We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where are the Cantonese speaking staff?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Ranked #18 of 3,396 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where are the Cantonese speaking staff?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I visited this hotel again during the Mid autumn moon festival from September 19-21. I could tell that the hotel updated some of its designs such as in the lobby and it was a pleasant surprise to me as it shows the hotel cares in maintaining its look even though it was constructed not too long ago. The amenities in the bathroom have been downgraded. Although I didn't care much for it, the downgrade was significant to my girlfriend.

The main reason why I'm taking a star off is the lack of Cantonese speaking staff at the front desk. Last time I was here 9 months ago most of the staff at the front desk were able to speak and understand Cantonese. This time, almost all of front desk staff I encountered could not speak Cantonese. I was still able to communicate with them because I can speak Mandarin. I don't begrudge the fact that the staff were not from Guangdong and thus not able to speak Cantonese. I begrudge the fact that management didn't do more to train the staff to learn Cantonese. When I am in Guangzhou, I expect to be able to use Cantonese in a 5 star hotel especially one like the Hilton.

Besides that, I still had a very nice stay at the hotel. The service was prompt and friendly. At check in, the staff brought us free tea and wet towels which was a relief. The concierge was also able to recommend new restaurants, from cheap to expensive, both types which I tried and found to be truly delicious, which I really appreciate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnS8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Guangzho... T, General Manager at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that had a disappointing experience about lack of Cantonese speaking staff, I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional Guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe General Manager Grace Lau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    252
    70
    19
    11
See reviews for
64
72
50
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights & were upgraded to the panoramic suite. It was really good everything was well maintained. The food was really served in a unique way. Overall it was a pleasant stay for us, especially when traveling with a toddler. The staff was very friendly & helpful. One of the best hotels I've stayed so far.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dimasam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Guangzho... T, General Manager at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe General Manager Grace Lau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had the privilege to stay with Hilton Tian'he in Guangzhou for a few nights back in June. I had a great time there as I was staying on the executive floor. The welcome gift of macron and fruits were nice touch in the room upon checking in. The staffs in the executive lounge were very friendly and helpful. They became very close before my departure. I have always believed that the top notch service is the people are willing to walk extra miles. When I had a sore throat at breakfast, the lounge manager would personally make me a cup of honey lemon tea for soothing my throat really moved me. Thank you for the great service. I would definitely come back again. Hands down for this hotel and I recommend it for whoever on the business trip or vacation in Guangzhou.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Guangzho... T, General Manager at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will let our Executive Lounge Team know that they helped you have a great stay with us. All of us at Hilton are passionate about hospitality and we hope to see you again soon.

Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe General Manager Grace Lau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This Hilton is one of the nicer Hiltons with high lobby ceilings, nicely furnished rooms and plenty of elevators that won't have you waiting. It is conveniently located about a 5 minute walk from the Metro station and one of the main bus terminals. It is away from the city center since it is in a newly developed part of the city, but it is a 20 minute train ride to most attractions. Taxi's are readily available and cheap in Guangzhou. The people at the front desk are very receptive and speak fair English. The rooms are nice and clean, although a little dark. We stayed in a regular room and in an executive room. The executive room was nicer but both rooms were very nice. We also ate breakfast every morning at the 2nd floor buffet restaurant and there is a good variety of hot and cold foods, both Chinese and Western food. There are stations where they prepare freshly cooked noodles as well as eggs. This Hilton is reasonably priced and is in a reasonably good location. This is our 12th night here and we would come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Guangzho... T, General Manager at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality.The problems you mentioned have been addressed. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe General Manager Grace Lau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
324 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights on business and would recommend this hotel for anyone who needs an oasis away from the dirt and humidity of Guangzhou. The rooms were clean and spacious and looked like your typical four or five star room in a global hotel in China. The staff was super friendly and very responsive to any request. The own thing that surprised me was that the level of English spoken by anyone not at the front desk was quite rudimentary. I would have expected it to be at the same level as in other tier 1 cities like Shanghai or Beijing. But this was not a big deal for me. The breakfast served was excellent.

The entire atmosphere in the hotel exuded luxury and comfort. The lobby lounge where I had several coffees was very grand with tall ceilings. The rooms themselves were nicely appointed. The only issue th the rooms is that they had insufficient lighting. Even when all the lights were on, it felt like the lighting in a romantic restaurant, dark and subdued. The switches were very confusing -- both sides of the bed contained different controls. So there was.a lot of trial and error. And is normal with American hotels, some switches can only be locally controlled as in having to walk to the lamp and physically switch it on, as if it were still an oil lamp. The reading lamp in the corner of the room could only be switched on by moving the couch and stepping behind it.

Finally, while this was not the fault of the hotel, it seems that Hilton deleted my HIlton membership number. The front desk was very good about it and immediately issued a different card with a new number. But on earth happened to all my points. Not cool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Guangzho... T, General Manager at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality.The problems you mentioned have been addressed. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe General Manager Grace Lau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerød, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've now been staying at the Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe for 10 nights with 8 more to go, and so far the stay has been excellent. Room is large, nice and clean, service is excellent and friendly - in particular in the executive lounge, where the staff quickly remembered my habits and looked after me very, very well.
I spend many night on hotels around the world every year and wish that the other hotels would provide a service like this hotel has done so far.
Regards
Kurt Vedel Kristensen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Guangzho... T, General Manager at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe General Manager Grace Lau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Location good, Check in is fast, room service is very efficient and food is excellent. can try the opposite restaurant, prices is reasonable and food is quite tasty, if you like guangdong cusine.
The reception staff was polite and the room was new, I love the central bath tub and the hot water is just so cool especially when we are coming back from a long day shopping.
Will going back on Sept 2013.

Room Tip: Higer floors, corner executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaslin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Guangzho... T, General Manager at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe! So glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton hospitality. Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe General Manager Grace Lau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#17 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#14 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe

Property: Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Address: No.215 Linhe Xiheng Road, Tianhe, Guangzhou 510500, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#9 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#61 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe 5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Guangzhou’s central business district, Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe is just 40 minutes by road from Baiyun International Airport and a few minutes away from a transport hub that provides a 20-minute Metro ride to the airport, speedy train and bus links to Shenzhen and Hong Kong. The 498 spacious guestrooms and suites offer the very latest amenities and comforts designed to make your stay carefree and relaxing. Each room is tastefully decorated in contemporary design, while floor-to-ceiling windows provide unrivalled views of the city’s skyline. Wireless internet access, high definition TV and DVD player round out the Hilton vision of giving guests innovative retreats that embrace a sense of well-being ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing