We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Madinah
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Medina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I liked our stay at this hotel, had a few issues with the type of room as it was small and congested and wifi was very slow. The general manager had taken care of us by offering complimentary drinks and a lovely fruit basket was sent to us, liked the breakfast buffet as the food served here was better than swissotel Makkah although they had much less variety (spicy food). I did notice one of the men in charge during breakfast probably a manager at the hotel was very rude to the kitchen staff! But this should be dealt with internally but not something professional or nice to see. They offer a great shuttle service for women to go the mosque.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RehanSHK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Madinah, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Farah F,

Thank you for making Crowne Plaza Madinah as your prime choice.

We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you. Your comments are take into the consideration. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests.

Thank you again for your valuable comments. Looking forward to accommodate you again in near future

Best Regards
Aly Al Baity
Area General Manager
IHG Madinah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    75
    34
    18
    13
See reviews for
97
42
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Two things I did not like about this hotel: room size and expensive food. Otherwise all is good. Location is ok, 4 min walk to Haram. But for ladies it is slightly longer walk. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We tried food in the breakfast buffet, and food was good, but a bit pricey though.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MedhatElmahdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RehanSHK, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Madinah, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear MedhatElmahdy,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review from your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Madinah.

Your satisfaction is our priority and we do appreciate you for choosing Crowne Plaza Madinah for your wonderful stay. Your concerns will be shared with management.

On behalf of the hotel & colleagues, we are looking forward to welcoming you again,

Best Regards
Aly Al Baity
Area General Manager
IHG Madinah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed here for a night and it was great. The staff were amazing Specially Mr. Husain and Mr. Hatim, they went an extra mile to make our stay perfect.

Room was large and very comfortable, bathroom was good and everything you need is there. Room service was good and on time, food was ok but not great. Wifi is free in room. There are 3 story of parking yet you may not find a place to park if you were late but its better than other hotels.

I would stay here for sure and recommend it for friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hietham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RehanSHK, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Madinah, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Rifya,

It is always a pleasure to read such a detailed and refined description and we are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay & our facilities and services were up to your expectations.

Our aim is to always provide our guests with the finest service possible in order to ensure they have a memorable stay at Crowne Plaza Madinah.

Once again, thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Madinah and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,


Best Regards
Lotfi Jabou
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night in Ramadan. The rooms are small but that is fine given the proximity to the Haram, which is a 5-10 minute stroll away. Food is decent and all the amenities are fine. The big problem here is the service: sometimes it is excellent and sometimes it is rubbish. When dealing with Indian and Pakistani employees the service -- more often than not -- is excellent. Arab employees, in contrast, are haughty, impolite, and very slow. Dealing with a 'Mr Abderrahman' at checkout was a nightmare. He is cocky, rude, and has no idea what a customer service mindset is. I'd advise him to spend time with his Pakistani colleagues and try to learn from them.

PS I'm 100% Arab, through and through, but call a spade a spade.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0llingSt0ne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RehanSHK, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Madinah, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and comments.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests.

Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards
Lotfi Jabou
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatif
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights back in September of 2013 as part of our honeymoon trip. When we visited Madinah it was right before Hajj season so the hotels were a bit crowded and taking that in to consideration the service and hotel were bad.

First of all the check in process was very slow and when we finally got to our room it was not what we booked, our reservation was non-smoking and the smell of smoke was the first thing you notice as you entered the room. Another thing our room should've had a view, well the only view we had was that of a wall. We went to the front desk to address these issues and we were told that the hotel is fully booked so switching the room is not a possibility and that the hotel will refund the price difference between the room with a view and without, needless to say that was another shortcoming as we didn't get any money back.

Other than that the room was small but clean and proximity of hotel to Holy Haram is definitely a plus.
We tried the cafe in the ground floor and it was good.

Definitely not staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TahanySamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RehanSHK, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Madinah, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear TahanySamir,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Please also contact Front Office Manager Mr. Tarik Nazih at tarik.nazih@ihg.com so that he can obtain additional details regarding your stay.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty and looking forward to accommodate you in near future again.

Best Regards
Lotfi Jabou
DOSM & Hotel Operation In charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
159 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have just returned from a short stay in this magnificent holy city of our beloved prophet (PBUH). Its a new property and maybe one of the best ones now. It is located totally at the opposite end of the holy mosque and it was my first time that I was staying in that area. It is extremely convenient for men to access the entrance to rawdha shareef. However its very far for women and if you have them with you then chose somewhere else like Hilton or Oberoi. I was given a good welcome and as a Platinum card member I was upgraded to a suite. The hotel has cleverly utilized space to make a large regular room look like a suite. Its a bit cramped and has one small toilet that definitely doesn't befit a suite room. Furnishings are relatively new and the bed comfortable. With the influx of guests form allover the world it will be no time that this will wear out.
I cannot speak more high of Mr. Hatem , the guest relations manger who gave me a warm welcome.
However that's where the story stops.
Other staff lack the courtesy and finesse of a five star property and are lagging behind in customer service. Words were not honored and bill errors were never sorted out. Complains were openly encouraged by the staff.
I really wish these would not have occurred so that I would have given this property a five star. If such issues are not attended to by the management then it wont be long before the hotel will lose its luster and reputation and join the likes of the other ones down the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DXBDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Madinah, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear DXBDOC,

Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Club Platinum members. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am happy that our location worked for you. However, I am very sorry for any inconvenience the level of service you received may have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and will be working diligently on training to ensure better guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is newly built, very well decorated and very clean. It is very close to the haram and so very convenient. The room i had was slightly smaller than other comparative hotels, but the quality of furnishings and the en suite made up for this. Overall, a very reliable choice, you will know what to expect when staying here and are very unlikely to be let down.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hkhan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RehanSHK, Social Media Executive at Crowne Plaza Madinah, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Hkhan,

Our day has started with full of joy by reading your comment that the vision of our brand "Great hotel Guest's Love" has been delivered. Our friendly staff, food,facilities and location are truly designed to give you a memorable and productive stay.

Our consistent enormous efforts are expected to receive such a review over and over.

Thanks again for choosing Crowne Plaza Madinah and looking forward to accommodate you in near future again.

Best Regards
Rehan Shaik
Social Media Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Zamzam Madina
Pullman Zamzam Madina
#6 of 135 in Medina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 135 in Medina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
#10 of 135 in Medina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.6 mi away
Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Madinah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Madinah

Property: Crowne Plaza Madinah
Address: King Faisal Street, between 1st Ring Road, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Medina
#9 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Madinah 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfort and traditional hospitality in the City of the Prophet. Step out of the gleaming lobby of the Crowne Plaza(R) Madinah hotel into the sacred historic center of Madinah (Medina). The hotel overlooks the Haram of Masjid al-Nabawi, so pilgrims can walk or take a free shuttle directly to the male and female entrances of the Prophet's Holy Mosque. In keeping with its location in the Muslim-only area of Madinah, the hotel provides a restful base for a visit or pilgrimage, with a warm Arab welcome from respectful and attentive staff. The Concierge can help with advice on places to visit, as well as the best restaurants, markets and shopping malls in nearby modern Madinah. Classical motifs complement stylish modern design in 506 comfortable rooms and suites, and Haram-view rooms overlook the magnificent courtyard of the Prophet's tomb. Complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas keeps every guest connected. Basement parking is especially convenient during the busy seasons of Hajj and Ramadan. Business travelers can host a successful corporate event in five versatile, high-tech conference and boardrooms. A Crowne Meetings Director is happy to help with planning and catering. Executives can also relax in the plush Club lounge. Whether you are visiting for work, leisure or spiritual fulfillment, the Crowne Plaza Madinah hotel offers a peaceful and memorable experience for Muslims in Saudi Arabia's beautiful Second City of Islam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Madinah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madinah Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing