We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but stinky rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road
Ranked #90 of 3,386 Hotels in Guangzhou
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not bad but stinky rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Reasonably priced hotel and the rooms are OK except for the smell... I'm a smoker but prefer to stay in non-smoking rooms because I never smoke where I sleep. My non-smoking room was unbelievably smelly... Even after being in the room for a couple of hours, I could still smell the stench of extremely stale smoke. When I mentioned it to the staff (in Chinese) they just shrugged it off and didn't do anything. I understand that this is China, but the smell was beyond anything I've encountered before.
I recommend getting a room facing away from the road. The first room they took me to was very noisy as well as smelly. When I mentioned the noise, they changed my room without a problem.
The location is quite good - about a 10 minute walk from the Garden hotel area and two minutes to the Ouzhuang metro station.
If you're not an early riser, make sure you have a do not disturb sign in your room. I didn't have one and got woken up at 8:30am with the cleaners coming in. They had to get a do not disturb sign from their trolley for me. Then I got woken again with management calling to see if I wanted my room cleaned that day. That was a bit annoying.
Aside from those two issues, everything was fine, although I doubt I'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmjtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    53
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
16
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Visited on business trip with my family. At first was put off by location, but that soon changed. Easy taxi rides to all areas of city. Also, if you are interested in walking to shopping, food, groceries, it's easy! (See below for more info.)

Prompt check-in and decent English. The room we stayed i was modern and clean, especially the bathroom. Breakfast is included and we were more than satisfied -- it did offer a few western items and good coffee.

The road out front of the hotel (Huanshi) is busy and difficult to cross. However, across the street is a Subway sandwich shop and several local vendors. We bought food, water, snacks, and even socks! Subway is very nearby and easy to access. The zoo is a 10rmb taxi ride away. We would have no hesitation to staying here again.

Note on neighborhood walking: if you exit the hotel and turn right, walk ab it down Huanshi Road, then turn right on Nong Lin Xia Lu. If you continue down this road there is a lovely neighborhood! Lots of shops, a grocery store in the basement of a huge department store, many places to eat etc. Great people watching. There is even a 2 rmb shop that is fun for small souvenirs or assorted crap. My family and I loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcemail2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I just came back from a 4 day business stay at the Jovenstars Hotel in Guangzhou.
Arrival from the airport to the hotel was a little bit difficult as most taxi drivers don't know the hotel by name. So please be prepared yourself to guide your driver the following days.

Check-inn was quick and easy (although our first appointed room was a smoking room, it was quickly changed to a non-smoking room).

The Deluxe room was big enough for 2 people, and al was clean and modern. The internet connection in the room was good, but unfortunately not wireless. WiFi is available in the lobby area.

Breakfast was good, with a selection of English breakfast and some Chinese dishes. Fresh orange juice, fruit, coffee and thee.

It is a little difficult to get a taxi in front of the hotel, so it is easier to take the subway (Ouzhong station). You can ask for a subway map at the reception. Entrance C of the subway station is 100m to your right if you leave the hotel.

The only negative from our stay was that they tried to charge a chocolate from the mini-bar when we checked out. We were sure that we didn't use the mini-bar in our room.
But overall we would definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room when you arrive at the reception, and go and check the room before settel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanzoBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Firstly, I think Tripadvisor should use its proper name, viz., Jovenstars Hotel. Thats the name displayed everywhere in the hotel and its only here that we find the hotel being called Junxing.

But anyway, "a rose by any name will smell as sweet" !!. It was a good experience staying for 5 nights at this hotel during the Canton Fair. They have shuttle service to the fair, thrice in the morning, which is efficient and good. Breakfast is also varied and nice. WOuld have been better if they provided wireless internet in the rooms, one has to come down to the lobby for internet, which is not a great idea this being a business hotel.

Service is warm and efficient. Location not the best, but nothing to complain either. Overall, good!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Suitable for Canton Fair visitors, due to free shuttles to the Fair as well as underground station near by. a disant hotel with OK Breakfast included

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adigo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were here on a business trip in Guangzhou along three other colleagues, as soon as we reached here in just about 7 minutes we had our room cards, prompt check-in. This is were most of the Chinese services score. Our rooms were on the 9th floor, pretty decent sized, and toilet absolutely clean. I read someone writing about getting bottle of wine, we missed out on the same.. Breakfast had nice variety but as most other Indian we were content with muffins and breads. The only problem I felt was access from the road its bit confusing otherwise fine...Overall experience of this mid sized hotel was great specially the service.. Would really not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank araish-mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

I am always a bit apprehensive when trying new hotels that are not part of an international chain, but this hotel was a nice surprise! The location is good...it is a 2 minute walk to the Ouzhuang subway station, which gives access to most of Guangzhou. It is about 5 minutes on the subway to the GZ railway & bus stations. From the GZ airport by subway, it is a bit complicated, with 2 line changes, and takes about 1 hour. Taxi drivers do not know the English name of this hotel, so it's best to have it written in Chinese, and if all else fails, you can just tell the driver Ouzhuang subway station. The staff spoke English well for a local hotel, and were very willing to help with directions.

The room was great! It was large, well decorated, and very clean and new. Although the hotel advertises itself as a "wine concept hotel," other than some wall-sized posters in the hall talking about Tuscany and a wine shop on the ground floor, nothing in the room screamed wine...which was fine with me.

I would definitely stay here again. The room was great for the price paid.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanieahensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
2.5 mi away
Zhuhai Special Economic Zone Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#37 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.4 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#76 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#50 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.1 mi away
Asia International Hotel
Asia International Hotel
#70 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#35 of 3,386 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road

Property: Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road
Address: No.422 East Huanshi Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510075, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 3,386 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Yue Xiu district, close to Ocean Hotel, across from Holiday Inn City Center Guangzhou, 1 km from Garden Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Starway Hotel Guangzhou Huanshi East Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing