We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Guangzhou
Ranked #13 of 3,480 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The basic rooms are big with occasional free ungrade to deluxe! Room service is excellent , espescially the lasagne, I highly recommend it. The italian restaurant is also well worth the price. It offers a pasta buffet at lunch so you could try a variety of different pasta.

The staff is particularly helpful and friendly. They can all speak English with a smile always on their face.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adachungy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Guangzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

One of the nicer Westins I have stayed in. The decor is modern, the bathroom is gorgeous, rooms are spacious and fresh.

Gym is nice. The only bad thing is there is not much within walking distance, but I guess that is more Guangzhou's fault than Westins.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Except from the 'heavenly bed', the hotel Q-Bar and the generous size of the room, other things at this '5-Star' hotel simply did not live up to my expectation from a 5 star hotel.

The manager at the lobby and the maid at the club floor were not able to show me to the check in desk on the club floor. Complimentary wines at the club lounge ran out and staff did not bother to replenish until asked. The workmanship of the bathroom was poor. Water leaked from the shower and the fittings and furnishing were poorly put together.

And I did not like the 'stainless steel frame everywhere' bathroom design.
Although the room was reasonably large at 50 square meter, the design did not take advantage of this and everything was just average business hotel standard. Plus a TV that was fixed and could not be oriented for viewing from the sofa area.

I have stayed at some other Westin hotels and I must say this one did not live up to the standard I had expected.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

While checking in, I was greeted with a nice welcome drink of lemon grass and ginger, which was greatly refreshing on a hot day. It has been a while since I was offered something like that at a Westin. The room is very spacious with a big desk and sitting area. There were a few sloppy finishes in the bathroom but generally it was very clean and well-designed. The price is quite good by international standards but keep in mind other 5-star hotels in Guangzhou tend to cost about 20% less than the Westin, so it's not exactly value-for-money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkg2009hkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

I have been a loyal Starwood fan for the last decade, and have stayed in about 20-30 different Starwood properties all over Asia. I have to say this is one of the best Starwood hotels in China, esp for business travelers. All the things you would expect from a Westin and the staff are actually not as surly as the typical Chinese hotel staff! Guangzhou can be an unpleasant city sometimes and the Westin is the ultimate refuge. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leavesofgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

My husband and I went to China in late April for our vacation. We were going to visited 3 provinces: GuangZhou, Beijing, and ShenYang. GuangZhou was our first stop, and we stayed at The Westin. When we arrived Guangzhou train station, the hotel offered free shuttle from train station to the hotel. During the check-in, I was surprised the staff brought us some sweet tea automatically, and the tea tasted great. Usually, we don't receive these kinds of service in United States. The room has modern design and it looks great, but the only thing that is not really good is the water will leak to the toilet area when taking a bath. However, when taking a shower, by turning the shower head to face the wall instead of the door side, the situation improved a lot. The bed was very comfortable. At our checkout, the shuttle bus had left and the next schedule will be one and haft hour later. The hotel even requested the shuttle to make an extra trip to pickup us. 5 stars services, and will stay again next time when I visited Guangzhou.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I travel to guangzhou very often and have stayed always here since it first opened. the rooms are very nice and the service good, they really make an effort to satisfy all your requirements. i would only suggest an improvement to the room service menu, it's a bit limited.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shera1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#17 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#15 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
1,540 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#11 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
2,554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guangzhou

Address: No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#62 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $138 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Shopping Malls & Restaurants Our hotel is adjacent to the CITIC Plaza, which is home to Fortune 500 companies, brand shops and many popular restaurants; a 5-minute walk distance from many other shopping/commercial malls and boutiques, such as Tai Koo Hui, Teemall, Grandview and Onelink.Transportation5 minute walking distance to the Guangzhou East Train Station-the southern gateway to Hong Kong; 45-minute travel from the International Baiyun Airport; modern subway system connects the hotel to all parts of the city, two direct subway lines to the airport. Room - Heavenly Spa, Heavenly Bath & ShowerOur Westin rooms which are 50sqm in size offer you the ultimate in comfort and technology including Westin's signature Heavenly Bed(R), invigorating shower and bath, wireless high speed internet access, flat screen television and IP Phones with cordless handset. Or choose our new WestinWORKOUT(R) Room to maintain your wellness routine and fitness regime in the privacy of your room. Bathrooms feature separate bathtubs and showers and makeup/shaving mirrors.Eat and drink well at Hotel - Five restaurants and two barsOur five restaurants and bars include an all-day dining venue, a Chinese restaurant offering the finest Cantonese specialties, a lobby lounge, a Latin American restaurant with live entertainment and a Cuban Cigar Lounge, and an upscale rooftop Italian restaurant and lounge boasting stunning city views. Spa and fitnessHeavenly Spa is a sophisticated urban sanctuary featuring a series of therapies and treatments, with the sole purpose of restoring your body's harmony and balance while shedding fatigue and stress.GeneralIn addition to a full-service spa, The Westin Guangzhou features an indoor pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, hot & cold plunge pool, and 24-hrs fitness facility. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 5 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Business amenities at this 5-star property consist of a business center, a technology helpdesk, and limo/town car service. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms, small meeting rooms, and a ballroom. This luxury hotel also offers executive floors, and a concierge desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Westin Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing