We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff gives hotel ZERO points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel
Ranked #1,308 of 3,517 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed December 29, 2012

An average check-in process, but what would never bring me back is the rude staff. Housekeepings would not ring the bell 1 once before entering the room, they would ring it continuously to the point of irritation .
It was 5 degrees C and their heaters would not work, asked them to provide a heater which they did, but it did not work! When I asked them to change it housekeeping was very rude even the housekeeping manager ..
Advice westerners to stay away

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 115 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is hidden in a quiet residential area with Citic Tower and Guangzhou-East railstation in walking distance. Lobby is not grand at all but ok. Reception desk staff acts fast and helpful. Food quality was ok when comparing to the fast food restaurant. I was staying in the suite so the room was really spectacular with 2 huge LCD TVs.

APPRECIATION
1) Staff are working fast & helpful
2) Locate in the quiet residential area but easily accesible to the business area
3) LAN speed is pretty fast
4) Wide variety of TV channel options (especially for chinese residence)

DISAPPOINTMENT
1) Shower cubicle is very small
2) Air con is freezing and I ought to switch it off at night
3) Food quality was comparable to cheap fast food
4) Decor is a bit wear off

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricochau-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

i cannot sleep in such tough bed. i am not a princess on pea. the bed it too tough to sleep, even though i have put a quilted cover on the bed.
and the breakfast is very simple and awful.
the first day i almost couldn't sleep....
and the waiter in the hotel is not very kind. i want a double side fried egg. they give a single side one. and give me a face that he don't care whether what you need is.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Located in the Tian He district, a block away from the Westin and 5 min walk from the Linhexi metro stop. Great central location.

Rooms are standard and clean however the beds are quite hard. Not an issue for us but for some travelers used to a softer bed getting a good night's sleep may prove difficult. Street noise at night is minimal and the air con works well. Bathrooms are more spacious than expected and good water pressure in the shower. Glass walls for the bathroom and a shared sliding glass door (partially frosted) for the shower and toilet may be too intimate for some.

Hotel breakfast is in the Chinese fashion, i.e., fried noodles, egg rolls, hard-boiled eggs, bacon, congeee, assorted pickles; fresh fruit. There is also coffee, tea and a limited selection of juice (from concentrate). If you are used to an east-Asian breakfast it is sufficient albeit limited. If not McD's, Starbucks and the Westin are all a stone's throw away.

Free and speedy wi-fi all over the hotel.

Hotel staff are friendly but be able to speak some Mandarin as English skills are limited for all except a handful of front desk staff.

Overall for RMB 588 / night inclusive of wi-fi and breakfast in this location you really can't do any better unless you're on an expense account staying a block away at the Westin.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_mosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had an ok experience. Here are my pros and cons:

Pros
-Very good location, walking distance to the train station, shopping and restaurants.
-Very affordable
-Room was clean

Cons
-Service was not great. Everyone seemed flustered at the desk when I checked in and no one offered to help me with my luggage (a first in China). I tried to call down a request an iron and my request was not fulfilled. I finally had to walk down to the desk and ask in person for an iron.
-No iron in room
-Beds were rock hard (I know being a westerner that I'm likely spoiled with soft beds)

Overall I would probably stay here again, as it is just for business. If it were for pleasure, I would likely stay at a higher rated hotel with better dining options. I do hear the spa in the hotel is good, although I did not have an opportunity to try it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The beds are HARD as rock and the bath room is definitely not suitable for 2 person on a business trip. All of the staffs are rude even when we can communicate in mandarin. The central heater is never switched on and the service staff will only come into your room to do useless adjustments to the heater switches. When reported to the reception, their response was 'our front desk is cold' (thats too bad for the visitors).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My wife and I got what I believe was called a "superior" room, one step above the starting level. We booked online, getting a room with a twin bed, and discovered our room had two twins. No problems.

The hotel has staff that speaks English. This is always good to know for us foreigners.

If I shared a room with a business partner, I would have been in for a shock. The bathroom has no door. It has a frosted glass wall separating it from the bedroom area. There was a sliding glass door that blocked either the toilet or the shower. If one of average height walked in to the bathroom while someone was in there, one could see a little too much, as only 2/3rds or less of the sliding door was frosted. This was unsettling and inconvenient. There was also a wall-length mirror in the bathroom. This, in combination with the two beds in the room, sent a mixed message: Was it meant for friends and business partners, or for lovers? Nevertheless, the sliding glass door was effective at sealing in unpleasant noises.

As far as I can tell, frosted glass is a trend in Chinese bathrooms, though I am unsure if they are a trend in the West. I think many American travelers would be more comfortable with a traditional bathroom without the glass and with a wooden door to enclose it.

The bed was comfortable, our night's rest was peaceful and quiet. The price was fair. The location was convenient, located near the East Train Station and a shopping district, not to mention the US Consulate. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catch153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
7.5 mi away
Landmark International Hotel
Landmark International Hotel
#187 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
23 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Guangzhou
Hotel Nikko Guangzhou
#34 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
75 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou - Science City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Furtune Hotel
Furtune Hotel
#177 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
160 reviews
21.1 mi away
New Century Hotel
New Century Hotel
#243 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
259 reviews
11.8 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,517 in Guangzhou
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel

Address: No.1 Lanyue Road, Luogang District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: $51 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark International (Science City) Hotel, a subsidiary of Guangdong CTS Landmark Hotel Holding Ltd., is located in the heart of the high technological develop zone-Guangzhou Science City of Luogang District. It is a multifunctional and commercial boutique hotel of accommodation, conference, business, food and beverage, entertainment as well as leisure.Enjoying the prime location, the hotel boasts the transportation conveniences: It takes only 10 minutes drive away from Pazhou International Exhibition Complex, 20 minutes from Eastern Railway Station and Baiyun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Landmark International Hotel Science City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark International Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing