We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of The Happy Monk

The Happy Monk
Ranked #36 of 7,212 Restaurants in Guangzhou
Price range: $14 - $18
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Happy Monk is a lively and welcoming Western-style bar and restaurant, currently there are three outlets of The Happy Monk in Guangzhou city. The first is in Jianshe Wu Road branch, conveniently tucked away on a leafy backstreet a stone's throw away from the Garden Hotel. Cool wooden and copper interiors with large sliding doors opening out onto an outdoor terrace, a full food menu, an eclectic mix of music videos and an extensive range of imported draft beers and very cool cocktails have made The Happy Monk a true destination of choice for both locals and expats alike. The second is in XingSheng Road branch. Part of the rows of shops in the trendy bar street in Zhujiang New Town, this branch boasts high ceilings and a second floor at that. Staying true to The Happy Monk roots, wooden interiors and copper decorations for the bar can be found in this branch. Address: Unit 109, 7 XingSheng Road, Zhujiang New Town, Guangzhou Third but not least, is in Happy Valley Shopping Mall. Located not in the shopping mall but outside it in the square. This is the largest store with a terrace surrounding it filled with booths for guests to take a break after shopping. In the evening, it is a lovely place to sit outside and enjoy the company of friends. Address: Unit 124, G/F, Happy Valley Shopping Mall, 36 Machang Road, Zhujiang New Town, Guangzhou
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A good place to meet and greet. They have a decent menu as well as plenty for drinks available .. the staff are friendly and the service is fast. There is a nice outdoor seating area and they commonly play the latest football on the multi tvs

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Happy_Monk, Manager at The Happy Monk, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you my friend and especially thank you for the lovely photo you taken. I can see myself in there :-) Hope to see you again at the bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for The Happy Monk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 128 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

After 3 months of absence, i came back looking for familiar faces, but surprisingly no one, even Sherwin, the Phillipino maitre D, is gone, Happy is no more "Thee Monk", needless to say, the place is over crowded, young of both sexes,and those in between alike, tables and seats full from the bar to the pedestrian pavement, it's true the Monk's coffers are full, and we wish him well,but it lost quality in his food preparation and service .

I for one believe that change is inevitable , but the mighty "Happy Monk", will be wise to find a middle ground between the coffer, and quality,and service that should come with it.

As the evening progressed though, as one group polished off their birthday cake, with a fray of cocktails, soon a next wave of (younger) diners schmoozing deep at the bar, I realized it had been forever since I’d seen this much action in Garden Ghetto. If this is an indication of an upswing in the neighborhood, I’m all for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chic-Sheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Happy_Monk, Manager at The Happy Monk, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your second comments. We are sorry that we have let you down this time. "for one believe that change is inevitable , but the mighty "Happy Monk", will be wise to find a middle ground between the coffer, and quality,and service that should come with it" You are totally true and it is something we need to work hard to balance. We are currently reviewing our services and hope to improve a little bit everyday. Thanks again and we still sincerely hope to see you enjoying yourself again at the Happy Monk in the future :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

It's a nice bar in a good area, with a great atmosphere and friendly staff (sometimes too friendly, it has been classified as an in the closet gay bar and lounge) the drinks are a little pricey but nothing crazy for that area.

Thank anajulaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Happy_Monk, Manager at The Happy Monk, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your interesting comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Happy Monk is a "scene" joint. It's got a great (hip - cool) atmosphere but it sorta stops there.

We had a few drinks, sorted out the scene but soon realized that we were not young enough, rich enough or cool enough to hang for too long...but many others too seemed to drop by for a quickie and then moved on. We had no food ourselves but what we saw from the nearby tables looked darn yummy.

Overall, The Happy Monk seems like it's trying too hard to be the in-place in GZ but then again who am I to say as "we" felt maybe we were not in the right place.

We'd go back just to see it again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank ExpatDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Happy_Monk, Manager at The Happy Monk, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you. We have been trying our best to make our customers feel good and comfortable but we know that there's always room for improvements. Your comments are very valuable to us. Hope to see you again at the Happy Monk and look forward to your new feelings :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

i enjoyed the atmosphere of the bar, busy and noisy but able to hold a conversation with person next to you, food was good as a bar meal but dont expect silver service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mellorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Happy_Monk, Manager at The Happy Monk, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your comments. You have truly identified The Happy Monk's style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Monk also viewed

 

Been to The Happy Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing