We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Trip.com
$63
View deal
Hotels.com
$89
View deal
Agoda.com
$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/25/21
Priceline$69
Expedia.com$89
getaroom.com$97
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,264)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveler rating
617
467
114
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
617
467
114
43
25
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Dong Fang hotel is probably the worst 5 star hotel in the province / world... 45 mins to check in at 2030; room then not ready. Weak / non existent English; air con not working; plumbing leaking; black stains on tiling; hard beds; attached restaurant presented raw prawns & fought not to do anything about this. £20 breakfast; £10 umbrella deposit; £13 per hour for internet; sauna not working - if it had been it would have cost £10 extra. Staff really couldn't be bothered even to help people with luggage, when it was a 300yd walk from your room to the entrance this was pretty poor.

Room tip: You may have to walk up to 300 / 400 yards from the main entrance to your room - this place is massive.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JC58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I think it's worth pointing out that many of the negative reviews of this hotel are quite old. The service was excellent, the room huge and well appointed, and the location is great for the main park and for the subway (which is very easy to use even if you don't speak Chinese). There's a Starbucks a block away and a McDonalds next to the hotel (although after dark you do rather have to run the gauntlet of offers of "massage".

The hotel is very secure, and the staff are very helpful. Breakfast is served on the ground floor with a view of the lovely peaceful gardens in the centre.

I really can't fault it and I look forward to staying again,

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littledutchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

best part of hotel was they have english speaking receptonist. everything in hotel i found perfect.cleanininess of hotel should be appriciable. its a big hotel with nice location. if you are staying in guangzhou i will definately reccomend this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riteshbaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for business so the pool area was a great bonus. Truly fantastic. The room was very comfortable. The only thing that I didn't like so much was the breakfast as they ran out of bread very often and by the time you would gather one breakfast item, they were out of something else. Allow time for breakfast if you are having it there. Around the corner from the hotel is one of the highlights of my trip, the han emperors tomb. Really worth the hour or so it takes to see. You can go right into the tomb which was only discovered in 1986.

Also on the street near the tomb is a great little griddle stand that makes great kind of tortilla things for 5 yuan or you could get a Starbucks coffee near there for 20 yuan!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JubesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Public Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The pool is truly fantastic. It has rock islands, palm islands and waterfalls. No chlorine smell as they use ionisation to clean the water. It is a walk-in pool. .And very few people use it.
Room was big, clean and well furnished with all one could need. Reception and concierge desk staff have excellent English and helped me with finding local addresses, writing down instructions for taxi drivers, explaining how to use public transport, calling the airlines for me. Lovely staff and very helpful.
Location: 2 mins walk from metro that is easy to use (signs and ticket machines also in English). Inside the metro hall you will find 7Eleven shop where you can buy drinking water and other small bits.
A good and reasonably priced restaurant called Macau Street is right next door to the hotel. Turn left from the hotel entrance, turn left when you reach the street and about 20 metres along is the restaurant. Manu has English subtitles and waiters speak English. Across the street is an entrance into a large park with lakes - a popular relaxation spot.
It is a popular hotel. I prepaid 3 days thinking I would extend my stay if the hotel was good. Well, they were fully booked and so I had to move to another hotel.

Room tip: The place is enormous and so if you have troubles walking or have small children ask for a room near the lift.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenaBratislava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DongFangHotel_GZ, Guest Relations Manager at Dongfang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dong Fang Hotel for your recent stay in Guangzhou, and share your stay experience with us.

We are honored to get your praise and support. We as always will provide the high quality service for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews