We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience in SOFITEL GUANGZHOU”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Ranked #15 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I purchased a romance package which including a champagne wine and a secret present and room fee for my stay in Sunrich Sofitel Guangzhou. Very astonishingly, the hotel just "forget" to give us the champagne and the present . Due to my platinum elite membership, I requested a late checkout . It was 1pm, already passed the normal check out time but the champaigne which I paid for (it's not a gift! it's included in the package I already paid for!!!) still was not in the room, not even mentioned by the staff of hotel. I think it 's ridiculous, if I am not a platinum member or if I didn't request a late co, clearly i will not get the champainge which i ought to get. I complained to club millesime manager of sofitel named KATHY LIU about this . She made apology immediately and tried to relieve my anger. But I was totally disappointed by this kind of apology , after all , it's not MERELY mistakes!!! I don't know how many people who purchased this romace package had been treated by sofitel , just like me. As a flagship sofitel in CHINA, sunrich sofitel guangzhou has DEEPLY SUNK MY CONFIDENCE in accorhotels. The cleaniess in room is under average, I even found some food and used shampoo in my room (which I specially call hotel to make a upgrade)...... The maintanence of the furniture is not good enough, some are just too old for a newly-openning sofitel (maybe in 2010?) .... And Kathy Liu made me upset because of her attitude. She is not kind and not welcoming enough, I don't like her manner at all! I don't like to stay in a such a what so called "five-star""luxury""flagship" Sofitel any more

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddy_xu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We are pleased to report that the misunderstanding was cleared directly with our respected customer and that a free romance package was sent to him with apologies.
The Sofitel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

I tried everything I could in 24 hours in this hotel and nothing was disappointing. Rooms are great, restaurant on the second floor has the right price for the right Chinese and international food. The pool and the spa totally met my expectations. I could get an article translated in a very short time and nothing can replace a nice drink with hot appetizers at the 29th floor club lounge. Last but not least, Chinese staff is very professional and a European team is also very present in the lobby to help out. Really a memorable stay, unfortunately too short.

Room Tip: Rooms with access to the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konnect92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It will be an honour to welcome you again. The Sofitel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Hanoi
5
Reviewed February 15, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property and really liked it. When arrived at the reception. I was greeted by the English speaking French team who recognised that I would be entitled to an upgrade and promptly did so. Well done. Shortly after i arrives in my room. A welcome drink and snack was delivered to me. Very impressed. I really love the fact that there is a team of French staff at the hotel . Let's be honest, there is still room for improvement in china in regards to customers service, sometimes their English may not be the best.

The room itself is big, nicely decorated as you would expect in the Sofitel style. Large LCD TV. Free coffee, tea and water.

It's situated close to the Guangzhou East station. Just a 5 minutes taxi ride.

Breakfast has a large selection of pastries, cakes, fruits and the usual stuff you will find in a European hotel. There' are 3 sections of different types of breakfast. Continental, Chinese and mixture of South East Asian food. The European style food was fine but that is a big BUT, the Chinese food was very disappointing. If it has been the other way round I would not have been so disappointed. After all, we are in China. One would expect the Chinese food would be a lot better. They need to improve that and I passed the comments into them.

All in all, wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and hope the food would be better the next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imperan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We really appreciate your feedback and have shared it with the team. Our Cantonese Master Chef if one of Guangzhou’s best and we were disappointed that the Chinese food was not up to your expectation during his leaves. We acknowledge that we should do a better job even when key personnel are away and will certainly improve in this area.
The Sofitel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich is a great Hotel
location in downtown, approx 45 minute to Guangzhou airport
very satisfied service, for all service
great architecture in lobby, room and restaurant
very great hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 240,711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments. It will be our privilege to welcome you again in a near future. The Sofitel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had to write this review after staying at the Sofitel for 3 nights. It has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in for service, quality of rooms and value. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, check in was quick and efficient for a Chinese hotel where they have to photocopy passports and fill out all sorts of forms. I have always rated the Shangri-la in Makati, Manila as having the best service, but this one tops that, the Shang is great, but the staff here have been extremely well trained, they all know their job.

The room was fantastic, great shower, bathroom and comfortable bed and plenty of western TV channels to watch. Breakfast is amazing, one of the biggest buffets I have ever seen. I didn't have any other meals there so can't comment on that, apart from saying they look great. I didn't meet one member of staff who wasn't fluent in English.

During my stay I had a birthday, and when I got to my room that night, there was a delicious mango mouse cake on my desk, with a handwritten birthday card, nice touch.
Location is good right in the heart of Tianhe.

If you are coming to Guangzhou, do yourself a favour and stay here, it's no wonder it is rated the no 1 out of about 3,000 hotels in GZ, on Trip Advisor. I paid around $130 per night, excl breakfast, so it cartainly passes the value for money test.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We have shared them with the team and you can rest assured that it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future. The Sofitel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management S, Manager at Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
829 reviews
1 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
656 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
625 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich

Address: No.988 Guangzhou Avenue Middle, Guangzhou 510620, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#45 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $128 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Tianhe, the most dynamic financial and commercial district of Guangzhou, the hotel is less than a kilometre away from city landmark CITIC Square and a five minutes drive from Guangzhou East Railway Station, the transportation hub connecting Guangzhou, Dongguan, Shenzhen and Hong Kong. Facilities include 493 spectacular Paris style decor rooms and suites, all overlooking TianHe trendy skyline, 5 innovative bars and restaurants,extensive recreational facilities from SoSpa, SoFit 24-hour fitness centre to an indoor pool enjoying a panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing