We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good water park....but with some drawbacks”

Chimelong Water Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$180.83*
and up
Chimelong Water Park with Guide and Transport
Ranked #25 of 704 things to do in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From 2006 opening date, Chimelong Water Park joy to the world to complete a great change - from the 1 era of hardware to the theme of the times to meet the theme of experience as the center of the 3 era. From the 2012 opening of the New Asia indoor scene exploration project "Forest Temple" to the world's top the world's first "Star battle", the long long joy in the world to produce a satisfactory answer to the world theme amusement market.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good water park....but with some drawbacks”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

W least visited 2 years ago. Since the. The kids have got bigger- which is where it gets complicated. All the rides in the waterpark used to be all dependent on your height. The thresholds are 110 or 130 or 140 cm. now weight limits have been introduced as well and there are scales at the entrance to many rides. So you may be tall enough , but not heavy enough- or even worse- be turned away for being too heavy. On some of the kids rides, my husband was unable to accompany the kids as he weighed over 75kgs (a ridiculously low weight limit for the average 6ft bloke). Likewise if you are over 190cm you will be limited on how many rides you can go on and if you are over 86 kgs other rides will not be available to you. Good news is if you are over 140cm, less than 190cm and weigh between 45 and 75 kgs you can pretty much go on everything. So with a skinny 5 year old, average 9 year old and light 11 yr old it was quite complicated working out who could go on what! By 2pm queues on all rides were very long. If you are staying at the Chimelong Hotel you get one fast pass entrance onto most of the big attractions. Seek out these entrances! You could save yourself loads of time.
Having said this, the kids did enjoy themselves. This used to be one of our favourite waterparks, but has now made itself a bit too complicated! It is well maintained and staffed. Life guards and first aiders are highly visible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DBfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    110
    31
    3
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Water Fun”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived im guangzhou on a sunday afternoon and we decided to go to water park on the evening which is we think there would be less people and we can save time for waiting to try the rides. The evening time starts at 5:30-10:00 pm and the cost is 150 rmb. I was surprise because theres still a lot of people but i think it would be more if its in the morning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank QTkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iran
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we were there for a while. it is so big with nice plays and good slides. water and every thing is clean. in october it is a little cold, but we use them without any fear.
one of the slides that located at the end of the park, is very scary. you have free fall for 5 second ( I think) on that and rise up your adrenalin strongly. it was amazing.
so don't lose that.
the wave pool was great. (specially when you drink some beer by hidden but don't drink beer when you want to use sliders). some shows plays at the wave pool to entertain you.
there is shop that satisfy your needs and the cafe.
every things is perfect.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mehdi4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crowded, some great rides, some hidden charges”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was a 250 yuan entry for July-August (had read 198 on wikitravel), which was a bummer, and it was clearly crowded already at 11am. We walked around to check out rides and wanted to start slow at the lazy river (and saw long waiting lines of 30 min+ on several rides); however, the lazy river requires you to rent inner tubes (as well as for another ride nearby) and we began to think that was required for all rides (rental was not cheap either--we thought it might be just a deposit--but it was 60 yuan plus 30 yuan deposit). Now we were really feeling ripped off. After waiting 30 minutes in line for a mediocre ride, we walked to the other side of the park and found "extreme river", which did not charge for rentals and altered our opinion 180 degrees (or at least 160). After that we found numerous rides that did not require additional fees, and we only went to rides with 20 minutes or less posted as their waiting times (they seemed to overestimate waiting times somewhat). Also, there's a "wave pool" here, which I thought was a wave machine for boogey boarding...not the case, it's just a pool that makes little waves one after the other, which are more annoying than anything. To summarize: fun, but very overcrowded and far too expensive...also, if you're thinking of having a beer or two at the waterpark, think again. We only found one booth that even sold beer, and it seemed like the tap was collecting dust. The waterpark in Kuta, Bali, was a much better value and far less crowded.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“have to be patient but it's fun”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

a very interesting place to go, lots of activities in the park, but you have to be patient especially during the summer time, very crowded, but the staffs there are very friendly and helpful.
It's worth visiting at least for one time, but i don't think i will go back because i was on a business trip

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimelong Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Chimelong Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing