We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay footsteps away from the Haram ”
Review of Shaza Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shaza Al Madina
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Medina
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good stay footsteps away from the Haram ”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family for Umrah trip in April. We are checked in into a junior suite which was definitely nice but a little bit dark. The suite would have made use of some extra natural light. Safe was not working and we were told by housekeeping that we need to contact the engineer. Since we arrived quite late we were to tired so we decided to let go of the safe. We were quite worried though about our belongings throughout our stay and we should have called him. The Wifi service was going most of the time but was very bad at done times when I called the reception they said the IT guy was not available except in the morning. The breakfast was simply amazing, freshly made and delicious. Every now and then someone will be standing in the entrance area with dates and amazing Arabian coffee also sometimes they would have ice cold jus with pomegranate and lemon mint juices for free for guests. The hotel is very conveniently located just a steps away from the Haram. Lifts were so small though and sometimes took forever to arrive given that the hotel is extremely busy. We wanted a late check out and we wanted to confirm that the second day of our arrival but the reception guys kept telling us to check back later. This was really annoying as my parents are old and we wanted to make sure we had a comfortable place to stay in till our ride arrives late at night to the airport. We finally managed to get a late check out confirmation but just a few hours before the normal check out time. Restaurant is a bit small and is always crowded. Overall, highly recommended by of course there is a room for improvement.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahmoud I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Mahmoud,

Greetings from Shaza Al Madina hotel

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for giving valuable feedback on our services. It definitely inspires us to perform better and allows us to reward and review our services.

Shaza Hotels consider it a distinct privilege to have had you as a guest. We would be honoured to welcome you again in the near future at Shaza Al Madina your home in Madinah.

Warm regards

Brahim Robio
General Manager
Shaza Al Madina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    194
    80
    30
    50
See reviews for
474
118
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights at shaza al madina during our Umrah trip in April. It was lovely we really enjoyed our stay and the staff were also very helpful, but I can't say I would rate it 5 stars as it has downfalls too, like huge stains on carpets which is very off putting! Small lifts, also you have to call the house keeping s dozen times before you get your room cleaned! Not 5 star service at all. But other than that s great stay great fresh breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Ms. Amy K,

Greetings from Shaza Al Madina Hotel

We thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. It certainly encourages us to perform better and allows us to both reward and review our services. Please note that we have carefully read your comments and are immediately attending to its rectification so that it does not occur again.

Shaza Hotels consider it a distinct privilege to have had you as a guest. We would be honoured to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Brahim Robio
General Manager
Shaza Al Madina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Definitely a service orientated hotel. Clean and comfortable room .Passionate and creative chef Vergel makes divine omelettes. Staff and management very efficient. Had a wonderful stay. Private transport arranged by concierge for onward journey to Makkah. Wanted to return for ramadaan 1435 but unfortunately no bookings available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yasmin_durban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Ms. Yasmin,

Greetings from Shaza Al Madina hotel

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding our services and we are pleased that you have had a memorable stay with us. We were delighted to know that you have enjoyed our breakfast and specially the Omelette made by Chef. Vergel.

We will be honored to host you again in the near future at Shaza Al Madina Hotel your home in Al Madinah Al Munawarah.

Warm regards


Brahim Robio
General Manager
Shaza Al Madina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

definitely is a wonderful hotel location - very closer to " Al Haram al Nabawy " - less than 5 minutes walk. i highly state that breakfast was from 6.00 am till 10.30 am - thus you have 4.30 hours to get your breakfast at any time during this period. the breakfast buffet is really full with plenty of different foods , fruits , desserts , juice , tea , coffee ,...etc .
both me and my wife agreed that we have gain some more weight during our 3 days at the hotel due to wonderful breakfast.
rooms are clean and seems to be very new.
as all hotels in Mekkah and Medina , during rush hours ( before and after each prayers ) lifts , streets are crowded with people.
staff are very helpful , the Concierge have arranged for me a private car to Mekkah in just 10 minutes .
conclusion - definitely i will stay in the same hotel next time. and i recommend for every one to go to Shaza hotel Medina

Room Tip: preferable to take room that in the front of building to avid buses noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MohamedDarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Mohammed Darar,

Greetings from Shaza Al Madina Hotel

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It certainly encourages us to perform better and allows us to both reward and review our services.

Shaza Hotels consider it a distinct privilege to have had you as a guest. We would be honoured to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Brahim Robio
General Manager
Shaza Al Madina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Definitely not a 5 Star Hotel. Couldn't get breakfast most mornings due to shortage of seating in restaurant area. Customer service is non existent. Some of the rooms smelt disgusting. Lifts were very small and only 4 people capacity at a push. Asked for a Doctor and was completely ignored.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tass H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Tass H.

I am very sorry to learn that we were not able to meet your expectations. Please note that we have carefully read your comments and are immediately attending to its rectification so that it does not occur again.

We hope this incident will not more your impression of our hotel and we will endeavour to do everything possible to make your future stays enjoyable.

Warm regards

Brahim Robio
General Manager
Shaza Al Madina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Midd'x
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

we have just returned from our ummrah trip which started in Medina and ended in Mecca. We stayed at the Shaza Al Madina for 7 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The interiors of this hotel are contemporary Morrocan/Arabic and I would definately decorate my own home in this tasteful style. I agree that the carpets are in need of replacing and the furniture looks a little worn however the overall look of the rooms is still very attractive. There is no fancy entrance or lobby like you find in many other 5* hotels. If you want a squeaky clean looking hotel then I would recommend opting for a new hotel to guarantee everything polished clean and unmarked!!
From the time we checked in I can not fault the service and the staff were so courteous and friendly. Mr M. Khamry deserves a mention for looking after us as does Masood in the dining room. All the staff did their best to look after the guests and to make our stay as comfortable as they could. I always found all of them to be approachable and extremely helpful.
Breakfast was excellent. There was a large selection of food to cater for most tastes and food was of a high standard. Granted it could get hectic at around 9am but go at any other time and you could very easily find a table. We really enjoyed our stay at Shaza and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rehnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear rehnaz,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing with us your valuable views on our services.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be our honor to host you again in the near future at Shaza Al Madina your home in Madinah.

Warm regards

Brahim Robio
General Manager
Shaza Al Madina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stay at Shaza again as our last experience was truly amazing. Second time round I was left deeply disappointed and slightly heart broken. Service at check in was extremely poor. Very slow and manager was very rude to my husband. We checked into our room and I knew immediately how my stay would be. The carpets are extremely dirty and the bathroom was not cleaned to a good standard. The room service during our stay was poor!! Soaps, shampoo, towels were not replaced. Breakfast was poorly managed and staff were over worked. They try their best to accommodate everyone needs but small space and too many people. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and believe me the only 5 star about Shaza is the decor eg lights in the bedroom and decoration in the lounge and reception area. This is a 4 star hotel!!! I am hugely disappointed. Don't expect 5 star accommodation if you do stay here.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Classroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Ms. Classroom,

I am very sorry to learn that we were not able to meet your expectations. We thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. It certainly encourages us to perform better and allows us to both reward and review our services.

Shaza Hotels consider it a distinct privilege to have had you as a guest. We would be honoured to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Brahim Robio
General Manager
Shaza Al Madina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.0 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 137 in Medina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dallah Taibah Hotel
Dallah Taibah Hotel
#5 of 137 in Medina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Zamzam Madina
Pullman Zamzam Madina
#6 of 137 in Medina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madina Oberoi
Madina Oberoi
#2 of 137 in Medina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Taqwa Hotel - Madinah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaza Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaza Al Madina

Property: Shaza Al Madina
Address: King Fahad Road | P.O. Box 25517, Postal Code 41476, Building No# 2943, Central Area, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Medina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shaza Al Madina 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaza Al Madina is the only luxury hotel in the area with a contemporary Eastern design. The hotel sets incomparable levels of hospitality, elegance and state-of-the-art technology. Ideally located at the doorsteps of the Masjid Al Nabawy in Medina, only 150 M. The hotel enjoys a perfect location within the heart of the city and only a short 20 minutes (15 KM) drive from Prince Mohammad Bin Abdulaziz International Airport. Shaza Al Madina two dining options include an open show kitchen, which serves fusion cuisine. Shaza Al Madina’s intimate interiors are filled with mood lighting, created by international designer Morten Hansen of LWD Dubai, in association with calligrapher Mounir Al Sharaani, Egyptian lighting designer Randa Fahmy and with photographic installations by acclaimed Peter Sanders. The hotel’s walls were decorated by Soraya Sanders, famous for her traditional Arabic designs. Fresh and creative cuisine can be tasted at the Shalimar lounge. For a unique blend of North African, Persian and South-East Asian delights, guests are welcome to visit the airy Arabesque Restaurant. Rooms at the Shaza Al Madina are elegant and create the atmosphere of peacefulness. Shaza Al Madina is the ultimate hotel experience in the Middle East, a modern icon where exclusive Arabian luxury meets state of the art facilities. The hotel is designed to cater to every possible need and transport guests to a place of serenity and luxury, a unique haven for the modern traveller who expects only excellence in service and an exquisite ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shaza Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaza Al Madina Hotel Medina
Shaza Al Madina Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing