversary in Guangzhou and live it up in the Mandarin Oriental and it did not disappoint. From the check in through to daily breakfast and check out, it was the perfect getaway to spend with my other half.

The hotel itself was excellent, great facilities, everything worked, coffee machine in each room, massive spread for breakfast very reliable wifi and comfy bed. The bathtub deserves a special mention - I am quite tall and I was still able to fully submerge in it! Staff were great, very good command of the English language and just what you would expect of a mandarin hotel. Contrast that with my review of the hotel we stayed at in Beijing.

The location is fantastic, right next to a shopping mall with an amazing outdoor eating area and indoor food court, as well as being above a subway station for those who want to venture out.

Highly recommended for those who need to escape the madness and chill out with your creature comforts.

Room Tip: We could hear next door running around at 4am probably for an early check out. As if anyone is booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steeeee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a review regarding your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that the hotel location, the big and comfortable rooms, the food quality as well as the level of service, which exceeded your expectations.

We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic comment, and you can rest assured we will do our very best to deserve such high praises.

Once again thank you very much for your recommendation and I truly hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

Sincerely yours,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed at the hotel during April Canton fair. Its right next to a high end shopping mall with good dinner options..

Hotel itself is not large, and lobby is very unimpressive. But the rooms ( i was upgraded to a suite ) are unbelievable. Its cloud 9 in comfort and luxury.

We tried the bar, with exclusive scotch from a very small brewery.. Breakfast buffet was really good quality as well.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I believe there are no bad rooms here:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Orbito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing such a positive review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou with the Trip Advisor Community.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel, in particular hotel location, our big and comfortable rooms, the Loft Bar, as well as the food quality of our breakfast. Please be assured that your positive comments have been shared with the rest of the team.

I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou soon.

With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was stunned by the quality of this hotel. More like the Landmark Mandarin in HK and has generous rooms. The Jiang restaurant and Breakfast was extraordinary. I recommend the food, the spa and the club floor. After dining at the 4 Seasons the MO wins in the quality of food and service. It has the quiet elegance expected of the MO group with great pillows, lots of lighting choices, superior products and comfortable lounge. My corner room had 2 separate rooms plus a generous dressing area. Maid service was efficient and the staff impeccable. THe hotel sits on top of the huge Tai Koo Hui Mall and close the new OPera House and museums . The subway is underneath the hotel. The Spa is great and the pool reminds me of the MO in Las Vegas. Loved this hotel. Elegant and quiet in a city that is frenetic, truly a haven. Taxis abundant thru the acess to the mall.

Room Tip: Choose the club floor rooms as it is the best cocktail hour service I have ever had with a chef to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DrDiscerningHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a review regarding your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.
I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that the hotel location, the big and comfortable rooms, the spa, the food quality as well as the level of service exceeded your expectations.

We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic comment, and you can rest assured we will do our very best to deserve such high praises.

Once again thank you very much for your recommendation and I truly hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

Sincerely yours,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

As good as it gets. Book the club rooms if possible, they are exquisite. The Club Lounge area is the best i,ve seen. The breakfast served in the club lounge is a great experience. Would highly recommend staying at this hotel for business or for pleasure. The location is great, the hotel is connected to what is probably the best shopping mall in the city. The mall is not like most Chinese malls which are full of people e.t.c, since its a high end mall its quite nice with great restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay in a club room. The club lounge is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your generous comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for such a positive feedback. Please rest assured we will share your words with our entire team.

We would love to welcome you back soon to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Best breakfast of any hotel we have ever stayed in. The choice and quality was amazing.
This Hotel is huge and very cool. Club lounge is good with lovely evening cocktails and a great selection of canapés. Most people enjoyed this so much they didn't need to go out for dinner!
Service was friendly but lacked local knowledge. We received incorrect information twice and literally had to provide proof ourselves that they were incorrect. it was quite frustrating and very time consuming.
Room was spacious and pleasant with lots of mirrors! bed very comfortable. Gorgeous bath. Not very sound proof, we could hear the person in the next room talking on his phone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calendergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with the Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, including the architecture of the building, the big and comfortable rooms, the food quality and our lovely club lounge.

I can assure you that your notes regarding the service was lack of local knowledge and the noise you experienced during your stay are well taken indeed and I would like to thank you for bringing these comments to our attention. Our main goal is always to delight and satisfy our guests. Please be assured that we are currently addressing this matter and we have been taking remedial actions to improve our acoustic insulation in designated areas.

Once again thank you very much for your recommendation. I truly hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern Asia in fine detail and 5 star luxury. A modest, almost understated entry/reception belies your experience when you stay your journey to your room. I was greeted by Chris (the front desk manager) whom escorted me to my room and guided me through the stylish suite. Beautifully decorated and appointed room with fine appointments.
I experienced the yum cha lunch at Jiang which I defy anyone to taste a better batch of dishes.
The spa experience also had to be experienced with a swim, spa and many other offers. Although the massages etc are typically expensive.
I would suggest paying for breakfast as part of your package as it's pretty good (although expensive if you had to pay separately). I would also recommend the executive lounge if you can as the staff are brilliant and the food, drink etc is worth it.
I commuted to the Pazhou fair easily via the underground right next door where there is a pretty glam shopping centre.
Try to get the hotel directions in Chinese because no taxi driver knows any hotels in GZ due to language.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank divdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_GUANGZHOU, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a review regarding your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that the architecture of the building, the well-equipped and beautiful rooms, the food quality, the spa as well as the level of service exceeded your expectations.

We are sincerely honored to receive such a fantastic comment, and you can rest assured we will do our very best to deserve such high praises.

In addition, your comment regarding the hotel directions in Chinese is well taken indeed. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. You may wish to know the taxi card is ready at our Concierge. Our hotel address and contact information as well as a simple map are indicated on the taxi cards.

Once again thank you very much for your recommendation. I truly hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou.

With warm regards,

Clemens Hoerth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#6 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
638 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
W Guangzhou
W Guangzhou
#7 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
615 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,521 in Guangzhou
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou

Address: No.389 Tianhe Road, Guangzhou 510620, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3,521 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: $261 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to TaiKoo Hui Shopping Centre, each of the hotel’s 233 spacious guestrooms, 30 suites and 24 serviced apartments reflect the Group’s distinctive elegance and style. Diverse dining choices include Jiang by Chef Fei, one of China’s most notable chefs known for his creative flair; a classic grill restaurant, Ebony; The Taikoo Lounge; The Mandarin Cake Shop and The Loft. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou offers city dwellers and visitors a rare opportunity for peace and tranquillity with nine private treatment rooms. Top-tier meetings and function facilities are spacious and equipped with the latest technology, and the hotel’s expansive 750 square metre ballroom is set to become the city’s premier celebration and events destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing