We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman
Ranked #8 of 149 Hotels in Medina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Intercontinental hotels are typically 5-star, full service hotels. This one is not, at a push it has the facilities of a 3 star and services levels of a prison.

Facility wise, there is one restaurant and room service. There is no gym, pool, or sauna facilities. Room furnishings are dated. Breakfast buffer is best avoided, even if its included in the rate. Use room service if you get really desperate.

Service wise, its non-existent. Check-in time is 4pm, but even when I turned up after 4pm, rooms were still not ready and was asked to wait. Be firm with the staff or you will be waiting a long time. Moreover, as a member of the Priority Club loyalty scheme, do not expect the hotel to honour your preferences. I was provided a non-smoking room, and was told that my profile has no preference. Again, after being firm with the staff, I was moved to a non-smoking room.

Bell boys are very inefficient and seem to have no clue. Note they will arrange taxis for you with "private drivers" as they take a cut of the fare.

Wireless Internet is available at a cost. However, you need to ring the service desk to activate it.

The hotel is in a great location next to the mosque - no complaints about that. However, be aware the lifts do get busy around prayer times, so factor that in.

Check out was relatively painless, although was not even provided we a copy of a bill, just was told the amount and money taken from my card.

Medinah is suppose to be a serene place. Staying here will really test your patience, and if you want a 5-star hotel then do not stay here. If you want an expensive 3-star hotel with poor service then you will not be disappointed.

The only true 5-star hotel in Medinah is the Oberoi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abderrazzaq B, Manager at InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Mosafar,

Thank you for your stay with us and for your feedback. We wish to hear more from you regarding your experience, please contact me on the below email:
abderrazzaq.bouzid@imanmadinah.com

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 276 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

Arrived at this hotel at about midnight after a long flight from South Africa with my elderly parents and 3 children. The reception is most unfriendly. We were made to wait 2 hours for absoluely nothing. After much complaining the receptionist we were finally given the rooms.

Apart from the unpleasant check-in our stay was overall good.

Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imraan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stay in this hotel in May 2010.
I am surprise to see low rating, this is one of the best hotel in Madina.
Check-in time was ok. Staff was helpful and efficient. Almost in the front of the Masjid-e-Nabwai's women's entrance gate. Couple of minutes walk to men's entrance gate. Very comfortable bedding. Extremely good breakfast with very good service. Will go again Insha-Allah.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Hotels in Saudi Arabia are inferior to the rest of the Middle East and the West in general, this is because the hotel owners and the government know people will put up with their pathetic service and poor hospitality because they come for religious pilgrimage.

I did not know of the poor hotels which are supposedly 5 star before going to Saudi Arabia, I thought they would be good, I was also not aware of how pilgrims were hearded around like animals until I went.

It took us 4 hours to come out of the airport after landing off a 4 hour flight, in Heathrow a plane lands every 30 seconds and you are out within an hour, but not in Saudi, after standing in a que for 4 hours and having my passport thrown back in my face by immigration it was taken off my by a government official and I was forced to pay a bribe to have it given back, NOT the way I wanted to start my pilgrimage.

I booked this particular hotel because it was an intercontinental, however it was one of THE worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

When we first arrived we were told our rooms would not be ready until 4pm, when check in is normally 2pm, in the end we didnt get our second and third rooms until 5pm.

We had requested for 3 rooms on the same floor, all non smoking.

We were given 3 rooms on separate floors, however this was not the main problem.

Both rooms were smoking, so reeked of cigarettes, the smell was so bad I found it hard to sleep.

The second room for my elderly parents had a bathroom in which the shower/bath did not work, so they had to come to my room to shower and/or bathe, which is not what you expect at an intercontinental. We requested several times for the shower/bath to be fixed, to no avail, it never got fixed for the duration we stayed there.

Their room also had such a bad sewage smell, that you could not be in there for more then 5 minutes, whenever we complained they sent someone up with air freshner, this did nothing and the problem got progressively worse to the point we could no longer stay there. The hotel management did not seem to care about any of this, and rarely helped us with anything.

On Thursday morning whilst in the lobby the ceiling of the hotel collapsed and almost killed us, I have attached 2 pictures , have a look!

I had booked breakfast with the rooms because on their website the breakfast looked nice, but in reality it was a joke, they had pictures of fresh fruit and juice, but in reality these were ornamental fruits....

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iloveluxuryholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This hotel is just steps away from Masjid_E_Nabwi's gate Number 16, but its a little far from the Ziyara of Prophet SAW tomb which is by the gate number 22 for men and 25 for women. I did not mind walking three times a day which is after fajr, Zuhar and Isha for the Ziyara of Prophet MuhammedSAW tomb. All the shopping is close by such as BinDawood and MovenPick shopping mall so we didnt have to go any where else for shopping.
Our breakfast was not included because we had an employee discount, we ate breakfast not knowing that, and the staff was so nice they did not charge us 50 riyals per person. Breakfast was really good. All the staff from reception to cleaning were very friendly.We had haram view and it was great They really need to renovate their bathrooms though because toilet flush was not working properly.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacher96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gülnur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamilkayani2014, General Manager at InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sundus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamilkayani2014, General Manager at InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.2 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 149 in Medina
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shaza Al Madina
Shaza Al Madina
#5 of 149 in Medina
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Taqwa Hotel - Madinah
0.3 mi away
Madina Oberoi
Madina Oberoi
#2 of 149 in Medina
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman

Address: off Sitteen St, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Medina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range: $162 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Al Iman InterContinental Madinah occupies a choice spot on the piazza of the Holy Masjid Mosque of the Prophet Mohammed. Surrounded by the city s financial, commercial and shopping districts, the hotel is also within easy reach of historic sites including Jannat-ul-Baqi cemetery, the Badar Battlefield, Ohud Mountain, Masjid Al Qiblatain and Masjid Al Quba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dar Al Iman Madinah Hotel Medina
InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing