We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Madinah Hilton(Medina)
$160
$144
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveler rating
277
133
107
68
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
133
107
68
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelpfully staffnice hotelal salamfamily visitwelcome drinknice roomrecommend this hotelenjoyable staycar parkingfront officenice breakfastclean roomsshopping mallmin walkexcellent locationbreakfast buffeteasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 653 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2012

When you stay at the Medinah Movenpick, you can see that in it's heyday, it indeed was a premier luxury hotel. Yet unfortunately, that heyday has passed many ions ago. Today the hotel has the basic makings of a five-star hotel... albeit covered in dirt. The hotel rooms were all tired to the degree that the switches or even elevator call button would give you a quick electric shock when touched. I didn't feel the room was safe- the bathroom itself was indeed quite dirty, we found luggage tags of the room's previous occupants in there, as well as some other remnants scattered across the room. The rooms are of adequate size, but the televisions are way past their prime, now starting to be quite fuzzy than rather just not ''with the times''. We had two connecting rooms, and both showed this issues. In fact, I have never been the cheerleader of quickly updating and changing things- but maintaining anything is paramount. A 1930s hotel need not change anything if they can maintain their equipment to the standard it was when received new. The Madinah Movenpick is falling apart and in desperate need of a complete basement to roof renovation. The room service was nothing stellar, but more than adequate and far better than the surroundings it was served in.

On the otherhand, the service in this hotel was quite good. The reception was always helpful, juice presented on arrival, etc. I've always felt that software is far more important than hardware, but the state of disarray in the hardware at this hotel simply cannot be overlooked. It has rotted with the passage of time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank malioil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

a very luxurious hotel with free breakfast and a good view on the Masjid al haram,
WE all loved it very much and was very close to the gate also , there was a mall underneath for shopping , and my parents and us loved it very much the breakfast was very filling and mouth watering.

Room Tip: triple room was good with three bed and medium toilet
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zahidahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khader D, General Manager at Madinah Movenpick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on your recent stay.

I was very pleased to read you enjoyed the overall hotel facilities and the service provided by our team to such extent.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Madinah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Excellent location near the green dome, friendly staff, efficient service. My second time at this hotel and I will definately stay again

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank serendipitious11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khader D, General Manager at Madinah Movenpick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on your recent stay.

I was very pleased to read you enjoyed the overall hotel facilities and the service provided by our team to such extent.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Madinah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Madinah Movenpick is a good hotel but not up to the standard expected from the Swiss brand. Anwar Movenpick (stayed less than a year ago) which is nearer to the Prophet"s mosque is a much better choice with higher standard and good value for money given the fact that both offer same price online (Hotel website). The rooms in Madinah Movenpick are spacious & reasonably clean but bathrooms are a bit small. Reception and restaurant staff speaks english which is a big pluspoint though we had problems communicating with Concierge & bell desk as no one speaks english there. We were on a half board plan (breakfast & lunch or dinner) and the buffet was great. Both the quality & choices of food was very good. Restaurant staff were also very attentive & helpful. The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from the Holy Mosque and so overall there is nothing much to complain except it's not good value for money at 760 Riyals a night (booking through hotel website).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skysurfer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We arranged our trip to the haram with haj and umrah and we specifically inform them that we were looking for a hotel within walking distancebut unfortunately we were misguided by the tour operator . On arrival at 11.30 a.mwe wanted to attend the jummah salatbecause that was our only jummah in madena as our rooms was not ready we begged them for a place that the family can have a washed and a change of clothing we were directed to the female toilet in the lobby which was filthy and strong smell of urine when we mentioned to the receptionist we were then directed to the men toilet for the ladies to have a wash and changed which was imposible for them. I have to stop other man using the toilet while the ladies is having a changed for jummah. The male had to get dressed in the lobby infront of others people . When i asked to speak to the hotel manager he refused to speake to us. We finally attend jummah without a bath.. We were given one room around 5p.m but while were waiting for the rest of the group to have there allocated rooms we found our belonging is back in the lobby without telling us whem we inquired we were told that their is a flood in that room but apparently there was an arab man with his family waiting to be given a room and I believed our room was given to him. At 6p.m we were still waiting at the lobby to have the rest of the rooms which was still not ready we were told to wait in the the lobby and the receptionist would inform us when the rooms will be ready unfortunately the receptionist went off duty without informing his next on duty and we have to repeat our problems and finally we were given our rooms.The rooms was not cleaned properly , it was very dusty,and the mini bar was empty. I found the the checkin staff has a lot to learn and particularly how to respect visitors and i find it very hard to believe how they lies to people and facing the haram. I believe that the hotel cater more for the shia brothers and sisters. I would never set foot in this hotel again and hope that the management of this hotel that notice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank fromlyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews