We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Tianhe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Ranked #9 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Room 2109
Supposedly this was a new hotel but it sort of had the feel of being an existing hotel that was taken over by new management and remodeled. Paint was peeling on the desk and so forth which is why I had that opinion.

My main issue in this hotel was that the phones (three) did not work in the room. Perhaps I should rephrase that. They worked long enough for me order room service, but then went kaput sometime during the night. Various service people made multiple attempts to fix between 7 AM and 9 AM without success. They wanted to keep trying, but I told them to wait until I checked out.

Room size was quite large and design was done in a light wood tone. Large entry foyer, good size bedroom/desk combo area and a large bathroom.No issue with noise. HVAC fine. Room was well lit.

My rate included 400 rmb in food credit so I tried room service when I arrived to the hotel. I did not have high expectations so I was not disappointed. The French fries arrived hot and nicely seasoned. The sandwich was so so. Just prior to check out, I went to one of the restaurants to grab a quick lunch. The lunch buffet was 268 rmb, so I skipped that and ordered off of the menu. The margherita pizza was surprisingly good. The crème brulee however was definitely not a dessert to order in the future.

Concierge staff was quite competent once I gave them the time to work through my question. My next stop was Macau so I requested their assistance in directing me to the closest ticket location with frequent buses to the Gongbei Border. I had researched the process ahead of time, but wasn’t sure which of the many bus locations was closest to the hotel. We worked through the problem together. The concierge group discussed amongst themselves which bus company to use and which location was best. I asked that they call to obtain the schedule and verify the location. They wrote all of this information out for me in English. I then asked that they translate the ticket office name and location along with my final destination, so I could communicate this to the ticket office. They then gave me directions as to how best to walk to the ticket office (1/2 to 3/4 of a mile from the Marriott). I did not request this as I was planning on taking a taxi, but it was a nice extra touch.

I checked out and as I walked past the concierge desk, I thanked them for their help. They realized at this point that I would most like be taking a taxi and called one for me.

The Marriott was in a large complex which appeared to have a number of stores, restaurants and fast food chains on the same block. Walk out of the hotel, take a right and another right at the end of the building. KFC and many others can be found.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 632 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel just opened and the service is great, rooms are beautiful and clean, we just loved our stayed here!
The buffet breakfast and buffet dinner were great!
It is next to a huge Shopping center.
Tianhe district is a very nice district.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nabeab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in this hotel earlier this month and totally recommend it! The hotel is relatively new and rooms are comfy, clean and well furnished. Hotel staff can speak English, Cantonese and Mandarin - service is commendable. I had also requested for a late check out as my flight was at midnight and they offered me a 4pm check out, totally appreciated that! There's free wifi in the room and lobby. Breakfast was mediocre - don't bother paying for it, just head out to the nearby steamed rice roll/porridge shops. There is currently a construction site facing one side of the hotel - it can be noisy at times affecting rest but the hotel is willing to change rooms when requested; no biggy.

Also, the hotel is located right next to one of Guangzhou's largest mall (Grandview mall) as well as opposite from its newer sister mall, Tee Mall. You can find everything you need from basic toiletries, food, shopping and phone/tablet accessories.

The neighbourhood comes alive when night falls as the night market at the adjacent street opens. These street vendors set up their stalls promptly at 10pm selling phone accessories, books, street snacks, clothing, fashion accessories etc etc - illegal/fake for some offerings. There's a good dessert shop near a square along this street that leads to Tee Mall - Yu Ling Long, they serve yam cubes with a myriad of toppings like jelly, red beans, sago etc. Head to the Beijing Lu area if you are looking for more authentic Guangzhou food - there's good soup, dessert and loads of local eateries.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mezzapazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Guangzhou is my favorite city in China after one visit. Hands down. The #3 city is #1 in my book and I have been to over 10. This hotel typifies the city. It is all good, all spectacular, all service. The staff went overboard to assist. The cost is equivalent to a Super 8 in most American Cities. And it had a five star flair to it....undoubtedly. I cannot find a thing to criticize. Breakfast was fantastic. With that, there was no need for lunch (though our hosts still forced it on us)...lots of fantastic choices of well prepared food. The room was ultra modern. The internet was super fast. You can control your own A/C, not always the case in China. Lobby was great; shopping areas not too far away; all good stuff in walking distance. View was great from ever angle. The only issue is that they took forever to get our bags to the room, but all things considered, particularly the low cost, very good for business traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I reserved opening promotion but its not real.
Dirty rooms, dust every where.
Staff very helpful and polite but poor English speakers.
Just above grand-view mall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aemaz_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTianhe, Manager at Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

We are so sorry to hear that your unhappy experience during your stay with us, we will arrange appropriate training to our staffs and be sure you have a good experience in next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 正佳廣場在時中心,出外找食的一定方便,也比較戈算
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenieZhu, 市场传讯部总监 at Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Marriott Award
Thank 菲谢
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenieZhu, 市场传讯部总监 at Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
765 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,587 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#10 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe

Address: No.228 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: $165 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe is located in the hub of tianhe commercial district, adjacent to Zhujiang New Town and available to reach directly to the subway station. It is only 5-minute and 15-minute drive from East Railway Station and Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. It joints with one of the largest shopping centers of Asia with more than 750 shops and restaurants. It has 319 rooms and suites with modern decoration and magnificent city views, which are equipped well with facilities, high-speed Wi-Fi and Marriott’s signature bed mattress of REVIVE. Executive Lounge provides exclusive club benefits on 20th floor. 24-hour Fitness Center is equipped with an indoor swimming pool, steam room and sauna room. There are three restaurants serves guests with authentic and exquisite food. The banquet and conference space covers 895 square meters with advanced meeting facilities and professional service for any of the outstanding business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing