We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Customer Service, Luxury Living in Guangzou”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Guangzhou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canton Residence
Ranked #84 of 3,394 Hotels in Guangzhou
Lancaster, PA USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Top Notch Customer Service, Luxury Living in Guangzou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I have been living at Canton Residence for the past 9 or so months now, and I continue to be so utterly impressed by the overall property, the amentities and luxuries of my room / apartment, and most of all, the world class customer service, that truly seems to extend to every single employee here, from the front desk staff right down to the security guards and gardeners.

Super clean apartments and rooms, and if you need anything at all, the front desk staff is on it in a hurry. They follow through and take care of any need or issue you might have.

Great buffet breakfast each morning with made to order eggs, really nice and beautiful gym / spa, which i use daily.

Overall, a real attention to detail and attention to guest happiness! I don't think you can go wrong with a stay at Canton Residence if you are visiting Guangzhou, China. Located in one of the more upscale areas of Guangzhou.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank youngtraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
3
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Canton Residence is a great hotel where offers convenient access to restaurants, shopping malls and several public transportation tools, the price for the hotel is appreciate and they take the customer service to the maximum. I was very satisfied during my stay, highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary5955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 months. The place is located in liede which is nice, quite and clean residential area in zhujiang new town. canton residence is a good spot for escaping from the noisy and stressfull lifestyle of guangzhou.
The residence provides a gym, tennis courts, nice swimming pools, shuttle buses, etc. it is also surrounded by many western restaurants providing different kinds of cuisines, and it is 10 minutes walking from xing sheng lu where you can find dozens of western bars and pubs.
In general, the place is clean, quiete and safe, the staff is very professional and they all speak good english, and the environment is good for long stays and for raising a family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed 4 months due to a work related stay. I stayed with my two little girls and my wife.
The staff was quite nice and they help you with the apartment if you need something (f.e. we needed the drawer fixed). The facilities have a good to high standard, the girls liked the pool, i used the gym a lot. Although they should consider to have a bathroom in the gym.
There are a many restaurants in the hotel complex, and our favorite was the Spanish restaurant and the Costa cafe, so one does not really run out of options.
Our kids visited the nursery across the street, while me and my wife were working.
I must say I can recommend this hotel to everyone who is planning a long term stay in the region, as it offers Western style accommodation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the backyard, and away from the street. That is generally a good tip for C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiglaSiverygay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not located in the 'heart of ZhuJiang New Town', but definitely has always been in the middle of noise without any change in years, so consider very carefully if intending to stay a long time.  

Short-term guests are usually placed in the front of the complex where it is quite.

Constant construction will welcome you and maybe keep you up at night.  There is a large school (this is no joke) which just opened immediately across the street.  It will play its very loud speaker to greet you with announcements over an outside PA system, along with the chatter of thousands of kids (remember schools in the south have open hallways...). If management places you in building T26 or any other on the 'back side' of the property, then you will soon discover what living in the 'heart of it all' will feel like.  

From  7am comes the construction saws and hammers to the very late night dumping of concrete and dirt (that's the city's ordinance to only allow heavy trucks on the roads at night - how pathetic, but complain?  don't bother.), fills the day and night, hoking, motor noise.  There is no limit to the amount of noise or construction - this is the China rule.  Add the local kids' nursery that has loud children from 9am to 530pm, then the stir of the restaurants shortly thereafter....when and where is there relief?  Pray for heavy rain, typhoon, or a long holiday....that's when some relief comes.  If you get a choice (you should demand it), reside in T9 on the highest possible floor; otherwise, you will hear the sounds of loud local talkers, hackers, and coughers, especially in the early mornings (wow, unbelievable).  And a room facing inward maybe better away from the road, but beware of the events in the middle of the complex with high volume music, loud PA system, and lights to keep you entertained.

But, then again, if you don't mind all of that, this might be the place.  It's showing its maturity with low ceilings and dark floors, old equipment and aging buildings. Thin walls, doors and windows will remind you of how noise can penetrate through.   However, the front of the complex is kept neat and sharp but towards the back...well, it goes down a notch or two - that's typical of most Chinese accommodations though.  A strange combination of long and short-term leased apartments along with businesses in a noisy residential-like area.  Good luck!

Room Tip: Stay in T9 on the highest floor away from the road noise.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton_Residence, Public Relations Manager at The Canton Residence, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear LaoBlue

First of all thanks for taking the time and write this review, it gives us an opportunity to improve and render a more exceptional and quality service for our guests.

We are disappointed to hear of your misfortunate situation and we want to make this right. Even though we have no control over the government constructions that take place Guangzhou we will take it upon ourselves to work together with our guests from tower 26, to find a way to improve this situation, even if it means adding some extra sound proofing material to the rooms in order to diminish the impact.

Here in the canton residence we proud ourselves of excellent service and we go the extra mile to make sure our guests feel at home during their stay. We can assure you that this issue is a priority of ours.

Please feel free to contact me as I will personally take charge of this issue.


Algis Vyshniauskas
Account Executive Officer
algis.v@newworld-plaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Be warned not to live in Building T26. Why, constant noise from building construction day and in to the late night, weekends and holidays. This combined with noise from the cars, horns, nursery, restaurants, and loud microphones from the inner circle area is enough to drive a family nuts. Management has very little, if any control, over this perpetual problem. Apartments are older and the air conditioning units always needing repairs. The complex is very big and echoes lots of noise, especially around the inner circle near the lower floors.

Location is ok, but no shopping near by for foodstuffs unless you like busy local shops and can speak local language.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton_Residence, Guest Relations Manager at The Canton Residence, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear LaoBlue,

The Canton Residence is located in the heart of Guangzhou and construction in this growing city is prevalent and unfortunately, completely out of our control. Our complex features a wide range of international restaurants, supermarkets and boutique stores with the surrounding area home to a large wet market, local shops and restaurants. We are host to a few large celebratory events each year such as Chinese New Year, Christmas and New Years Eve and inevitably there is an increase of noise level around the area during these periods.

We do try to minimize any disturbance with all apartments having certified sound proof glass windows installed which is adequate for the majority of guests. Tolerance of sound is a personal preference and we do apologize in this isolated instance that we have not been able to adhere to yours.

Due to Guangzhou's climate, air conditioning units constantly need maintenance and servicing. Our engineering department is available 24 hours a day to resolve any technical and mechanical issues that you may have.

We apologize for the disturbances caused to you during your time here and thank you for your comments. We will continue to do our best to ensure a memorable and pleasant stay for you and all of our guests here at The Canton Residence.

Warm regards,

The Canton Residence Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
388 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are here for an extended stay, and we love the place. The older reviews mention construction, but all that is over now. We enjoy the breakfast daily, and particularly the helpful and courteous staff. The location is away from the heavy car and foot traffic areas of Guangzhou, so there is plenty of peace and quiet at night. The nearest subway is a five minute walk, and the hotel will help secure a taxi if needed. The Pearl River is another five minute walk away for a relaxing stroll. The circular plaza next to the residence offer a number of good restaurants, and the gym on site does the job. Fairly far from the airport if one is in town for a short visit, but for a long stay I have found no place better.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank JackandResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton_Residence, Guest Relations Manager at The Canton Residence, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear JackandResh,

We are delighted to hear that your stay here with us has been enjoyable.

It's fantastic to hear you enjoy our daily buffet breakfast, peaceful surroundings and convenience of location and we thank you for your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive remarks regarding our service and we will surely pass on your comments to our staff members.

We hope your stay with us has been memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

The Canton Residence Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
East Railway Station
Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Tianhe
Paco Business Hotel Guangzhou Ti...
#294 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Oakwood Gold Arch Residence Guan...
#211 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Yiwu Commatel Hotel
#317 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guangzhou Nan Guo Hotel
#1,516 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Vanburgh Hotel
#55 of 3,394 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canton Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canton Residence

Property: The Canton Residence
Address: Building T9, 48 Haifeng Road, Zhujiang New Town, TIanhe District, Guangzhou 510627, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou > Tianhe District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 3,394 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 142

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing