We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...room given 8 houes early and late checkout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Medina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent...room given 8 houes early and late checkout”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hotel. The service was fab and the room spacious and clean. The location is close to the haram and all needs are served locally.
Breakfast was wow and i choose to have lunch once and that was also great. This was all the better before a dissapointing hotel in Makkah ( after this) ...i have reviewed both.
Well done all involved with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzMirza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-Alsaadany, at Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah, responded to this review, December 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Dar AlHijra Intercontinental Madinah It's pleasing to know you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services .
Thank you for appreciating our "friendly and helpful" staff and the room upgrade that you received.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, hopefully in the near future.

Best Regards,

Mohamed Alsaadany
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    104
    37
    25
    24
See reviews for
147
37
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location very close to the Holy Mosque, our check in & check out was done within minutes, room was good and plenty of soft drinks and water in the fridge, and tea and coffee and snacks provided in the room. Staff very helpful, they also arrange my transport back to Makah and a Sight seeing tour of the holy places. The breakfast was very good, nice clean restaurant and variety of foods, excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farooq B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-Alsaadany, at Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah, responded to this review, December 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Dar AlHijra Intercontinental Madinah It's pleasing to know you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services .
Thank you for appreciating our "friendly and helpful" staff and the room upgrade that you received.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, hopefully in the near future.

Best Regards,

Mohamed Alsaadany
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle-east
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Best location, interiors, breakfast, house keeping, direct hotel booking, co-operative staffs, good food, good rooms. After a tiring day....must have place like this to rest. Do choose................................................................................................

Room Tip: Religious city. No play areas or swimming pool. Road side room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msarguroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-Alsaadany, at Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah, responded to this review, December 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Dar AlHijra Intercontinental Madinah It's pleasing to know you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services .
Thank you for appreciating our "friendly and helpful" staff and the room upgrade that you received.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, hopefully in the near future.

Best Regards,

Mohamed Alsaadany
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel we were a bit disappointed. We had stayed at an amazing hotel in Makkah which had the important feature of having a view of the Haram as well as the sound being connected directly into the room allowing my wife to join prayers when she was otherwise stuck with the children. However, when we arrived here the room we were given had a view of the side wall of another hotel and we could not even hear the Adhaan.

We spoke to Mr Mohammed Ali (one of the supervisors) and explained the situation. He very kindly moved us to another room with a beautiful view where we could hear the prayer clearly. It was large, clean and completely comfortable.

Overall, the staff were very friendly and worked around us rather than the other way around. The hotel is not located as close to the Masjid Nabawi as some of the other hotels and intercontinental hotels but it took less than 5minutes walking door to door.

A pleasant stay in the city of the Prophet (SAW.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrWajid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-Alsaadany, at Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah, responded to this review, December 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Dar AlHijra Intercontinental Madinah It's pleasing to know you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services .
Thank you for appreciating our "friendly and helpful" staff and the room upgrade that you received.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, hopefully in the near future.

Best Regards,

Mohamed Alsaadany
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I understand that cities like Makkah and Madina people tend to avoid saying anything bad as they may feel that they may be disrespecting the holy citties but I think that it is the opposite.

At the time of check in just a small effort is needed to make a big difference. For instance, instead of saying "passport please" you are told very rudely "PASSPORT!" Instead of saying name please you get NAME!. I think you understand what I am trying to say. The concept of please, thank you, sorry, does not exist.

I am told that this is not only intercontinental hotel but almost all majority of the places in Saudi. Well if the hotel claims to be a international chain then they need to behave like one.

The room service is non existence, my mother got very ill and we have been trying to call room service to get paracetamol tablets and water but did not even get through.

All in all I think the the rooms and hotel location is good but the people are very bad. If they were behaving like this in London they would be out of work.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Malcolm996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Malcolm996,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medina hotels

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

very well place just 4/5 minutes walk to masjid nabawi in the center as soon you come out you are in center of shops and restaurants you enter masjid nabawi from gate no; 22 very comfortable hotel try to book suit which very good with kitchen sitting room and dining room two bath not much difference in price

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lvutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-Alsaadany, at Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah, responded to this review, December 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Dar AlHijra Intercontinental Madinah It's pleasing to know you had an enjoyable stay and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services .
Thank you for appreciating our "friendly and helpful" staff and the room upgrade that you received.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, hopefully in the near future.

Best Regards,

Mohamed Alsaadany
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location of the hotel is good. However, it needs a lot of improvement to meet Inter-Continental standards. The hotel needs to be refurbished in all aspects. When the hotel provides WiFi, it should be of better speed and connectivity. I am a priority club member but there was no difference between me and other walk-in guests.

Being in a high demand place does not mean that the hotel should be maintained in a sub-standard condition.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rmarouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear rmarouf,

Thank you for posting a review of our property I am pleased you like the hotel location. I sincerely apologize for any discomfort or inconvenience you may have experienced due to the condition of the property, rooms and internet service. Your input will be shared with our management team to take into consideration for future upgrades and improvements.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.2 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.1 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 141 in Medina
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
#10 of 141 in Medina
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Zamzam Madina
Pullman Zamzam Madina
#7 of 141 in Medina
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Madinah
Crowne Plaza Madinah
#9 of 141 in Medina
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaza Al Madina
Shaza Al Madina
#6 of 141 in Medina
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah

Property: Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah
Address: King Fahad Street | Central Area, Medina 41455, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Medina
#14 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah is a mere quarter-kilometre (800 feet) from the Prophet's Mosque and offers a magnificent view of Ohud Mountain. You'll walk to shops and the business district, and take a short drive to important sites such as the Quba' Mosque, the Qiblatain Mosque, the tombs of Madain Salah and the Jannatul Baki graveyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Hijra Intercontinental Madinah Hotel Medina
Dar Al Hijra InterContinental Madinah Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing