We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy enough for a business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Ranked #70 of 3,458 Hotels in Guangzhou
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“comfy enough for a business trip”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

i went on a business trip to Guangzou, China last year. it's a good place to stay for such kinds of trip and nothing more. you get basic amenities and services, rooms comfortable enough to sleep-in, free breakfast which offers the same course everyday - Chinese. most foreigners especially Western, might not appreciate the lack of variety. the staff, as expected througout China, can hardly speak English so you can get easily "lost in translation". good thing i was with my Mandarin speaking client during my stay. the location is quite far from the places of interest if you want to see the sights. good thing i like walking, otherwise transport by bus or taxi can be utilised. one thing that surprised me about the place is its close proximity to Sacred Heart Cathedral, a Catholic church. being a predominantly Buddhist country, this was a welcome surprise for me being a Catholic and all. but regardless of religion or belief, this is a good place to see because the Gothic architecture of the catherdral is truly amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodKrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    72
    34
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
29
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

During my visit to Guangzhou in Oct/ Nov, I stayed in Bauhinia Hotel. The location of the hotel is very good as it is within walking distance to the Haizhu Square MTR station. Near to the hotel is the Onelink Shopping Centre where there are wholesalers of all sorts of goods, gifts, artificial flowers, etc. which I am sure that tourists would like to shop. Beijing Lu - the pedestrian mall road is also within the walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel is clean and the staff are polite and helpful. Security in this hotel is good too as there is a security guard on duty near the lift. The guests also need to tap their room card at the lift button panel before it operates.

Breakfast provided - acceptable.

Unfortunately, the period of my stay at the hotel coincided with the Canton Trade Fair, hence the room rates were more than double the normal rate.

Room Tip: I had rooms both on the 6 th and 7th floor. (stayed there on 2 separate days). They have windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy2uring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lets start with the good -->Very convinient location. Helpfull staf. The facilities were a little bit old but affortable. Fair price.
The bad thing was that some of the rooms were smelling awful and some walls had moisture. Very noisy the window are old so many noise from outside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed there for 4nights. is about 10minutes walking distance from Hai Zhu Square metro station, near to One Link building. there is a 7eleven and bbq street stalls at night which they are able to deliver to the hotel for you without paying first.

check in waiting time took awhile as only 2 staffs are attending to all the guests. they are pretty strict, i checked in w/o passport as we left it at other state of china so they talked to the other hotel n QQ them our scan copy before they allow us to check in.

one of the staff can speak good english which i overheard her talking to an indonesian guest.

i booked a standard room with window. the rooms are clean, smoke free, aircon is good for summer and the bed is comfortable. the windows are sound proof too, double layer. the bathroom has a glass panel which you are able to draw curtain if you are not comfortable.

there is no wifi in the rooms except the lobby and the cafe which they will want you to purchase something in order to sit there but you can turn them down which i did. There is a cable which you can connect to your laptop in the room. the speed is much better than the wifi. hope they will improve on their wifi systems.


pretty close distance to Beijing road, Shang Xia Jiu Street and Zhuang Yuan Fang by cab. is also accessible by bus. the hotel is also near to wholesaler malls.

they are also able to arrange airport transfer if you need but at a charge or rmb220per trip irregardless of pax. best if you can gather other guests if only have 2 of you to share the cost which i did.

i would say this hotel is pretty good overall even subway is a distance but if you looking for comfortable beds,clean and smoke free rooms, this will be the choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliteshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in Bauhinia Hotel for 4 days in mid September. The main or only reason is always because it is very close to where we do business in Guangzhou, there is no acceptable hotels nearby. Bauhinia Hotel is few steps above local Chinese hotels and few steps below international standard hotels, likewise it prices are somewhere in the middle, a lot cheaper than truely good hotels, such as Garden(suite $250 vs $65), Holiday inn Shifu ($125 vs $45 executive room). Landmark Hotel on Haizhu Square nearby is nicer with similar prices and with an excellent restaurant, but that is about 10 extra minutes walk for us.

There is really no services to speak off but still they are many steps above traditional Chinese hotels, no doorman to help but the security guy will help if you ask. Front desk staff are cold but open up if you talk to them a bit. Breakfast is free but very limited, same few dishes for 1.5 years since we have stayed here. Free wired internet in room, stable connection, wifi in small coffeshop, with equally cold staff.

This time we had execuitive apartment with a living room and small kitchen, great value at $65. We also tried executive room, deluxe suite, etc.. all rooms are good sizes and everything works fine and clean. Comfortable stay.

The hotel is only 1.5 years new but signs of very bad wear and tear are showing, such as dark mold and peeling paint on walls, maybe due to the himidity, but I have not seen this in other GZ hotels. In our living room wall, there is a big patch of 3'x3' dark mold or wetness mark, this is seen everywhere.

There is a Cantonese restaurant on 2nd floor, not that great, many old people go there in the morning. Across the street is a Cantonese restaurant that is somewhat famous, a Chinese restaurant owner here in the US told us that is the best restaurant in GZ, the famous dish is sour fish, it is nice, but certainly not the best in GZ, we are tired of searching for dinner places, it opens late, so we went there 3 times in 4 days.

Despite of all these, we will for sure return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacJourney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location is great. You can walk to Beijing pedestrian road, Haizhu Wholesale market, One link plaza and metro station. Hotel is modern and clean. Paid about 250 rmb a night. If I go back to Haizhu districe I would definately go back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fengsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you looking for a hotel near to Haizhu and to sleepover the night. Bauhinia Hotel is the choice. The hotel staff is friendly and courteous, I got a free room upgrade to Deluxe room as the standard room is under renovation. The room is clean and tidy. If you are going to One link for shopping, just turn right and walk about 3mins, walking to Haizhu Metro exit B1 only take about 5 to 10 min walk. We travel to hotel from airport by Metro and is only RMB 7.50, travel time is about 20 to 30 min. It is also walking distance to Beijing road, take about 10 to 15 min walk which has more choices of eatery. Nearby hotel has only few choices of food eatery.
Will book the same hotel when I go back to Guangzhou again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#79 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
467 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sino Trade Center Hotel
Sino Trade Center Hotel
#66 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zhuhai Special Economic Zone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#48 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#34 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#45 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel

Property: Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Address: No.151 Jiefang South Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510120, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 3,458 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing