We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road
Ranked #90 of 3,390 Hotels in Guangzhou
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised, not bad value for money, room came with breakfast. The breakfast was average. hotel was clean. Not the best location, but not bad. Can get any ware with a taxi. There were many restaurants in walking distance. Right next to a tube staton. About 1 hour from airport and cost ¥7, taxi ¥116. I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    53
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
16
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel during my last visit ... In April 2014..

As always, trusted Trip Advisor reviews,, And as always,, It helped in zeroing in on the best fit for my requirements..

PROS :
Location :
Great location,, Just above Ouzhong Station on Subway .. Line 5 & 6 interchange,, Exit A... You have to walk much less as compared to Guangzhou Railway Station on Line 2, which is a mammoth station and very very crowded. These 2 lines also take you to important location with minimal changes. This is a better option, if you have to visit places / markets other than those near Guangzhou Railway Station (Liuhua and adjoining area). You can reach airport by just changing one line and reach Airport in ~ 40 mins.

Once you are back from the days work, you can spend time walking in the area.. Very near and clean.... You have many good hotels nearby on the same road. Very neat and hygenic surrounding,,
Cabs / Coaches are from both sides of the road.. If you have to go across the road, need to use the metro subway
For Canton visitors, the hotel arranges for coaches. It takes ~ 20 - 25 mins to reach venue

Ambience: Very good ambience and very unique Wine themed hotel. Great in house collection for wine lovers. In a city of so many hotels, its a perfect place to relax after the days of hard work.

Staff Courtesy: Very prompt service and very courteous staff. Many staffs understand English, which is a great advantage in China,, Staff helps you in getting cab / guiding you to location.
Price: Its reasonably priced as compared to quality and size of room

CONS :
Amenities - Does not has a swimming pool / gym,, But considering the time spent in walking, you really do not need a separate gym..
Also, not much of vegetarians.. We did not have food here,, So cannot comment upon quality,,

Would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking rooms in advance and remind them as well prior to reaching
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wish_Ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Jovenstar Hotel is a well appointed hotel in a very handy location. We paid ~$60US for a superior room via agoda and were happy with our stay. A few comments:
1. The hotel is very convenient to transport, but the immediate area is a bit of a "nothing" neighbourhood from a travel perspective. However lines 5 and 6 of the metro run through Ouzhuang station, which is literally next door to the hotel (use exit A from the metro) and can take you everywhere you'd want to go. There is also a 7-11 between the hotel entrance and the metro. About 10 minutes walk further along Huanshi Rd heading east is a row of appealing mid price restaurants, including the popular Indonesian place, Pandan (a great choice for a change from local food).
2. The rooms are modern and exactly on target for a stylish business hotel. The bathroom is a perfect modern western style. The shower pressure and hot water are great. The red wine decor motif is quite odd but endearing. Housekeeping is meticulous and you receive toiletries, bottled water etc each day.
3. The staff we interacted with had very limited English. This was easily managed for the basics (check in/out etc), but we were not able to obtain concierge assistance or tips in English.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

2 weeks over CNY for a friends birthday, straight out of the taxi Kenny who works the door helped us with bags, staff we're lovely the entire stay, rooms were plenty big enough, perfectly clean and a rainfall shower! Didn't want to leave! Also 30 seconds from exit a at ouzhuang station for lines 5 and 6 made it really easy to get around, but if you want a taxi they will help you to hail one. We speak cinders so it was fine but the staff all speak some English and most fairly well,
Restaurant is privy (for china) but good we had dinner one night, portions large and some things are also availible til 2300 on the room service menu

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I'm not sure what the normal price is for this place, but for what I paid through Booking.com, I was pretty happy.

I can't comment on the breakfast as I never had it; I tend not to bother with it usually, and it wasn't included with the price I paid anyway.

The rooms were a good size and extremely clean.

Others have mentioned that Exit A of the subway is closed, making it difficult to access the hotel. That's no longer true. Exit A is now open, meaning that the hotel is a 30 second walk from the subway exit. I didn't try getting a taxi to the hotel, but there are plenty that pass right in front of it when getting out.

There's not a great deal in the immediate area, but transport links are good and taxis are so cheap in China that it's really not an issue.

It may be that I was stuck in a room at the end of the corridor, but the WiFi was terrible. It's 2014; I'm sorry, but these days it matters. Don't advertise free WiFi in all rooms if it's unusable in some of them.

Room Tip: If you want/need WiFi, ask about the signal. The end of the corridors (on the 9th floor at least) is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The first impression of this hotel is wine, wine, wine, at the hotel lobby is like a boutique of wine, even at the rooms you see posters of wine. The rooms are spacious, everything is comfortable, nice bathroom with full toiletries, mini fridge, coffee making, complimentary mineral water and best of all I love the buffet breakfast included in the room. There is a mixture of western and chinese menu. There are restuarants within walking distance or across the roads but is not a good location if you need to do shopping, is a distance and you need a taxi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDYLEE2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel theme focus in red wines, many red wines related decorations and wall paper. The cleaniness and condition of hotel are great with friendly staffs. There is a convinient shop beside the hotel lobby and walking distance to the metro station. The breakfast is good and tasty!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heng1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Asia International Hotel
#70 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#75 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Easun Guotai Hotel
#97 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
East Huanshi Road
Starway King Garden Hotel
Starway King Garden Hotel
#986 of 3,390 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road

Property: Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road
Address: No.422 East Huanshi Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510075, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 3,390 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Yue Xiu district, close to Ocean Hotel, across from Holiday Inn City Center Guangzhou, 1 km from Garden Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing