We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Ascott Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascott Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would stay again”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Ascott as it suited a family of 4 and also had a swimming pool. Being an apartment rather than hotel room served our needs well, with kitchen and laundry facilities. Free wi-fi in the rooms was available which was important for us. There were also TV's in the living room and all bedrooms. The spa was great in the ensuite bathroom, although the water pressure was ordinary at times.

It was positioned well near 2 train stations on different lines, numerous shopping centres close by and a large array of restaurants within walking distance.

The staff were all very welcoming and helpful.

The breakfast suited our needs and was convenient.

The only area for improvement would be the availability of English street maps which would have made it so much easier to get around.

We would stay here again :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    55
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
14
4
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Have stayed some 45 days in the Ascott. While there are several options in the neighbourhood, deem Ascott to score the best in price/quality/location. Of course you can find nicer places, with better furniture etc but overall this is a very good deal.

Rooms are ample, breakfast buffet ok, swimming pool area small but ok for a dip after a long day.

Why I give a 10/10 is because of the service received. One day I arrived dead sick, all hospitals for foreigners were full, with my non existing Chinese I felt completely lost. This unitll I went for help at the reception desk and Luis from the reception desk helped me out. He not only did find a hospital, he actually stayed with me during full 10 hours in the hospital to translate for me, to take care of the administrative hassle, and he even bought some water and food for me during these long hours, all for free... Wish there were more people like Luis and hotel/appartments were they do care for their customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirkusalbertus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I often stay at this family of hotels, and this was one of the better ones. The rooms were nicely furnished, and the kitchenette was better than usual. It is right across from a large shopping center, and one of the very best Cantonese-style restaurants in the city is in the basement of the same building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I lived in Guangzhou before and have seen this building being built as my old workplace is across the street. Very great location- bus stop outside, metro station across, mall across and it's smack in the middle of downtown Tian He. Very convenient to stay in for those on the go but the area being downtown is not as quiet. The environment is not that good outside same as traffic jams and the crowds especially during weekends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Van C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was my first time to live in a serviced apartment.

Good points:
- Room is big. The smallest flat is over 700 sq feet.
- A wide range of electric appliances provided.
- Good service. Receptionists are willing to help.
- Next to a big mall, Taikoo Hui which is linked to the MTR underground.

Bad Points
- The quality of the pool and gym facilities are below average.
- Wifi in my room is problematic. Get disconnected automatically after being connected for a few seconds.
- Breakfast is quite poor in terms of the quality of food and variety for selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack C, Manager at Ascott Guangzhou, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you, Jason919, for choosing Ascott Guangzhou as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Guangzhou, and for your review above.

It is definitely a great pleasure for us to know that you are happy with the size of our apartment, our location, the appliances and the services we had provided to you.

I note with concern that we were unable to meet your expectations on the areas which you had highlighted.

As Ascott Guangzhou, we value all feedback received. The feedback has been communicated to the relevant departments for follow-up actions to improve the services. We hope that you would see noticeable improvement in your next visit to Ascott Guangzhou.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the new future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

the location was very good , behind the taikoo mall and inside the mall u can find everything u need. Ole supermarket u can buy the grocery and there are lots of restaurant. U can find delivery menu in the room. Element fresh was very good choice. The fresh juice u can not miss it.

The hotel was quiet and has good view from the room window. The area was large and they serve dish washer and washing machine in ur room. It was really a good choice for the long stay guests.

Room Tip: rooms on the south was not good . Higher room will has better night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia0001225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you have to fault this place it is certianly not its location! Just cross the road and you are at the up market Tai Koo Hui Shopping Center and the Metro. Take the lift down to the basement level for a quick meal at the Chinese fast food chain Woo's Hong Kong Cuisine, but be warned the queues are long or eat at one of the Japanese restaurants just around the corner of the building.

The room we stayed in was comfortable but the furnishing is starting to look a little used. Breakfast was ordinary with limited varity. Ascott is often compared with Oakwood Premier in Guangzhou and I would have to say Oakwood tops the Ascott even with its excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.5 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#18 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
1,363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#7 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#8 of 3,466 in Guangzhou
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Guangzhou

Property: Ascott Guangzhou
Address: No.73 Tianhe East Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510630, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 334 Specialty Lodging in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the grandeur of Ascott Guangzhou, a fully serviced luxury residence that offers elegant style with discretion for the busy utive on the move. Situated in the bustling financial centre of Tianhe District, its prime location in Guangzhous commercial hub means that major corporations, banks and consulates are all just a stones throw away. Enjoy easy access to shops, tourist attractions, public transport and exotic restaurants that make Guangzhou such a celebrated gourmet paradise. The newly opened Pazhou Exhibition Centre is also just minutes away, where the famous Canton Fair is held. At Ascott Guangzhou, revel in plush surrounds with posh furnishings and an exclusive environment for luxurious living. Whether for work or leisure, it is a chic spot to call home. Each apartment comes with an opulent living space and every creature comfort you will need – from a fully-equipped kitchen to a sleek home entertainment system and high speed broadband internet access. After a long day, soak in the pool, work out at the gym or rejuvenate with a spa treatment – you will be spoilt for choice. With our efficient business support services, working remotely has never been more convenient. Conduct a meeting in one of our function rooms or enjoy a networking cocktail in the lounge. During your stay, experience Ascott’s signature Heartware service – discreet and always striving to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascott Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing