We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment
Ranked #52 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Guangzhou
Mauritius
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not really the best!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It's location is absolutely great for anyone visiting. It is badly neglected. The reception area is a really an eye-sore - I felt like taking my bags and walking out. The lifts are dirty and passage to the rooms are worn out - it's dark and not very pleasant. I stayed in the self catering appartment - there was a kitchen but no utensils. Except for 3 teacups! The rooms were small but the big windows helped. Bathroom was not bad but neglected as well. It could be a nice place it it were taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherifa1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    37
    12
    16
See reviews for
23
14
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel. The standard of cleanliness was really low, the room had furniture with stains and very noticeable damage, the kitchenette was unusable, the TV did not work and the hallways and elevators were really gross. The only plus side of staying there was that we were close to shopping, restaurants, transit and the river.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EiffelForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Grand Continental take BAD to a whole new level. I would not recommend this hotel to the cockroaches and spiders, even though they had obviously checked into my room before me.

The room was falling apart with exposed wiring, missing features, highly suspect water systems, extremely old (and used?) linen and towels, broken and stained furniture and a level of cleanliness that suggested staff were not employed at all.

In our bathroom there was a dead spider on check in, that even after moving into a more obvious place for cleaning was still there when we checked out two days later. I was also having trouble with cellular data and checked with other guests who also had issues. It seems either the hotel (or another local business) have blocks in place - presumably to make you use their system.

The hotel staff are awful. On check in the lady at the counter was texting and when she saw us looked up and then her pink phone buzzed again so without a word she just carried on texting. We had to wait for another staff member to arrive and even then we then had a dispute over room type. We had requested a two room non-smoking suite. We finally got a two bedroom suite, but apparently non-smoking just means since the last person left. Due to large gaps under doors anyone smoking in adjacent rooms or the corridor drifts into the room too. The beds were also hard, even by normal Chinese standards. My daughter slept on the sofa to try and get any sleep at all.

The advertised hot plate was missing with just a great big home where it should be. Paper was peeling off the wall, while the building dust left by the windows suggested that the room had not been cleaned in a long time. With a daughter I was also concerned that there was live wiring hanging out of the wall by the door. If my daughter was younger i would have been VERY nervous. The hotel advertised a pool and spa. I could not find the spa, but the pool area was locked off and obviously had not been used for some time. The image shows the times that were missing and it had not been filled for a long time.

Sadly the photos for this hotel online are verging on fraudulent as they completely misrepresent the location and the standards. I have taken the liberty of showing the comparison, along with a few photos of the room I was in. I booked through Agoda and the photos there are even more misleading. Had this issue with Agoda before. Of greater concern we got a 50% discount at Agoda and the discount cost was still over twice what the hotel advertised when we arrived!!!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

All the room rate increase due to the Canton fair, no wifi in the room, only in lobby, limited dirty old sofa, but may use the cafe in lobby with minimum purchase RMB 10, room needs upgrade,shower is week and toilet is block.
Good location, 10 mins walk to MRT, 5 mins to Beijing Road Pedestrian Shopping Center.
Taxi from airport RMB 200, to avoid the traffic jam, may try MRT, only RMB 7/pax, about 1 hour from Haizhu Square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinaang64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

i would NOT recommend this hotel to my friends. Although it is cheap but this is not worth staying, you will rather top up slightly extra and go to Hotel Guang zhou or Hotel Canton Landmark.. Trust me..

here are the reason why.

1) The front desk officer named ' Yi' ( chinese ) is very rude, when we asked to verify the name of person who booked this hotel, she show us this unpleasant look and said don't have this person, until we got our hotel confirmation slip. This is not the service level we expected, after 'entertaining us, she gossiping about us with her colleagues.

2) the hallway is very dark, nobody replace the bulb.

3) the hotel room is VERY disappointing, the picture shown here compare to real was very much different, the room still in renovation, some of the lights are not working.

4) water heater - you have to heat up 20 mins ( at least ) before you shower and please bear in mind if does not work all the times, depends on your luck.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rennytse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel for several time. The service is not so good. There were times when I get the rooms with no complain, but there were also times when I get rooms with the shower /remote not working. The main reason has always been one.. the location. V

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this dump 1/2 hour late and our 2 bedroom suite was cancelled (thank goodness). We were offered 2 rooms and decided to have a look first. The hallway was covered in rubbish and the wallpaper peeling off the walls. The room was disgusting, the linen on the bed looked like it was 20 years old. The staff at reception were rude and did not care that it was by then 1.30 in the morning. Luckily we have a friend in China who got us into another hotel that night. I would not recommend this dump to anyone. Yes it is in a good position but that is all it has going for it. Apparently some of the hotels in China self rate themselves so you cannot always rely on the ratings. We spent the rest of the week at the Landmark Hotel and it was excellent for the same price. We booked this hotel through Sinohotels and had concerns. After contacting them twice they told us everything would be ok (what a joke).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KessaBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guangzhou Hotel
Guangzhou Hotel
#94 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#46 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#41 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guangyong Lido Hotel
Guangyong Lido Hotel
#1,527 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Private Apartment Hotel Of Grand Continental
Sunny Private Apartment Hotel Of...
#1,533 of 3,462 in Guangzhou
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment

Property: Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment
Address: No.147-149 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Nomo Grand Continental Service Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Service Apartment Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing