We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atrocious”
Review of Dongfang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dongfang Hotel
Ranked #26 of 3,479 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I experienced atrocious service at the check-in counter- long wait and grouchy staff.

The room wasn't ready when I arrived, so we went out for lunch. I was issued a key after that and found that the room still wasn't ready. The poor housekeeping staff was petrified that the guest had arrived before the room was cleaned. The room was clean enough, but the room wasn't comfortable - too hard for my liking.

There was only one working lift for Wing 2 throughout the 3 days of my stay.

The breakfast was overpriced. There was limited variety and not satisfactory at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruzdzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Dongfang Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 874 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Based on a recommendation of a local, I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during a business visit to Guangzhou in June 2013. My review is based on my stay in a business room. The rooms and very spacious and clean with all modern facilities you can expect from a a 5 star hotel. The bathroom is huge with a tub separate from the shower with all amenities. The buffet breakfast is very varied with a wide range of Western and Chinese items. There is a well equipped Spa and Squash court, which I did not use, and a recommended pleasant pool set out in a well maintained garden (operates from 7 am to 10 pm).

The location of the hotel is close to the centre of the city and a Metro station is a 5 minute walk away. There are 2 big parks surrounding the hotel. The only negative issue from my point of view is that most staff are stiff in dealing with hotel patrons and many staff don't speak English well.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to a high floor business room with a park view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I have had two stays at this hotel, the first one was ok, the second one I got a room with a smelly bathroom, I couldnt even stand it. Breakfast is good though. Location is ok too. There is a Starbucks just around the corner which is a plus.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Echicadef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We selected this hotel from a limited selection as part of a package tour. It is supposedly five star and potentially could be but currently it is not. The hotel is enormous and as a consequence a tad impersonal. The rooms are spacious, the pool is superb, the lobby is impressive...however it is all a bit tired. As a westerner we struggle with smoking in public spaces and the perpetual Chinese spitting you would however think that a hotel could educate its staff to do it out of sight. Breakfast ceases at 10am and boy do they mean it! One plus is location just across the road from the lovely Liuhan Lake Park and just metres from the Metro (one stop to the Beijing Road shopping precinct). Service on the whole was more than acceptable with enough English spoken to make yourself understood. Taxis are really cheap but make sure you have a hotel card with destination and return address in Chinese. Be on the look out for counterfeit money they are happy to pass it off to you but won't ever accept it in return.

Room Tip: Make sure you are nowhere near a lift the call bells are noisy!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilHBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed 2 nights to attend a convention. Hotel is very big and you have to walk a lot in very depressing corridors. But the garden in the center of the hotel is quite relaxing. The room are quite large but they need to be renovated. The beds are like japanese beds making the sleep of a standard western tourist quite uncomfortable. The smell throughout the hotel is quite strong and disagreeable: fight against the bird flue ???Service is slow , especially at the front desk. The many restaurants are quite good. I might come back again !

Room Tip: ask for a room with a park view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANIEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for 5 nights for business. Check in was okay and staff were generally helpful. It took a long time to wait for check out - there were only 2 staff at the reception and 1 of them was talking to a customer for more than 10 minutes, but no staff seemed to help with the long queue of customers who were waiting to check out!

The room I stayed was a bit old and had a funny smell - which vanished after the air-con was on for 5 mins. Other than that It was clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast was okay but many people and might be difficult to get a table during peak time.

Location was okay, about 30 mins to the airport and 5 mins walk to the metro station.

If I visit Guangzhou again, I may try another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolukolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Three years ago I stayed at this hotel and was not happy with the customer service at the front desk. This time around the service was better. I booked a single room in Block 2. The room wasn’t bad but the toilet seat was old and needed replacing. The room was also quite warm.

The hotel's location is Central. There is a really good restaurant called Macau Street on the side of the hotel. The subway line is located close to the Starbucks at the end of the street. Also the hotel offers a free shuttle service to the train station, you just need to book it at the concierge desk before the scheduled departure times. If you plan to get to the airport from the hotel, you can book the airport express bus just outside block 1 front doors for $18 Yuan.

The breakfast options are very good in the courtyard. If you want to order room service I had the Cantonese Chowmein one night and it was really good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siren_isis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#37 of 3,479 in Guangzhou
930 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#18 of 3,479 in Guangzhou
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,479 in Guangzhou
786 reviews
Jianguo Hotel
#31 of 3,479 in Guangzhou
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongfang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongfang Hotel

Address: No.120 liuhua Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510016, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#30 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#31 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $77 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dongfang Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 679
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dongfang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongfang Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing