We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business loaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Science City
Ranked #38 of 3,458 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent business loaction”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the nicest facilities I have visited. Rooms are large, the staff is great, the food is exceptional. The breakfast presentation is truly international.

There is free transportation to and from the Guangzhou East train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DESIi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear DESli1,

Thank-you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City in the near future.

Best regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    178
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
12
5
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've lived in GZ for 3 years.

This review will focus on the facilities not the rooms.

Been to the Crowne Plaza many times but I have not actually stayed in a room there. Several friends have stayed and mentioned it's quality and comfort is typical of a Crowne Plaza.

The location is about 30-40 minutes from the core city center. Taxi's are readily available and cheap but the hotel does provided a free shuttle several times a day. There is bus service but it's confusing for foreigners to use. There may be a subway/Metro stop nearby but not until at least 2015 or later.

Like all of the other reviews the grounds, the buildings and the overall look of the place is high quality. The lobby cafe/bar is spacious and quite nice to relax in except if there are large crowds roaming about. Many times when there have been conferences etc. at the hotel the information/registration desks are in the lobby (this is typical of a Chinese hotel and evet) so it adds to the noise in the lobby. However, I have sat in the lobby sipping a coffee when the space is not populated and it's wonderful.

The Mad Scientists Bar is fun, small but a nice typical pub.

The outdoor/indoor pool is fantastic!! Beautiful grounds, plenty of shaded outdoor areas, food/beverages are served. SUPER family/kid friendly - highly recommend that pool for lazy afternoon escape from the GZ humidity. The locker/change rooms are rather small but clean. The other sports facilities looked fine but I did not check them out. The indoor pool area over looks the outdoor pool and it clean and a pleasure as well.


The ADD Pan Asian Restaurant is another story. It's a Marche type where patrons wonder
around to various food stations for ready-made and made to order food cooked in Western/Asian fusion/Asian style. Cost? 250RMB per adult. 145 RMB per child.

We ate at the ADD Pan Asian Restaurant
ADD Pan Asian Restaurant 3 years ago. Then, it was praise worthy - fresh abundant food,well displayed, literally everything was good food and although a tad pricy, worth the cost.

Well, my wife and daughetr and I went back there yesterday because we had such great memories of the ADD Pan Asian Restaurant. What a failure! The I loved Asian food. I immediately went to the soup station and had a custom soup made and brought it to my table. It smelled disgusting - ok, i thought be open minded. It tasted even more disgusting - not even edible. Tried the stemmed dim-sum meat balls - not edible, tried the lemon grass beef, chewy as shoe leather and tasted like it was out of a can. Even the wontons in the soup, a normal yummy stand by, not edible. Tried the soyo chicken, barely edible. Tried the vegetarian curry stew, there was big chuck of fatty chicken in it - it actually tasted pretty good.

Passed by other Asian food stations - most things were old looking and smelled quite awful.

Moved onto to the "western" food section. The Argentine style grill caught my attention. Got some beef but it was questionable from the get go. Not edible - fatty and shoe leather. Tried the pizza - gross - plastic cheese and the dough was under cooked.

Enough said. My wife and daughter had a similar experience, they hit and miss some foods. We had some yummies at the dessert section paid the huge bill and left VERY disappointed.

It's quite sad to see the ADD Pan Asian Restaurant lose it's quality because the staff are SUPER attentive and nice and the atmosphere is wonderful. We will not return to the ADD Pan Asian Restaurant at the Crowne Plaza - at least for lunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear ExpatDaze,

We truly appreciate your comments and feedback on your experience at our hotel. With your help we can continue to improve the quality of our hotel facilities and exceed our guests’ expectations. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool so much and that you were impressed by the service in our hotel. I am sorry that your experience in our ADD Pan Asian Restaurant was not as positive. We have passed on your feedback to our Chefs who will look to improve quality of our buffet items. We hope you can join us again and give our ADD Pan Asian Restaurant another chance because I know that we make your experience as good as you remembered it from your last visit three years ago.

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
809 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had a good deal of room with breakfast as the company also booked a venue for our training. Travelled from Hong Kong to Guangzhou East station via train and got on their free shuttle, a 30 minutes ride got me to the hotel, there was no bell helping me with the luggage, and although there were people occupying at the front desk counter, once the receptionists finished helping the guest in front they never looked up and see who's next, therefore a couple of Korean guests and myself stood in the lobby looking like idiots. There were people jumping queues and just jammed in the counter and the receptionists did actually served them instead of those were in line! Finally after 5 minutes or so someone noticed us and led us to the concierge counter for registration.
Had a room nearly at the far end of the building (initially got into the wrong elevator, took me 2 minutes to reach my room because i was at the wrong building!)
Room is of great size at 45 square meter, with a massive balcony, free and fast wi-fi service, a printer equipped in the room, a very comfy king size bed, although housekeeping needs to pay attention to the cleanliness as there were feathers (from the pillows) on the floor and the Ihome clock was not synced properly.
It's no where near the downtown area so plan ahead if you decided to leave the hotel premises. Even if you are willing to hire a taxi it is not easy at all because there's no standbys, plan ahead to catch their shuttle service although it runs only every 2 hours or so.
Great meeting room facilities and we had a successful one as well.
At check out the receptionist didn't check the bill before presenting to me, I was actually looking at another guests' bill and I was shocked because of the huge sum of balance in front of me! Be aware of your privacy!

Room Tip: a room close to the elevator please... such a long walk towards room 434!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Man_u_Canuck,

Thank-you for taking the time to write us such a thorough review. Your feedback is very useful and much appreciated. I am happy to hear that you had a productive meeting here and that we helped you travel for success! I'm sorry that your check-in and check-out experience was not as positive and I have passed on your feedback to our Front Officer Manager. We will be providing ongoing training for our Front Office staff which will include being more aware of our guests and being more careful when printing the guest bills at check-out.

We have also passed on your feedback about the pillow feathers in the room and the clock to our Director of Housekeeping who will speak with our housekeeping staff. We will continue to remind our staff to be more careful when cleaning the rooms and to pay attention to these details.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City and will use your feedback to improve our service for next time!

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A modern hotel amazingly designed to cater for the comfort of business travellers in the Guangzhou Science City and surrounding areas; but the facilities are well provided to meet the needs of family breaks as well if one chooses to stay away from the crowd of popular holiday resorts. However, isolated as it is from the centre of Guangzhou vibrant activities, there are also shopping malls and leisure facilities nearby for evening entertainment.

The hotel is efficiently managed for its impressive reception, catering and room services. Guest rooms are spaceous, well-appointed and clean. Food services of restaurant are very respectable. The Chinese cuisine is expectedly of a high standard, and the buffet breakfast provides for a good choice of authentic Chinese and Western menu served by attentive staff.

The only inconvenience for the stay in this hotel is that the floor layout is such that unless you are fortunate enough to have a room close to the lifts, you have to be prepared for a longer than usual walk in between. That apart, this is a commendable hotel for business travels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cletus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Cletus L,

Thank-you for your kind review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and especially liked our in-house restaurants. It is good to hear that you also had the opportunity to enjoy some of the activities around the hotel. If you should ever need any suggestions of what to see in the area, our concierge staff are always happy to help. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City very soon!

Best regards,

Lauren Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Although I stayed for one night as I was on a business trip, I found it descent for the price asked and relaxing, as it is far away from the center.

It is located in an upcoming region, tech side of the city, with beautiful gardens and nice surroundings. Concierge was helpful, room service accurate (a bit rare for China as always something is missing from your order) and the breakfast was missing a little bit of variety and hand made tastes.

Internet was pretty fast in rooms and lobby. I had a small issue with my Mac to connect but front desk was really helpful. Restaurants, pool and spa, I didn't have time to explore. May be in my next visit, as I would gladly choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Konstantinosss,

Thank-you for your feedback! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City and found the surrounding area relaxing. To expand the variety of food we serve at the buffet for breakfast, we have spoken to the executive chef of the ADD restaurant who will work with his team to expand the menu. If you have any specific suggestions for this please feel free to let us know. We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Guangzhou and if you send us an e-mail at gro@crowneplazagzsc.com before your arrival we would be happy to book you an appointment at our spa or make a reservation at one of our restaurants. We are excited to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Like others mention, the location makes this hard to give 5 stars to. It was chosen by my business partners in Guangzhou, and they didn't think about how difficult it is to access facilities. the hotel itself is nice, staff were efficient if a little impersonal and the food was fine if not very impressive. The hotel was nice, but the location would deter me from staying there next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grantmethis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Grantmethis,

Thank-you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the cuisine we offer. Your feedback about our staff being a little impersonal is appreciated and we will focus on helping our staff be more conscious of this area. We understand, a smile can go a long way. If you decide to visit our hotel again, we have a complimentary shuttle bus that can take you directly downtown and back again. The shuttle bus schedules are availible at the front desk and concierge. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is lovel. Great resturant and bar area with free use of Apple Macs its just in totally the wrong place but i think science city was meant for good things but all the office buildings are empty and there really is nothing to do in the town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMC2K13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpgzsc, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Science City, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear PMC2K13,

Thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City and taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and your stay here was comfortable. Although Science City is a growing area, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service which takes you directly to the downtown area. Next time, our concierge would be happy to give you some advice on things to do near the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
New Baiyun Airport
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
#30 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
#71 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
35 reviews
Hotel Nikko Guangzhou
#31 of 3,458 in Guangzhou
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Science City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Science City

Property: Crowne Plaza Science City
Address: No.28 Ningcai Road, Luogang District, Guangzhou 510663, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#35 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#48 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Science City 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Science City offers 5-star eco-friendly accommodation with modern amenities, including 2 swimming pools and outdoor hot tubs. It features a free 2-way transfer services between the hotel and the city centre every day. Free Wi-Fi and free books are provided. Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Scenice City is a 5-minute drive from Luogang Wanda Plaza, a 25-minute drive from Pazhou Complex and a 25-minute drive from The Tianhe Central Business District. Baiyun International Airport is 45-minute drive away. Featuring private balconies, elegant rooms at the Crowne Plaza Guangzhou come with a DVD player and a flat-screen satellite TV. The en suite bathroom has a rainshower and bathtub. In some guestrooms and club floor, luxurious amenities by Borghese are provided in the bathroom. Guests have the option of swimming in the outdoor or indoor pool while a well-equipped fitness centre ensures total body workouts. Other recreational facilities include a sauna and spa pools. Choose from 3 restaurants within the hotel that serve everything from Cantonese dishes, international cuisine, steaks and fresh seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Science City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Science City Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing