We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great location - patchy internet!”
Review of Shaza Al Madina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shaza Al Madina
Ranked #6 of 141 Hotels in Medina
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great location - patchy internet!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 12th march - 17th march 2013. It is a fantastic hotel. Please note most hotels in madina are old and havent been refurbished for ages. This one has been refurbished throughout last year so you are probably staying at one of the best hotels here in madina.

Best bits - fantastic location, dont even need to cross a single road to get to the mosque, centrally located, lots of nice decor, comfortable beds, fantastic buffet breakfast, polite and friendly staff.

Bad bits - the hotel is actually old and you can tell that by how thick the room phone is, how old the room safe is. however like i said, you will not find one of this standard. these are minor things.

The internet only works in the lounge and reception areas. I have told the hotel they need to sort this out asap as people have busy lives and need to contact family colleagues on different time zones and as there is such a massive choice available (hilton, movenpick intercontinental) a stone throw away from here, patchy internet service is unacceptable.

The breakfast time can get busy - there are approx 450 guests and about 150 cups. We had to wait over 20 mins and no cup arrived even though we were kept on being told 10 mins 10 mins. They fixed this issue by serving tea themselves rather than let the guests take the cups and take ages to rewash and reissue again. I had tea and coffee in my own room but was refused to take any pastries with me until i explained it to the manager that i cant possibly wait another 20 mins to get a cup to have a cuppa - he agreed and understood.

When we checked in the first room we were given stunk of the drainage system - i said whats that smell? oh its the freshner. no its not its the toilet smell. i went right back to reception and was told i cant change my room as the hotel was full. i said well i will check out and go elsewhere and told the guy to ring the manager, and was then given a different room. Sorry for a 5 star hotel smelly rooms are just not acceptable. I did not accept i was told the hotel was full then i complained and suddenly the hotel was empty.

We pay alot of money to come here and shaza al madina is definitely a great hotel - great staff, great location, great food. Just need to sort out the 100% availability 100% around the hotel 100% of the time, and make sure we get clean nice smelling rooms, and make sure there are enough cups to serve us for breakfast or allow us to take some small items back to our rooms. Other than that a fantastic hotel - will i return to this hotel? Definitely - but only if you can fix the internet otherwise i will definitely go elsewhere.

Please do let everyone know if the internet gets fixed or not. And please do not lie to your guests and say its the freshner when its the drainage smell coming through.

I do also hope you will get rid of the nasty looking big phones. Go have a look at the system in swiss hotel makkah thats where we stayed. I understand thats a newly built hotel but insha Allah shaza is a great hotel too.

Thanks for everything.,

Room Tip: Do not accept a smelly room. All rooms are good. But internet service does not work in the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nasarlatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Latif,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your stay at
Shaza Al Madina during your visit to Al Madinah Al Munawarah.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel location, breakfast buffet as
well as our services. We greatly value your feedback and opinions and will make
sure to communicate your comments to the concerned departments.

We work very hard to ensure that our guests feel right at home at our hotel and
hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you with impeccable service, upon
your next visit to Al Madinah Al Munawarah.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shaza Al Madina in the near future.
With Sincere Regards,

Abdullah Shorbah,
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    197
    81
    30
    50
See reviews for
487
120
49
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice hotel with beautiful room decor.Cleaned and spacious room.Good bathroom facilities..comfortable bed...but most rooms are with single double bed....the sitting room sofa is convertible bed.
Location is very closed to Masjidil Annabawi..
Breakfast was good.
Free wifi in every room .

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room... We stayed in 2 rooms being the other one was a liltle smaller.They don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank G_dol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your stay at
Shaza Al Madina during your visit to Al Madinah Al Munawarah.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel location, breakfast buffet as
well as our services. We greatly value your feedback and opinions and will make
sure to communicate your comments to the concerned departments.

We work very hard to ensure that our guests feel right at home at our hotel and
hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you with impeccable service, upon
your next visit to Al Madinah Al Munawarah.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shaza Al Madina in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Abdullah Shorbah,
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was quite a welcome surprise to find a boutique hotel rivaling any in the US, in Madinah. We walked in to find Arabic Coffee & Dates in the lobby as part of Welcome Service. The decor was very cool and so was the calligraphy on the walls. The room service was timely and of good quality and the open kitchen looked like something from the 'Food Network' channel. We look forward to staying there again on our next opportunity.

Room Tip: Our room was selected by Dar El Salam travel agents, the only suggested change would be to get a low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 48Imraan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Imraan,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your stay at
Shaza Al Madina during your visit to Al Madinah Al Munawarah.

We were delighted to read that you liked our staff attitude as well as our hotel
location.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and
upon your next visit to Al Madinah Al Munawwarah.

With Sincere Regards,

Abdullah Shorbah,
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed in February 2013
What can I say, I didn't know anything about throttle, my travel agent recommended it and I said fine.
The taxi from Mecca wouldn't find the place so I got worried that it may be a small little hotel, I was proven wrong.
Once inside the reception is lovely and the staff spoke perfect English (not usually what I find)
The check in was really good and they even rang me in my room to make sure I was happy
I had a junior suite and it was very nice
Very spacious good bed,and on door step of the grand mosque
Hd donned here which was a buffet and very nice,
Will definitely return inshala

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Z-Tariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Tariq,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to
making your trip to the Hotel a great experience.
Personalized service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.

With Sincere Regards,

Abdullah Shorbah
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have just come back from a pilgrimage to Saudi Arabia. One of the places I stayed at was Shaza Al Madina hotel in Holy city Madina. I was really impressed by the luxury of the hotel. The understated elegance of the decor throughout. We stayed in a triple room and were pleasantly surprised by the generous size of the room and big comfortable beds we slept in. In the morning we even more impressed by the breakfast buffet which covered every single food requirement and the variety of food is endless. Guests can view The Nabawi mosque from the restaurant. The staff from front office to housekeeping and food beverage department are very helpful, polite and courteous. Little detail like a free Arab coffee and dates station in the lobby area greet guests every afternoon. The hotel location is only a stone's throw away from the mosque. One of the best!

Room Tip: Rooms have individual corridor aside from the main corridor so guests can have a peaceful and tranq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, Manager at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear lily B,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to
making your trip to the Hotel a great experience.
Personalised service is of great importance to Shaza, and we invest heavily into training
to ensure every guest feels special.
Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback.

With Sincere Regards,

Abdullah Shorbah,
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

generally clean but many spots in bathroom and water leak. only one night complimentary coffee or cream, charge 30 riyal for same. general breakfast buffet was very good, hats off to cook and service.
i believe you cannot compare any of these 5 star hotels with hotels in u.s or canada.
secondly booking through travel agency is a rip off

Room Tip: you have very limited choice , donot expect the same service as other countries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Niaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, E-Commerce Executive at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Niaz,

Thank you very much for posting the above esteemed review.

Kindly note that your comments has been taken into consideration by the hotel management and discussed with the concern departments who confirmed to carefully reviewing the whole services process and implementing the relevant training required. We are making every effort to ensure that such incidents do not occur in the future.

We hope these incidents will not mar your impression of our hotel and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you with impeccable service, upon your next visit to Al Madinah Al Munawarah.

With Sincere Regards,
Mahmoud Nagy
E-Commerce Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saihat
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Overall, it is very nice hotel in terms of design, facilities and location. The hotel is located opposite to the prophet mosque and surrounded by souqs and malls. However, there are areas of improvement in this hotel. First, the staff services were as expected and I waited 2 hours to get baby crib. Another thing is making sure that every room is made up after check-out. Due to electrical problems, I had to move another room ( The hotel treated me well and gave me a suite :) ) . However, this room wasn't made up and the blanket was old and needed to be changed. Anyway, I still encourge everone visiting Medina to stay on Shaza Hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Buhadeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShazaAlMadina, E-Commerce Executive at Shaza Al Madina, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Buhadeel,

Thank you very much for posting the above esteemed review about your stay at Shaza Al Madina during your visit to Al Madinah Al Munawarah.

We were delighted to read that you liked our hotel location as well as our services. Kindly note that your comments has been taken into consideration by the hotel management and discussed with the concern departments who confirmed to carefully reviewing the whole services process and implementing the relevant training required. We are making every effort to ensure that such incidents do not occur in the future.

We consider it a distinct privilege to have had you as a guest and we would be honoured to welcome you back to Shaza Al Madina in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,
Mahmoud Nagy
E-Commerce Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.0 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 141 in Medina
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.6 mi away
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
#10 of 141 in Medina
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Zamzam Madina
Pullman Zamzam Madina
#7 of 141 in Medina
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Madinah-Dar Al Iman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaza Al Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaza Al Madina

Property: Shaza Al Madina
Address: King Fahad Road | P.O. Box 25517, Postal Code 41476, Building No# 2943, Central Area, Medina, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Medina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Medina
#14 Best Value Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shaza Al Madina 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaza Al Madina is the only luxury hotel in the area with a contemporary Eastern design. The hotel sets incomparable levels of hospitality, elegance and state-of-the-art technology. Ideally located at the doorsteps of the Masjid Al Nabawy in Medina, only 150 M. The hotel enjoys a perfect location within the heart of the city and only a short 20 minutes (15 KM) drive from Prince Mohammad Bin Abdulaziz International Airport. Shaza Al Madina two dining options include an open show kitchen, which serves fusion cuisine. Shaza Al Madina’s intimate interiors are filled with mood lighting, created by international designer Morten Hansen of LWD Dubai, in association with calligrapher Mounir Al Sharaani, Egyptian lighting designer Randa Fahmy and with photographic installations by acclaimed Peter Sanders. The hotel’s walls were decorated by Soraya Sanders, famous for her traditional Arabic designs. Fresh and creative cuisine can be tasted at the Shalimar lounge. For a unique blend of North African, Persian and South-East Asian delights, guests are welcome to visit the airy Arabesque Restaurant. Rooms at the Shaza Al Madina are elegant and create the atmosphere of peacefulness. Shaza Al Madina is the ultimate hotel experience in the Middle East, a modern icon where exclusive Arabian luxury meets state of the art facilities. The hotel is designed to cater to every possible need and transport guests to a place of serenity and luxury, a unique haven for the modern traveller who expects only excellence in service and an exquisite ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shaza Al Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaza Al Madina Hotel Medina
Shaza Al Madina Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing