We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Guangzhou
Ranked #11 of 3,503 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We only stayed here 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer! We were upgraded to an executive suite and so we had a lovely large room looking towards the Canton Tower. The rooom had everything we could have wanted including a massage chair! We were able to use the executive lounge on the 39th floor which had superb views. We had breakfast up there and there was plenty of choice: continental, chinese english etc. In the main dining area there is even more choice! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Lots of hotels offer free wifi in all rooms and it was a pity that this is not so here. Even so we would recommend it as a great place ot stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyMasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us. We are delighted to read that you have been satisfied with the quality of our hotel and service. At The Westin Guangzhou we are committed to service excellence and to ensure we provide a renewing experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Westin is an amazing shift from the pollution and noise of Guangzhou. Unlike other luxury hotels in Guangzhou, its not fake opulent but elegant and tasteful. I've stayed here many times and after a 2 year break they welcomed me back personally. The location is perfect, close to the HK train station.

Was a delight and can't recommend a hotel more in China.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOP_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Westin Guangzhou! We truly appreciate and value you as our repeat guest, and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back. We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our services. Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The westinn Guangzhou is just 5 mins far from the main Guangzhou east station so it perfect for stay to reach it. The metro station is just 3 mins far away so you can reach very easily the canton fair centre! When I arrived the girl at the concierge proposed to me an excellent offer upgrading my room to a big one, with Internet included and the possibility to use the lounge! Room was clean, big, with very comfortable bed, big bathroom! The gym and spa were excellent! And also the swimming pool!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatteoBelletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us. We are delighted to read that you have been satisfied with the quality of our hotel and service. At The Westin Guangzhou we are committed to service excellence and to ensure we provide a renewing experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On a recent trip to Guangzhou, I found this hotel to be ideal :
1. Great location : a short walk away from Guangzhou East station, where the fast trains from Hong Kong arrive and depart (and they organise a free bus pick up and drop off service to the station).
2. Very close to 2 metro stations : one is just opposite the road, the other is a five minute walk.
3. Helpful staff : many of whom speak English. Always willing to help out with advice, maps, transaltions etc. They really make the difference.
4. Spacious rooms : modern and spotlessly clean.
5. Great breakfast

The only downside is that there is no free wi-fi.

Some super local restaurants near the hotel : well worth trying out rather than eating in. Guangzhou Jiujia, Bing Sheng etc. The hotel will guide you on how to get to them.

Also, its well worth going into the older parts of the city, even if just for a couple of hours. Metro Line 1 from the nearby Guangzhou East station takes you directly into the heart of town. Couple of really interesting pedestrianised shopping areas : full of energy and quite different from the Tianhe area that the hotel is located at.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the sports stadium have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaderB0mbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at Westin Guangzhou! We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with the overall hotel facilities of the hotel.

The Westin Guangzhou is committed to service excellence and to ensure we provide a renewing experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for 5 days and felt right at home, as the room was spacious and the service top notch. They offered me the purchase of a club package that included internet, free computer printing (which I needed) and drinks and "nibbles" in the evening. The "nibbles" were enough for dinner a couple of evenings and I ended up using the club for several meetings during the day. As in many large cities in China, there are shopping and restaurants around every corner and this location was no exception. The hotel's Cantonese restaurant was good for a business lunch. Lastly, they have a full service business center.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. The Westin Guangzhou is committed to service excellence and to ensure we provide a renewing experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Westin is synonymous of quality. You can agree that is not the best, but for sure you will find great service, accommodations and location. In China you cannot go wrong when choosing a Westin and this one is excellent.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful experience during your recent stay at The Westin Guangzhou! We are delighted to learn that you had a enjoyable stay with us and were impressed with our rooms, facilities, and location. Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for a night, experienced a little hiccup at check-in but overall it was a pleasant stay. The lobby of the hotel is a typical chinese five stars hotel, with a great big lobby clean and bling. The incident at check in was that I went straight to the SPG counter and were served by their brand new staff – Jane, she wasn’t quite confident about her role and lack of knowledge about the hotel. I had two parcels hold at the concierge I told her about three times that I wished to have them deliver to me room and she showed her nervousness by pointing to the computer screen as she read the email. I asked her where is the executive lounge for SPG members and surprised surprised she indicated that she had no idea where the lounge is. I am sure this is a common question among platinum members or suite guests.
I stayed at 3808 the renewal suite. this suite has a marvelous view overlooking the stadium, with this massage chair can definitely relief my tiredness from all the traveling
When I walked into my room I saw this little chap plugged in, what a caring hotel they know that I need a charger for my phone and it was all prepared for me, don’t even need to give their room service a call. Made my day
They provided bath salt and a loather for bath I think this is the second hotel which provide bath salt. would definitely come back to this hotel, location is convenient only 5 mins away from the metro station. If you need to travel from hong kong or else where in china the main train station is only 5 mins away too and hotel does provide a shuttle to the station, contact the concierge for arrangement.

more photos on http://pattyluvtravel.wordpress.com

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattyluvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGuangzhou, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused at check in. Your comments have been shared among our operation team and please rest assured that the corrective action had been taken in order to ensure a better service to be provided in the future. The Westin Guangzhou is committed to service excellence and to ensure we provide a renewing experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Guangzhou in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#17 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
808 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#7 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
596 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
610 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
2,561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#15 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guangzhou

Address: No.6 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510620, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#15 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#48 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $142 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to Shopping Malls & Restaurants Our hotel is adjacent to the CITIC Plaza, which is home to Fortune 500 companies, brand shops and many popular restaurants; a 5-minute walk distance from many other shopping/commercial malls and boutiques, such as Tai Koo Hui, Teemall, Grandview and Onelink.Transportation5 minute walking distance to the Guangzhou East Train Station-the southern gateway to Hong Kong; 45-minute travel from the International Baiyun Airport; modern subway system connects the hotel to all parts of the city, two direct subway lines to the airport. Room - Heavenly Spa, Heavenly Bath & ShowerOur Westin rooms which are 50sqm in size offer you the ultimate in comfort and technology including Westin's signature Heavenly Bed(R), invigorating shower and bath, wireless high speed internet access, flat screen television and IP Phones with cordless handset. Or choose our new WestinWORKOUT(R) Room to maintain your wellness routine and fitness regime in the privacy of your room. Bathrooms feature separate bathtubs and showers and makeup/shaving mirrors.Eat and drink well at Hotel - Five restaurants and two barsOur five restaurants and bars include an all-day dining venue, a Chinese restaurant offering the finest Cantonese specialties, a lobby lounge, a Latin American restaurant with live entertainment and a Cuban Cigar Lounge, and an upscale rooftop Italian restaurant and lounge boasting stunning city views. Spa and fitnessHeavenly Spa is a sophisticated urban sanctuary featuring a series of therapies and treatments, with the sole purpose of restoring your body's harmony and balance while shedding fatigue and stress.GeneralIn addition to a full-service spa, The Westin Guangzhou features an indoor pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, hot & cold plunge pool, and 24-hrs fitness facility. Dining is available at one of the hotel's 5 restaurants. A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Business amenities at this 5-star property consist of a business center, a technology helpdesk, and limo/town car service. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms, small meeting rooms, and a ballroom. This luxury hotel also offers executive floors, and a concierge desk. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Westin Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing