We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of China Mayors Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
China Mayors Hotel
Ranked #79 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Good value, it is near the westin and hyatt, but not as expensive.
It is mostly for locals, not many international travelers.
The service is VERY good, room service is fast, breakfast is pretty decent.
There is no health-club, even though they say they do! They have a 'spa' which is quite fishy and I don't recommend you to try it. They'll try to hook you up with a girl for 'body-to-body massage'.
It is near the train station, but far from Pazhou Complex. One crazy rainy afternoon, we made 1.5 hrs from Pazhou to the hotel in the hotel bus. However, for the price, I think it's a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eltintero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    69
    26
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
3
5
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

The hotel is on the smaller side. I wish it had more rooms because it usually gets booked up quickly during show season. It's located right across the stadium in tien he. The location is great. It's 2 blocks away from Citic Plaza, 4 blocks from the Westin, and less than a 5 minute cab ride (15 minutes walking) from the East Train Station.
Pros:
1. Location
2. Helpful staff
3. Good water pressure
4. Clean room
5. Fast internet

Cons:
1. Only one bus to and from Pazhou
2. Not a lot of rooms

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueToForm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruising on a sailboat in FL Keys
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I normally stay at major chain hotels because I prefer the predictability of a known offering. Since I was not at all familiar with Guangzhou, I elected to stay near the Guangzhou east train station as we would be leaving from that station for Hong Kong.

I booked the hotel online through Agoda and when I presented myself at the front desk all was in order. For ~$100 USD I booked a deluxe suite which was very comfortable and most importantly well lit. The bathroom was very good, with granite vanities and good plumbing fixtures. The bed was queen sized and although somewhat firm, proved to be very comfortable. I only had one meal in the Western dining room on the ground floor, and found the prices to be very reasonable and the quality to be excellent. Dinner for 2 including a couple of beers was around 220 rmb with the 15% service charge included.

The only downside of the hotel, was the bandit of a concierge who tried unsuccessfully to shake me down for a few extra rmb after I had booked a car for the day at a fixed price. At the end of the day, the incident was typical of China, where a westerner learns very quickly to smile a lot and keep one hand on his wallet.

There was one oddity about the hotel in that I could not check out of the room until it was completely vacated. I had gone to the front desk to check out and sent my wife upstairs to wait for the bellman, but the front desk clerk could not check me out unless I could present the room key and the floor matron could check the vacated room. Now that I know about the policy, I can work with it the next time.

With the exception of the Concierge, the staff were pleasant. Most spoke at least a passable level of English.

The hotel is well located. It is just around the corner from the excellent Guangzhou subway station and there is a Bank of China right next door. In addition to the hotel restaurants there are many excellent alternatives within walking distance.

The hotel is a solid 4 star property and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocFraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

other reviews are very accurate. Here is what I can add: the only complaint I have with the hotel is a lack of a health club. They mentioned a club down the street, but it didnt open up until later on in the morning which is not very convenient if you like to get up in the morning and work out.
There really isnt a "lobby bar" to speak of, but the one reviewer mentioned a pub down the street which I remember passing but did not go in.
Several restaurants nearby, especially in the shopping mall which is only a short walk away. The bed IS extremely hard..the good news is that its only a LITTLE short.
Funny comment on the mini bar..good price..but you only get one of each of the selections.

  • Liked — good business support
  • Disliked — really hard bed
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Texas_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Jianguo Hotel
#26 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
634 reviews
Aloft Guangzhou Tianhe
#39 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
89 reviews
Pazhou Exhibition Hall
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#99 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Guangzhou
#12 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
1,325 reviews
Good International Hotel
#60 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
144 reviews
Furtune Hotel
#187 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Mayors Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Mayors Hotel

Property: China Mayors Hotel
Address: No.189 Tianhe North Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510075, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#62 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — China Mayors Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your China Mayors Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Mayors Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing