We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Dong yue in Guangzhou”
Review of Dongyue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dongyue Hotel
Ranked #911 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Room is good but hotel surrounding area is not at all good..... lots of black africa ppl moving all the time Plus in the night time road side non veg food stall... very bad........

Only plus point is that 3 to 4 Indian restaurant is around the hotel including pure veg restaurant...

Room Tip: standard rooms are good for business travelers....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bharat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 79 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

I am in GZ 2x a year for business in Southern China. I am from WP FLA USA. This place is clean (no strange smells), near the subway, a million cabs, busses, lots of food choices - the street food is amazing (Indian and African - awesome food!), an awesome bakery-1min (out the front doors and right), tons of banks and ATM's, a huge (long -1mi) street market across the street (down the small alley - trust me) and through the back neighborhood.

The first time I went to GZ, I did check some other hotels around this area to see if there were any that I like better. My China friends took me to 4-6 different places within a 5 minute walk - Dongyue is perfect for my use. I love the culture and food here.

This hotel is catering to Indian customers and the hotel down the street is catering to African. It is a wonderful mix of foods. It is a very comfortable neighborhood area.
It is not a luxury hotel by any standard, but for me - traveling alone - PERFECT! Clean, nice people (the front desk people are awesome and helped me many times getting my proper receipts), great food within 2-5 minutes, great laundry service, great prices, the cab drivers at the airport know this hotel (pronounce correctly - Dong YEA!. Really a great travel hotel.

Internet is cable connection, bring a 20' cable to get internet in bed. Better - go to the International Market next door (out the front door and turn left - across the side street - up the escalator) and buy a WiFi hub 12usd (instant Wifi in your room for the Ipad). Go to the second floor electronics shop, The guy is so cool....2nd floor.
Again EASY!

Oh! The beds are like concrete.. Go to the market and get an air mattress....across the street and a 10 minute walk. 10usd. It is worth the investment. Many places to get air mattresses and COMPLETE bed sheets sets and blankets. (7usd) (more comfy than hotel stuff)

I'm back there in 5 weeks. Did I mention how good the food is there? haha

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

They best thing about the hotel is the receptionist name "JANE". She gives the best possible advice. I am saying so cos I travelled to Guangzhou for the first time and had a 0% knowledge about the place.thanks to JANE who helped me out to have the basic knowledge and guidance of surrounding. I will always prefer to come to Dongyue hotel.
Tip for First timers:
This is the hotel you would be looking for you stay in guangzhou and very friendly staff and with Receptionist like Jane it solves 80% of your first-time travel problem.
This is Nitin Kothari from INDIA..

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank nikzkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went to this place during the canton fair on business.

They provide free shuttle service to the fair.

Add breakfast in your package if you are visiting for the fair....as time is short to venture for other places.

Staff are co-operative and welli spoken... front desk has english speaking staff... convenient to communicate and take guidance.

Sharmaji Hotel jus on the back street on the 2nd floor is the best place to have dinner ... if you prefer veg and home food.... A buffet with a very decent choice of vegetables and salads

fruit market and grocery shops are all nearby for water etc

Lots of Indian restaurants nearby ... Zaika , Ashoka etc

sim card, currency conversion are available just at the opposite store.... ensure that the rates are proper... that lady is very smart and will over charge if you are in rush or buying just before the bus leaves for the canton fair.

House keeping is good.... sometimes you may have to ask for putting a cleaner bed cover..

AC and heaters are working fine.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with king size double beds are the best.. prefer front street view rooms on the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

its a very old hotel. the rooms are out dated . when you enter the lobby you will feel like wow. but soon when to start to move to your room you will realise that you have been fooled by the look to lobby. The best part of this hotel is the location . right in centre of the city and easy access to every thing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sumadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lujing Road is a district of China inhabited mostly by Indians and Africans. Here you can find good Indian restaurants to have your favorite type of Indian food. The road also houses some trade centers which have offices of Indian Agents providing logistics to Indian Buyers.
The district is a business hub for Indians and hence you will feel as if you are in India in this particular part of China, reason a lot of Indians on the roads lodging in this area.

We stayed in this hotel and was kind of satisfied with the price and room quality as we were in a deluxe room but were kind of let down in the ordinary double bed room. The room was small and the toilet was with worn of fixtures. The room was not well kept and that was visible by the interiors.

Not bad for business trip but nothing great as a hotel. In comparison to the other hotel in the area, I personally feel that it had better ambiance.

Room Tip: Th deluxe rooms are good but the ordinary double bed are not worth staying if you want to live in lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Well, i visited with my family and stay 2 nights in this hotel, hotel staff is efficient and supportive, room service is ok, buffet is simple, small but have indian food also, but the best thing is all the Indian, Nepalese, Pakistanis are around and all king of Indian food is easily available near by, also market is just on crossing and very deep chinese market in the tight streets if u want to see poor china.

Room Tip: front street view at first floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aneeshbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Asia International Hotel
Asia International Hotel
#51 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#41 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zhaoqing Hotel
Zhaoqing Hotel
#1,254 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
1.3 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#22 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#818 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongyue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongyue Hotel

Address: No.8 Lujing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510091, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Yuexiu District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #911 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: $58 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dongyue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing