We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark hotel but a comfortable stay”
Review of Shaza Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shaza Al Madina
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Medina
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dark hotel but a comfortable stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

At first impressions the hotel is very dark and only lit by candlelight on the ground floor. The rooms also lacked natural light as the furniture was dark and windows very small. This was my main disappointment for the hotel. The furniture is somewhat tired and cream carpets stained. however it was a comfortable room and breakfast was good in terms of choice but service needs improvement. I think the restaurant cannot cater for the volume of people and does not have enough tables and staff. It would have been nice to have fresh fruits for breakfast and a cleaner environment.
I would recommend this hotel to friends but it does need improvements to make it 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Salma L,

Thank you for sharing with us your valuable feedback , it certainly encourage us to review and improve our services.

Your comments regarding lighting , Furniture & carpet and Fruit refreshment & environment cleanliness in the restaurant are appreciated and being followed up with the concerned departments.

We look forward to welcome you again at Shaza Al Madina .

Warm Regards,

Brahim Robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    194
    80
    30
    50
See reviews for
472
118
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of our Umrah trip, and we had a very very pleasant stay. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a suite, due to triple rooms no longer being available, so we were very comfortable as we effectively had 2 rooms – a double bedroom and a living room where the sofa was turned into a double bed for our 2 children. The beds were extremely comfortable! We also enjoyed and made use of the table with chairs in the living room where we had most of our meals (take away’s during the day). The bathroom was very nice and spacious with a large shower room.

Having read some of the other reviews, I would agree with the fact that some of the furniture / carpets etc. can be a bit worn out and outdated, but that did not impact our stay negatively.

In terms of service, we had no problems with the service in the room – when we called to have the sofa bed made up, someone was with us within minutes. We used room service and had no problems with that, and we received daily calls to ask whether everything was ok with our stay.

The location of the hotel is perfect as it’s very close to the masjid, and the hotel has 2 separate entrances at each side of the block, which makes it easier to access either the men’s gates or the women’s gates of the masjid.

The only downside for me was the fact that service at breakfast time wasn’t always great. The tables weren’t cleaned very well after people had left – crumbs were left everywhere on the table and chairs, and the tables weren’t really re-set properly, with items always missing (cutlery, napkins etc.), and it always took a long time for staff to replace the items (after being asked), IF they did that at all. Other than that, the variety and quality of the food for breakfast was excellent.

We didn’t try the food in the hotel restaurant as the set price per person seemed a bit excessive for a buffet meal, especially compared to the prices outside the hotel. Having said that, the variety of food available outside the hotel isn’t great, with chicken and chips and kebabs being the only options really.

Service at breakfast aside, we would definitely recommend this hotel, and we will consider this again for any future stays in Madinah.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear WaraLondon,

We are delighted to read your review and learn that you had an enjoyable stay at Shaza Al Madina.

Our main goal is to satisfy our guests and this is what our team is trained for.

Your valuable comments regarding the furniture , carpet , breakfast operations and the prices are appreciated and seriously taken in consideration for improvements that we can make.

We look forward to welcome you again at Shaza Al Madina

Sincerely

Brahim robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

was very lucky to book this hotel "shaza hotel" it is close from the ladies Gate - also from the dining place i could see the Haram .the buffet breakfast was excellent .

i was aslo give an update to suite room . by the Mr (Mohammed Satih ) The Assistant front Office Manager . who called me after i checked in if i would like and update . and the aslo called me again asking me if the suite is nice .

also the staff were very friendly every day i get calls from the customer services asking about the my stay .really me and my wife felt we are important customers .

really the staff and the service of the hotel and location is very good.
the hotel offer arabic coffee and dates in the main entrance until 11 clock pm
even the staff how servers work coffee and dates is very friendly if irecall his name is Mr Omar.

really from experiences i would like to thank Mr Mohammed saith and all the staff from making my stay very different and enjoyable. and for sure will visit and stay this hotel again

Room Tip: good service and good location And excellent buffet breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpions009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Scorpions009,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that our team made it an enjoyable one.

Personalized service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.
With Sincere Regards,

Brahim Robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUWAIT
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Close to everything. My room was upgraded to a suite of free. But the furniture was not clean and the bathroom is good but weak either Dgz water bed was comfortable. And the Internet for free and fast to use only two. As for the restaurant that has a wonderful buffet and diverse choices and tastes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHMAD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Ahmad B,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that you have enjoyed the upgrade and our breakfast.

Your comments regarding furniture cleanliness and water issues are appreciated and being followed up with the concerned departments

Personalized service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.
With Sincere Regards,

Brahim Robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Really mr. Samer ahmed is best recessional and he is will come for any one and with he his Preacher in his job he is like to help the old people with deferent country he trying to show them the best face

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aymanabbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Ayman abbas,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to
making your trip to the hotel a great experience.

We have communicated your positive comment with Sameer with our appreciation for his customer oriented attitude.

Personalized service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.
With Sincere Regards,

Brahim Robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Excellent location beside this every thing is really bad. This hotel does not qualify for a 5 Star hotel maximum 3 star . Dirty,worn,burned carpet.Bathroom is so dirty I believe no one clean this more than a year. Leak in the bathroom and bathroom ceiling, no bath tissue. Broken light in the bathroom and bedroom. Dirty refrigerator. Broken bathroom sink. Carpet is so dirty in the room and hallway.Breakfast was not so bad. WIFI signal is so weak I was unable to do anything. If you ask about this front desk staff will tell you network down will be fixed tomorrow. In room safe does not work.Front desk staff barely speak English. I have taken lots of picture and posting them In TripAdvisor. No value for the money you spent for each night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAZAFAR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Aazafar1,

Thank you for sharing with us your valuable feedback , and we are sorry to learn that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us.

All you points have been addressed and followed up by me personally with the concerned departments and actions are taken in order not to have such issues occurring again.

For the carpet point , i would like to inform you that we are in the process of implementing a permanent solution that will ensure more comfort and guest satisfaction.The points you have mentioned regarding cleanliness and functionality of the room have been addressed and very well taken care of .

We hope to welcome you again at Shaza Al Madina and provide with a memorable and enjoyable hospitality and again please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Remaining at your disposal,

Brahim robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Visiting Medina again, we stayed again here. At check in it was crowded little but it did not take long to accommodate us. it was a comfortable stay , and we enjoyed the food very much.concierge team was very helpful. the only remark i have , why are your service elevators have access to guest corridors. after trying most of five stars hotels in the city , i can un-doubtfully confirm that,on the scale of Media and Mecca hotels, it occupies a place on the top,and the nicest thing was that phone call my husband received to see if we need anything and ask about our stay.Applause to management for a high sense of customer service

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raushna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, General Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear raushna,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that you have enjoyed the upgrade and our breakfast.

Personalized service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.
With Sincere Regards,

Brahim Robio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.0 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 136 in Medina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dallah Taibah Hotel
Dallah Taibah Hotel
#5 of 136 in Medina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Zamzam Madina
Pullman Zamzam Madina
#6 of 136 in Medina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madina Oberoi
Madina Oberoi
#2 of 136 in Medina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Taqwa Hotel - Madinah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaza Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaza Al Madina

Property: Shaza Al Madina
Address: King Fahad Road | P.O. Box 25517, Postal Code 41476, Building No# 2943, Central Area, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Medina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shaza Al Madina 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaza Al Madina is the only luxury hotel in the area with a contemporary Eastern design. The hotel sets incomparable levels of hospitality, elegance and state-of-the-art technology. Ideally located at the doorsteps of the Masjid Al Nabawy in Medina, only 150 M. The hotel enjoys a perfect location within the heart of the city and only a short 20 minutes (15 KM) drive from Prince Mohammad Bin Abdulaziz International Airport. Shaza Al Madina two dining options include an open show kitchen, which serves fusion cuisine. Shaza Al Madina’s intimate interiors are filled with mood lighting, created by international designer Morten Hansen of LWD Dubai, in association with calligrapher Mounir Al Sharaani, Egyptian lighting designer Randa Fahmy and with photographic installations by acclaimed Peter Sanders. The hotel’s walls were decorated by Soraya Sanders, famous for her traditional Arabic designs. Fresh and creative cuisine can be tasted at the Shalimar lounge. For a unique blend of North African, Persian and South-East Asian delights, guests are welcome to visit the airy Arabesque Restaurant. Rooms at the Shaza Al Madina are elegant and create the atmosphere of peacefulness. Shaza Al Madina is the ultimate hotel experience in the Middle East, a modern icon where exclusive Arabian luxury meets state of the art facilities. The hotel is designed to cater to every possible need and transport guests to a place of serenity and luxury, a unique haven for the modern traveller who expects only excellence in service and an exquisite ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Shaza Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaza Al Madina Hotel Medina
Shaza Al Madina Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing