We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargin shopping”

Shangxiajiu Pedestrian Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.44*
and up
Guangzhou Foodie Tour
Ranked #4 of 186 Shopping in Guangzhou
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bargin shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Excellent shopping belt with lots of walking space. But be prepared for the evening human jam.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Topgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    118
    67
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome! But didnt find cheap copies.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This shopping strip was huge with lots of smelly little back alleys.lol Make sure you take a clothes peg for your nose and a tissue for your bottom as the public toilet stinks. But that is common in china public toilets.
The shopping was fantastic though. Lots of cheap stuff. I spent the equivalent of 130 US dollars to get all these things pictured here.
We had a great day here but had to line up for a taxi at the end. Took 45 mins to get our turn of the taxi.
We didn't even get half way through this shopping strip before we were worn out.
The only negative was that we didn't find any Channel or Gucci copy hand bags. They may have been there but we didn't find them. well worth the trip.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank MoniqueWilliames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bargain Street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a pedestrian shopping street which has mostly clothing stalls. The fashion here did not impress me. The key to this type of place is to pretend like you are not interested in buying a product, this will make bargaining very easy. Make sure you bargain the prices to at least half of what they are asking. Beware of vendors coming up to you showing images of products they claim to be the original, which are fake.

Helpful?
4 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheapest shopping street ever :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Dont forget to bargain ;) you can buy top, shirt, skirt or dress for about 30 RMB, you can buy heels, sandals or gladiator for about 50 RMB, not he perfect quality but you can find gr8 things, garments up to fashion, its the Japanese and Korean fashion, it's a must visit street :)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
16 Thank Samah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best place to shop for ladies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Grab your most comfortable pair of shoes and start shopping! You can take one whole day to finish walking this district. About the prices - the more centrally located the shop is, the higher the prices are. So if you walk farther to the outskirts of the streets, the opening prices can easily be half the opening prices in the heart of the district. How much to bargain? Generally, you can try slashing by half or 3/4 (also depends if they are clearing stock i.e. end of season). Just walk away if you don't get the price you want. There are lots of other shops selling the same thing and you can try again until you get your perfect buy!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank j1eann1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangxiajiu Pedestrian Street also viewed

 

Been to Shangxiajiu Pedestrian Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing