We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Ranked #75 of 3,390 Hotels in Guangzhou
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed there for 4nights. is about 10minutes walking distance from Hai Zhu Square metro station, near to One Link building. there is a 7eleven and bbq street stalls at night which they are able to deliver to the hotel for you without paying first.

check in waiting time took awhile as only 2 staffs are attending to all the guests. they are pretty strict, i checked in w/o passport as we left it at other state of china so they talked to the other hotel n QQ them our scan copy before they allow us to check in.

one of the staff can speak good english which i overheard her talking to an indonesian guest.

i booked a standard room with window. the rooms are clean, smoke free, aircon is good for summer and the bed is comfortable. the windows are sound proof too, double layer. the bathroom has a glass panel which you are able to draw curtain if you are not comfortable.

there is no wifi in the rooms except the lobby and the cafe which they will want you to purchase something in order to sit there but you can turn them down which i did. There is a cable which you can connect to your laptop in the room. the speed is much better than the wifi. hope they will improve on their wifi systems.


pretty close distance to Beijing road, Shang Xia Jiu Street and Zhuang Yuan Fang by cab. is also accessible by bus. the hotel is also near to wholesaler malls.

they are also able to arrange airport transfer if you need but at a charge or rmb220per trip irregardless of pax. best if you can gather other guests if only have 2 of you to share the cost which i did.

i would say this hotel is pretty good overall even subway is a distance but if you looking for comfortable beds,clean and smoke free rooms, this will be the choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliteshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    70
    33
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
29
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in Bauhinia Hotel for 4 days in mid September. The main or only reason is always because it is very close to where we do business in Guangzhou, there is no acceptable hotels nearby. Bauhinia Hotel is few steps above local Chinese hotels and few steps below international standard hotels, likewise it prices are somewhere in the middle, a lot cheaper than truely good hotels, such as Garden(suite $250 vs $65), Holiday inn Shifu ($125 vs $45 executive room). Landmark Hotel on Haizhu Square nearby is nicer with similar prices and with an excellent restaurant, but that is about 10 extra minutes walk for us.

There is really no services to speak off but still they are many steps above traditional Chinese hotels, no doorman to help but the security guy will help if you ask. Front desk staff are cold but open up if you talk to them a bit. Breakfast is free but very limited, same few dishes for 1.5 years since we have stayed here. Free wired internet in room, stable connection, wifi in small coffeshop, with equally cold staff.

This time we had execuitive apartment with a living room and small kitchen, great value at $65. We also tried executive room, deluxe suite, etc.. all rooms are good sizes and everything works fine and clean. Comfortable stay.

The hotel is only 1.5 years new but signs of very bad wear and tear are showing, such as dark mold and peeling paint on walls, maybe due to the himidity, but I have not seen this in other GZ hotels. In our living room wall, there is a big patch of 3'x3' dark mold or wetness mark, this is seen everywhere.

There is a Cantonese restaurant on 2nd floor, not that great, many old people go there in the morning. Across the street is a Cantonese restaurant that is somewhat famous, a Chinese restaurant owner here in the US told us that is the best restaurant in GZ, the famous dish is sour fish, it is nice, but certainly not the best in GZ, we are tired of searching for dinner places, it opens late, so we went there 3 times in 4 days.

Despite of all these, we will for sure return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacJourney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location is great. You can walk to Beijing pedestrian road, Haizhu Wholesale market, One link plaza and metro station. Hotel is modern and clean. Paid about 250 rmb a night. If I go back to Haizhu districe I would definately go back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fengsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you looking for a hotel near to Haizhu and to sleepover the night. Bauhinia Hotel is the choice. The hotel staff is friendly and courteous, I got a free room upgrade to Deluxe room as the standard room is under renovation. The room is clean and tidy. If you are going to One link for shopping, just turn right and walk about 3mins, walking to Haizhu Metro exit B1 only take about 5 to 10 min walk. We travel to hotel from airport by Metro and is only RMB 7.50, travel time is about 20 to 30 min. It is also walking distance to Beijing road, take about 10 to 15 min walk which has more choices of eatery. Nearby hotel has only few choices of food eatery.
Will book the same hotel when I go back to Guangzhou again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

It's reasonably close to the subway at Haizhu Square and that's about it. The area in which the hotel is located is largely commercial and lacking in character. Which brings me to the reception staff; in the 80s one might be accused of cultural imperialism, but the lack of very basic understanding of English can only disadvantage the hotel. At the time of writing, English is the language of commerce. Ergo, one would expect rudimentary understanding in the staff of a business hotel. The more significant difficulty in communicating with some of the reception staff is lack of warmth and hospitality. Some just don't want to be bothered. As a matter of basic etiquette, the elevator overseer needs to be advised that if a guest is heading for the wrong lift, he probably shouldn't yell at them. And no, it ain't a quaint cultural quirk. The interior, windowless rooms are ideal for experiencing sensory deprivation, but claustrophobia is not for everyone. Also, you will hear everything that happens within a 20 metre radius of your room, at all hours. It seems to be the case in many Chinese hotel that basic staff training in hospitality is nowhere in evidence. So it is with The Bauhinia.

Room Tip: Good rooms can best be found elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roffedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nice stay. Room is ccomfortable for 2. we stayed at a standard room with windows. there is no fridge but there is safe deposit and toiletries. ( soap, conditioner, shampoo, lotion, comb, toothbrush/paste) tv is mostly local channels. if youre chinese, it has some good nice chinese channel. free wifi at lobby. service is good. the king size bed was superb. comfortable and the air con works excellent. it can get really cold quickly. u can go beijing road, zhanxi road, shang xian within few mins ,roughly 20rmb taxi ride. taxi fare from the airport to here was 100rmb + 15 rmb (toll) . when goin back it was 80rmb

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Generally nice hotel with nice beds (super single) and individual room aircon system. Room is quite nice, and lift requires card access which is a + point for security.But the Executive room feels too small for 3 pax. Bathroom is nice with a huge shower stall. Hotel service was decent with all our requests made (extra pillow, extra blanket etc.) However, the additional bed was horrible; thin and uncomfortable (well, I guess most extra beds are like that...) Food choices are limited within walking distance and the nearest train station is about 20-30 minutes' walk. OneLink and the shoes wholesale area are within 5-10 minutes' walk, which is convenient (if it is not raining).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#98 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zhuhai Special Economic Zone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sino Trade Center Hotel
Sino Trade Center Hotel
#56 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
LN Hotel Five
LN Hotel Five
#41 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guangdong Yingbin Hotel (Guest House)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel

Property: Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Address: No.151 Jiefang South Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510120, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 3,390 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing