We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow service, food not fresh”

GuangZhou DaYu Japanese Restaurant (YueXiu)
Ranked #136 of 7,181 Restaurants in Guangzhou
Price range: $21 - $24
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“slow service, food not fresh”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

very slow service. when u ordered the food from them, it will take more than 20mins to bring you food. also, they will miss your order often! also, the seafood is not fresh!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“there are better choices for japanese”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My experience was in Tairyo in Tianhe, we had dinner and we chose all you can eat with 168RMB each. Well...not much to eat, as they were fast prepared in order to serve everybody. We love Japanese food, but this was not what we hoped for. Average.

Helpful?
Thank Amiekork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth the money!”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Being from Vancouver, I know my Japanese food. I was skeptical about the "all you can eat" menu because usually that translates into sub-par food. I was pleasantly surprised though. The food was delicious and for the equivalent of $25 you can eat and drink (sake was cheap, but that is to be expected) your hearts content. This is not a typical "all you can eat" experience and if you like Japanese food, you won't be disappointed by the extensive menu, fresh sashimi and delicious BBQ!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acovk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The Tairyo Restaurant in Guangzhou is part of a Tairyo Restaurant chain. I have also dined at the one in Xiamen, Fujian and they are comparable in quality and price. The restaurants in both places are very clean; that is an important element for me. There is a very wide selection of items on the menu with specialties in both seafood and red meats. Especially recommended are the tender steaks diced and cooked to perfection with sliced onions by highly-qualified chefs. I happen to prefer them in tandem with vegetable fried rice and chased by a nice cold Kirin Japanese beer. I sometimes have the lamb sticks in lieu of the steak for a bit of variety. The lamb is prepared in a very tasty fashion, but there is a bit less meat than you would get from the steak order. So, if you are in the mood to eat a little less, the lamb option is an excellent one. The vegetables, especially the mushrooms, are a nice side dish as well. The level of consistency in these restaurants is always very high and you can depend on a good meal at a reasonable price of around 120 RMB per person. I prefer ordering individual items on the menu rather than ordering buffet style. This way you can have exactly what you like. If you don't know what you like or it is your first time, you might want to try the buffet.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tafero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Only for the hungry and slightly desperate. All you can eat for US$20 but a lousy experience. They literally pile the courses on you at the same time, including hot and cold dishes. The place was crowded probably because of there 'all you can eat' offer. It does not have a the feel of a Japanese restaurant. We were seated and done in 40 minutes. Then a rude wautress insisted our credit card was 'no good'. Fortunately the cashier fixed that for us. Could not wait to get out of the place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GuangZhou DaYu Japanese Restaurant (YueXiu) also viewed

Guangzhou, Guangdong
Guangzhou, Guangdong
 
Guangzhou, Guangdong
Guangzhou, Guangdong
 

Been to GuangZhou DaYu Japanese Restaurant (YueXiu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing