We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Perspective, It's in China.”

Oggi Pizzeria (TianLun HuaYuan)
Ranked #718 of 7,186 Restaurants in Guangzhou
Price range: $15 - $50
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Guangzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Keep Perspective, It's in China.”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I feel like the other reviews get this one pretty accurate. We moved to GZ one year ago, and after spending a few weeks trying all the local food we could, we really needed a break and some decent western food. Oggi delivers great pizza (and used to Bruschetta until they changed it recently) factoring that we're in China...whereas it would just be average (and maybe below average considering the price) in Italy. However, cannot deny all the mitigating circumstances...so if you want a pizza in GZ, you should definitely go to Oggi. Since most expats don't really hurt for $$ in China, I don't think the priceis so high that it is a stopping point.

We also frequently get fresh juice and/or wine, and the desserts are also ok. Pastas are hit/miss, and my wife enjoys the salads. We eat here on average 1-2x per week for the past 1 year, and I don't see that changing in the next 1 year.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rybickij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    53
    22
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a Missing man there”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Not as good as before where there was an italian friendly guy called Alexandro..food is a bit expensive service is ok and food portion very small

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good but not great”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

It is a good restaurant and serves a decent pizza. As long as you come in expecting a China standard, you will be happy. If you expect an Italian standard, you will be disappointed. The place all in all is ok though.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rainbowbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangzhou
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ok in Taojin overpriced at Tianhe”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I first went to the Oggi in Taojin, and I felt like a saving line in my first month in GZ. The food was good especially the pizzas, I would say in Italy this would be a average pizza. So in China you can imagine my happiness when I found it! So far so good.
But then I went to the one in Tianhe. I think this supposed to be the original one. Now the prices are def as it would be in italy, for ex in Venice San Marco...but the food!!! and the service! We ordered one thing we received an other, the food was over or undercooked and we had a group of 7 people and no one was happy with the food. And the price was almost the double than in the one at Taojin. So the food is as like in a chain but the pricing is individual. Stange. Its like someone charge you double for your BigMac because it happened to be the first Macdonalds in town.
My suggestion is not to go toTianhe but if you want a quick bite of italian style food go for Taojin

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zsofiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, Guangdong, China
1 review
“Great for both restaurant dining and takeaway”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I've lived in GZ for over 1 yr and I've made it my mission to bookmark good reliable food outlets and Oggi tops my list of good reliable Western restaurants.

For anyone seeking Western food and or great traditional oven baked pizza, Oggi Pizzeria GZ is excellent, the staff are very polite and speak very good English for those struggling to speak Mandarin.

Its not just the pizza that hits the mark, the Anti-pasti with a good selection of cold cuts and cheeses also fills the gap.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mrbiffta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oggi Pizzeria (TianLun HuaYuan) also viewed

 

Been to Oggi Pizzeria (TianLun HuaYuan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing