We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and Modern”
Review of Shaza Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shaza Al Madina
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Medina
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
“Close and Modern”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location of this Hotel is Excellent in proximity to Masjid Al Nabawi.
Furnishing throughout the Hotel are very Modern especially the Rooms and Bathroom, probably the Most Modern of all the Hotels in Madinah. Overall it was a wonderful two nights I spent here, the only reason I am not giving this a 5 star is the Service from House Keeping and Reception (checkin/checkout) is lacking. Also, I am a GHA Discovery Platinum Member but the Receptionist refused to Acknowledge that and did not give me the necessary upgrade / extras that I should have been entitled to.

Room Tip: Take the Superior Rooms, they cost a bit more but are a littler larger and Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suleman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Director of Operations at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Suleman,

Dear DarrenIW

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were happy to read your review. Your comments regarding Front Offfice and Houskeeping are appreciated and being followed up with the concerned departments in order to deliver the best service and satisfy our guests needs with special attention to our valuable GHA guests.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.

With Sincere Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    195
    81
    30
    50
See reviews for
478
118
49
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel when pilgrims last year. Nice impressed all the facilities, service and friendly employees and leaders.

After that, the Umrah season this year, we got the impression is not good, especially the communication is not smooth and incomplete from the reservation. Beside via email, sometimes we must cage repeatedly calls directly from Indonesia to reiterate our request to the reservation results. In fact we are also asking for help Nadeer (Marketing Division) to complete or involved the bookkeeping our room.

Hopefully impressions and suggestions through the media ahead could be more professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AqshaTYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ashya,

Thank you very much for posting the above esteemed review.
We are deeply regretful for the unhappy experience you may have encountered
during your stay at Shaza Al Madina. Please note that your comments has raised
and discussed with the concern departments who confirmed to carefully reviewing
the whole process and implementing the relevant training required. We are making
every effort to ensure that such incidents do not occur in the future.

We hope these incidents will not mar your impression of our hotel and we will
endeavor to do everything possible to make your future stays enjoyable.

With Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for one night. The atmosphere is Islamic and Arabic. All the art work is Arabic calligraphy. The rooms were very clean. Really a five star hotel. Of you need anything the staff are very helpful. Breakfast and lunch had lots of veriety.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jooji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Jooji

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to
making your trip to the hotel a great experience.

Personalized service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.

With Sincere Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Shaz al Madina hotel for four days and found the best valued service through out our stay. The reception was excellent. Every body, specially Mr Hamza and Mr Sami were all the time ready for any possible help. The rooms were good and house keeping was very prompt. The dining area was very nicely decorated with homely environment. One would like to stay in this hotel with great pleasure.

Dr Ismail Qamar


Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Ismail Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Dr. Ismail,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to
making your trip to the hotel a great experience.
Personalized service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.
With Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Honestly I would like to rate this hotel as an excellent hotel comparing with other hotels in Madina

First I reach Madina at midnight before Fajer Prayer . I got an excellent welcome from the the front desk Mr. Ayman

He welcomed me with a smile face
And always he is helpful

The staff are excellent

Breakfast was excellent also as the variety of food was given

The service I can say that is very good

They are not to that extent good in cleaning as it should be and here I can highlight that the cleaners are not that professional and they should be more trained

The space of the room is sufficient

The place is excellent which is near to Haram

I will be coming again for this hotel in Sa Allah

Thanks to Ayman and also Bander Al baydanee for there welcoming and support

Regards



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bu Salman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Bu Salman,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to
making your trip to the hotel a great experience.
Personalized service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.
With Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at this hotel with my wife for a stay of 3 days. Upon arrival in a five star hotel, or even any hotel saying that, you expect a greeting or a welcome from the front desk, however here at Shaza most staff behind the desk simply found it more important to completely ignore us, even knowing our presence is there. The staff were more involved in talking to others that walked up to the desk, having a simple chit chat with others and amongst themselves. If you approach a staff at the desk he will walk off and stand behind one of his colleagues, once again total ignorance. Extremely strange.

Nonetheless we were finally acknowledged by Faris who figured out we were waiting to check in - Wow, what a genius! He Quickly made us two keys got me to quickly sign something and heavily emphasised that we are going to love his amazing hotel. This whole process took him approx 20 minutes, out of that 20 he spent 15 mins having a social with others or listening to other people's conversations.
So We got to our room to no electricity meaning not a single spec of light. When I went down to query Faris rudely said electricity is gone and should be back shortly. Ok so these things can happen however ive paid to stay in your "amazing" hotel so the least you can do is apologise for the inconvenience. I accepted it and my wife and I moved on with what we were here for.

2 days in an still not a single spec of electricity or light on the hotel and now they decided to switch off the water as well with no clear explanation as to why. Once again I went down to query and they couldn't give a simple answer, no apology, no nothing.

Eventually from a kind passer on the streets they told us that the electricity had gone in the area and no hotels were receiving it. Fair enough. No harm in that these things happen but a simple contingency plan should be in place for a 5 star hotel which supposedly is partners with the great Kempenski. We walked into neighbouring hotels, Hilton, Intercontinental, Radisson Blu, and yes they had the same situation but were so apologetic and trying to do all they could to make there guests feel comfortable, Total opposite in Shaza!

So eventually the lights and water returned on our final night. The hotel itself decor wise is quite nice, very well located, breakfast is decent, with a wide selection, however the staff seriously need training or even just need to be taught simple manners as they are extremely rude.

Most emphasis should be placed on Faris who is the front desk supervisor supposedly. Whoever recruited this guy to be a front desk manager seriously had no idea about what the hospitality business is about. I really hate writing reviews like this and Moreso to name and shame people which i have never done before but this gentlemen really deserves this for the way he was treating some of the guests, not just us. Luckily the hotel wasn't the highlight and motive of our trip, we had other priorities however if you are looking for a even the smallest of service do not stay at this hotel!

I guess there's a reason that most of the reviews on here are for the same complaint. The hotel doesn't even have the decency to send a personalised reply on trip advisor to disappointed guests as they obviously don't care about the ongoing problems of terrible customer service!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZNKRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear ZNKRS,

Thank you very much for posting the above esteemed review.
We are deeply regretful for the unhappy experience you may have encountered
during your stay at Shaza Al Madina. Please note that your comments has raised
and discussed with the concern departments who confirmed to carefully reviewing
the whole process and implementing the relevant training required. We are making
every effort to ensure that such incidents do not occur in the future.

We hope these incidents will not mar your impression of our hotel and we will
endeavor to do everything possible to make your future stays enjoyable.

With Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Really, you wilI feel different when staying at Shaza compared to another Hotel in Madinah. This is the 3rd hotel that I had stayed near Masjid Nabawi. The room was not too big, but very clean and the room decoration was beautiful. The staffs mostly speaking english & very helpful. The restaurant was clean & relaxed with Masjid view on the large window.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Azis,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to
making your trip to the hotel a great experience.
Personalized service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.
With Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.0 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 138 in Medina
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dallah Taibah Hotel
Dallah Taibah Hotel
#6 of 138 in Medina
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
#10 of 138 in Medina
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Taqwa Hotel - Madinah
0.5 mi away
Pullman Zamzam Madina
Pullman Zamzam Madina
#5 of 138 in Medina
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaza Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaza Al Madina

Property: Shaza Al Madina
Address: King Fahad Road | P.O. Box 25517, Postal Code 41476, Building No# 2943, Central Area, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Medina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shaza Al Madina 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaza Al Madina is the only luxury hotel in the area with a contemporary Eastern design. The hotel sets incomparable levels of hospitality, elegance and state-of-the-art technology. Ideally located at the doorsteps of the Masjid Al Nabawy in Medina, only 150 M. The hotel enjoys a perfect location within the heart of the city and only a short 20 minutes (15 KM) drive from Prince Mohammad Bin Abdulaziz International Airport. Shaza Al Madina two dining options include an open show kitchen, which serves fusion cuisine. Shaza Al Madina’s intimate interiors are filled with mood lighting, created by international designer Morten Hansen of LWD Dubai, in association with calligrapher Mounir Al Sharaani, Egyptian lighting designer Randa Fahmy and with photographic installations by acclaimed Peter Sanders. The hotel’s walls were decorated by Soraya Sanders, famous for her traditional Arabic designs. Fresh and creative cuisine can be tasted at the Shalimar lounge. For a unique blend of North African, Persian and South-East Asian delights, guests are welcome to visit the airy Arabesque Restaurant. Rooms at the Shaza Al Madina are elegant and create the atmosphere of peacefulness. Shaza Al Madina is the ultimate hotel experience in the Middle East, a modern icon where exclusive Arabian luxury meets state of the art facilities. The hotel is designed to cater to every possible need and transport guests to a place of serenity and luxury, a unique haven for the modern traveller who expects only excellence in service and an exquisite ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shaza Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaza Al Madina Hotel Medina
Shaza Al Madina Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing