We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food poisoned after my second visit” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Restaurant Guangzhou

Sultan Restaurant Guangzhou
Ranked #2 of 7,152 Restaurants in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
muscat
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food poisoned after my second visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stay with their Barbecue dishes and keep away from the unusual and un popular dishes. The first dinner I had there, was nice, we had a kebab, however, the second night, thought we would go experiencing different dishes, and bang.... Suffered from food poisoning and for two days was sick, not a good situation to be in during a 4 days trip.,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank falhashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    146
    46
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Remarkable discovery in an unusual city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I must thank a friend who often travels on business to Guangzhou for recommending this place. Aftera long tiring day at work, this was a remarkable gem of a restaurant to discover.. great food , typical mid eastern warmth and packed with happy customers. The kebabs in this place are to die for as also is the fruit cocktail. The olfali kebab is a must try.. Te large family size bread we say at other tables looked interesting too. The dips were amazingly good especially since we were a far way of from the Bosphorus. Do leave space for desserts especially their baklava and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie-sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Taste of the Middle East in china”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food, service, atmosphere & value for money. You will be sitting there & eating not knowing you are in china.
Lintel Soup (showrabet Adas) is a must to try.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnycm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic muslim food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went there because it was very close to our hotel (Crowne plaza city center) and were not disappointed. The food was really good, the atmosphere very nice and the prices decent, plus they have a lot of variety in the menu, for every taste. It's a very good alternative if you had enough of Cantonese food. The dishes we ordered (Chicken shish, Chicken donner with hummus and tabouleh salad) were all good sized with fresh ingredients and no Chinese spices or flavors. Plus the English level of the waiters is very good, no need for sign language here. Wish i had known about this place sooner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sup3rgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Turkish, friendly brothers as owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Across from the Garden HOtel, authentic and definitely Mulim ambiance. Love the hammered copper decorations. Recently added second floor. Authentic and really good Turkish food, but no alcohol....go for the eating experience and it is definitely worth it!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank paminchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan Restaurant Guangzhou also viewed

 

Been to Sultan Restaurant Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing