We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - First time in China”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Guangzhou
Ranked #10 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I recently visited Guangzhou on my first business trip to China, and spent 3 very enjoyable nights at The Westin. I'd certainly recommend it highly for anybody reading this who has never been in China before and may be worried or concerned about the prospective quality of accommodation before they go.
The hotel is well placed by the CBD, and overlooks the big football stadium in the centre of the city, with the Canton Tower away in the distance. Room was large, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was excellent with a good spacious shower and bath if you wanted it. I used the indoor pool twice in the mornings. Nice way to start the day and get the blood flowing! I didn't use any of the other leisure facilities such as the gym or spa, but would assume they'd be of the same quality as the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was wide ranging and good. I also had a lunch at the Italian restaurant on the top floor...although i wouldn't normally want to eat or recommend Italian while in China the food and service were fantastic and with an amazing view of the city it's worth a visit

Room Tip: I was on floor 31 - great views of the city from that height
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed at the Westin Guangzhou for business and we had a conference there. I thought the service was good, the rooms where big and clean with two double beds and a view of the city.

They had a few restaurants in the hotel, I thought the buffet breakfast and lunch was medioca and nothing special.

There was always many staff in the lobby area ready to help and the location was also very good, i would recommend this hotel for business trips. If you want luxury or romance then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wailingho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

As per always running from Macau to Guangzhou so always I would like to pick everytime different hotel to try the service.

As for Westin, a Starwood brand, this is the first time to try it up.

1. Location: Really nice location, LinHe West Station a 5 minutes walk through and you will see the tall Westin Building.

2. Staff is really nice and helpful for checking in with excellent smile and good attitude.

3. Requested a high floor and king bed as always a non-deep sleeper. Although there was no good scene at my side, but it is Okay for us. But outer windows are not clean, should need some annum clean.

4. Giving thumbs up for Heavenly Bed. I travelled around in different hotels, always I could not found out a good bed for me to take a good sleep. But this time, I could tell that I slepp very good, really good. Best Heavenly Bed, the main point for Westin.

5. Going through to 40th floor for a dinner with SPG Discount 30%. Food is nice. But I think the light can be improved a bit as we both suddenly feel very tired and bit headache while eating. Hope the management team could take care this issue.

6. Express Service is great. Response fast. But wondering why the room did not provide shaver for default, but still I could get the shaver from express service.

Overall I would still rate 5 for the hotel. Hope things could be improved =)

Room Tip: You can do the 1USD fund raising in Westin to help the people who needs to help =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The service here was excellent. We originally booked for 7 nights. We were placed to a higher floor with a stunning view of the Canton Tower. The room was large and clean. However, relatives invited us to stay with them and we could not turn down their hospitality. So, we checked out earlier. Surprisingly, there was no penalty/extra charge. (We should have stayed in this hotel longer. I am still very regret with the moved.)

Room Tip: You may ask the front desk if a room with the good view (higher floor) is available. The front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us. We truly appreciate your comments and compliments which will give us the inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that you have experienced during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is our home away from home: an SPG hotel. We booked this because it was cheaper than the other 3 SPG hotels and the same distance from downtown with an exec lounge. The front desk was amazingly kind to us, our rooms were ready with our SPG numbers filled out and they upgraded us due to our platinum status without asking. Quite an amazing room really: a huge suite with great view, quiet and cozy, tub + showers. Couldn't be better.

The exec lounge had better than average food items, hot entrees + open bar with plenty of choices and a great view surrounded with cozy chairs and tables. I noticed there are fewer folks in the SPG lounges than the Marriott which gives it a more private and special mood, quite lovely really.

I can't imagine a thing I would change and the price was very good. You won't miss staying here!!! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twodoggzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent stay, and we appreciate you taking time to post such positive comments - it's always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. At The Westin Guangzhou we are committed to service excellence and to ensure we provide a renewing experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

As an international 5 star hotel and resort, the Westin in Guangzhou was lacking in some respects. Wifi was not free (this was resolved by signing up as an SPG member), the rooms somewhat less luxurious than other Westins I have visited, and the pillows had yellow sweat stains underneath the pillow covers. There are not many eateries around the hotel within a walkable distance, and it was difficult to flag down a taxi from the hotel (we often ended up walking to another street further down to try to find one ourselves).

That being said, the staff were friendly and courteous, always made an effort to answer our questions, and the manager kindly upgraded our room for the last couple of nights of our stay. The hotel helped us book our train tickets to Hong Kong and offered free shuttle bus service to the train station (5 minutes away).

Not a bad hotel, but there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Westin Guangzhou and additionally we thank you for your constructive comments, which are highly appreciated. We apologize that your stay experience was not up to expectation as we take it seriously. We shall investigate your comments and action accordingly. The highlighted service areas mentioned will lead our exceptional satisfaction to next level. We look forward to welcoming you again for a renewing experience at The Westin Guangzhou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The staff was friendly and accommodating. Location of the hotel is close to metro. The rooms are well kept and with super comfy beds. Guangzhou east railway is within 15min walk. Plenty of shopping close by.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angieeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent stay at The Westin Guangzhou. We are delighted to read that you have been satisfied with the quality of our hotel and service. Your comments will give us the inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#18 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
616 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
641 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#4 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#15 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guangzhou

Address: No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#10 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#58 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $137 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Shopping Malls & Restaurants Our hotel is adjacent to the CITIC Plaza, which is home to Fortune 500 companies, brand shops and many popular restaurants; a 5-minute walk distance from many other shopping/commercial malls and boutiques, such as Tai Koo Hui, Teemall, Grandview and Onelink.Transportation5 minute walking distance to the Guangzhou East Train Station-the southern gateway to Hong Kong; 45-minute travel from the International Baiyun Airport; modern subway system connects the hotel to all parts of the city, two direct subway lines to the airport. Room - Heavenly Spa, Heavenly Bath & ShowerOur Westin rooms which are 50sqm in size offer you the ultimate in comfort and technology including Westin's signature Heavenly Bed(R), invigorating shower and bath, wireless high speed internet access, flat screen television and IP Phones with cordless handset. Or choose our new WestinWORKOUT(R) Room to maintain your wellness routine and fitness regime in the privacy of your room. Bathrooms feature separate bathtubs and showers and makeup/shaving mirrors.Eat and drink well at Hotel - Five restaurants and two barsOur five restaurants and bars include an all-day dining venue, a Chinese restaurant offering the finest Cantonese specialties, a lobby lounge, a Latin American restaurant with live entertainment and a Cuban Cigar Lounge, and an upscale rooftop Italian restaurant and lounge boasting stunning city views. Spa and fitnessHeavenly Spa is a sophisticated urban sanctuary featuring a series of therapies and treatments, with the sole purpose of restoring your body's harmony and balance while shedding fatigue and stress.GeneralIn addition to a full-service spa, The Westin Guangzhou features an indoor pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, hot & cold plunge pool, and 24-hrs fitness facility. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 5 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Business amenities at this 5-star property consist of a business center, a technology helpdesk, and limo/town car service. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms, small meeting rooms, and a ballroom. This luxury hotel also offers executive floors, and a concierge desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Westin Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing