We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would have given it 4 stars if not for bad service at Concierge and Check-in Counters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Ranked #8 of 3,396 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Would have given it 4 stars if not for bad service at Concierge and Check-in Counters”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Location of the hotel was good - connected to Tee Mall and close to the metro station. Told the hotel manager that it was my husband's birthday and we got a free room upgrade, a complimentary cake and red wine. In addition, we found a lower rate on a third party booking site and highlighted to the hotel which honoured its best rate guarantee. Everything prior to arriving at the hotel was perfect.

Unfortunately, when we go there, the service wasn't great. First of all, it was not clear which counter was the Concierge counter. On day 2, we went to the wrong counter (a check-in counter) and proceeded to ask for help to book a table for two persons at a restaurant at the Ritz Carlton hotel. We were rejected outright, and the person at the check-in counter (I wish I'd gotten his name) refused to call for us nor did he point us to the Concierge counter. Instead, he told us to go to our room to make the call. When we insisted that he make the call for us, he grabbed my mobile phone (without asking) and tried to call Ritz using my mobile phone. Not sure whether there is some internal policy at Sheraton that disallows staff to make reservations for Sheraton hotel guests at "competitor" hotels. Even if that were the case, it was most unpleasant to have my mobile phone snatched away from my hands by a hotel staff. On day 3, we finally figured out which counter was the Concierge counter, and asked for the cruise departure schedule for the Pearl River Cruise. The staff, Ashin Huang, refused to help us at first, saying he didn't have the schedule. It was only when I told him that I had seen the schedule on the Internet did he agree to help me. Of course, he magically pulled it off the Internet in less than 2 minutes, which means he was not unfamiliar with the site. When my husband told him off, Ashin had the cheek to laugh. I doubt it's a cultural difference issue (I'm Chinese too) but I honestly didn't think there was anything funny about poor service standards at a brand name hotel like Sheraton. Not sure if the hotel manager thinks otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngauntysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuangzhou, GUEST EXPERIENCE TEAM at Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We appreciate your valuable comments and we apologize for the service of Front Desk and Concierge, we will take action to improve. We would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we are certainly looking forward to welcome you back to Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    168
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
43
37
25
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geylang, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very grand Lobby, very huge waiting area. Amenities top-notch. Good location and food/shopping streets aplenty. Opposite the hotel is a shopping streets with shopping ctrs and all. Located in houjie, guandong

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanngoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuangzhou, GUEST EXPERIENCE TEAM at Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments. It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I've had mixed experiences with Starwood properties in China. Few if any have lived up to my expectations. Sheraton Guangzhou, I'm happy to report, met and exceeded them.

An oasis of calm and good service, staying at the Sheraton Guangzhou was a welcome respite from a week of tough travel throughout Guangdong and Guizhou. Staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. All requests were taken care of without a hitch. The room was just right.

I look forward to visiting the Sheraton Guangzhou again. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjcSING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuangzhou, GUEST EXPERIENCE TEAM at Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments. It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast,Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The Sheraton is really in the heart of everything in the centre of Guangzhou. Rooms and bathrooms are very spacious with everything you need for a comfortable stay including the most comfortable bed during my trip to China. Breakfast buffet is excellent and has a huge choice for everyone. I also used the large outdoor pool which was pleasant first thing in the morning and had it to myself. The hotel is connected to the shopping centre next door via a door in the lobby and has loads of shops and restaurants. I have given this a very good instead of excellent because of the front desk staff who I found were slow to respond to my needs and just charged me GBP instead of CNY without giving me the choice and couldn't understand when I complained! They were also very slow in the business centre when I needed some urgent photocopying done, they don't understand what to hurry means! That said the housekeeping staff were brilliant in pressing my suit late in the evening - once they understood what I wanted.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuangzhou, GUEST EXPERIENCE TEAM at Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We appreciate your valuable comments. We apologize for the service of Front Desk and Business Center, and we will keep improving. We would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we are certainly looking forward to welcome you back to Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed here and both times I've really enjoyed the hotel and the location. The breakfast is really good and being close to the mall is a real bonus. Getting a taxi can be a problem but I think this is an issue for the whole of Guangzhou, as I've experienced the same problem at other hotels I've stayed at. The only negative and it's only a small thing but check in and out seemed to be slow and they automatically charged me sgd on my credit card which I had to get them to change as it's against company policy.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuangzhou, GUEST EXPERIENCE TEAM at Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We appreciate your valuable comments and we are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. We apologize for the service of Front Desk, and we will keep improving. We would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we are certainly looking forward to welcome you back to Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, very clean hotel. Stayed in club room floor and had a nice, large room. Breakfast buffet was very good--plenty of choices. Fitness room was all new Life Fitness equipment and didn't have to wait for anything. Centrally located and connected to the Tee Mall.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuangzhou, Manager at Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel while you’re travelling to Guangzhou! We are very happy that you have a wonderful stay and thank you to share your experience with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Hotel is actually located right in a shopping mall so you can buy until you empty your pocket book.
I myself do not like eating in the hotel except breakfast so the large numbers of large and small, pricey and cheap eateries surely satisfy me.
Room is bright and modern, staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is sumptuous but the drawback is free wi-fi is available in the lobby. Also you need to get a password that lasts for a few hours, after that you have to get a new password slip, very meaningless.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the higher floors so you can see far away if the weather is good and the vision is spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGuangzhou, Manager at Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your comments and we are very happy to have you with us and we will continue to strive to provide the signature Sheraton experience to all our valuable guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Guangzhou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#6 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#4 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#18 of 3,396 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel

Property: Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Address: No.208 Tianhe Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 3,396 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel located in the heart of Guangzhou's Tianhe central business district, situated at the hub of 2 major metro lines, and BRT terminal, which provides fast access to Pazhou International Convention Centre. Approx 40 minutes away to Baiyun International Airport and 5 minutes drive or 2 stops by the metro to GZ East Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing