We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claustrophobic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel
Ranked #15 of 138 Hotels in Medina
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Claustrophobic”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Firstly don't be surprised if you are literally thrown outside the hotel and rushed to take your luggage by the Taxi driver.
This is because most hotels in Madinah has on drive- in.

This hotel has the lousiest reception. The concierge is extremely small and again the staff lack western etiquette.

Our room was a suite consisting of two connecting rooms with intividual ensuite bathrooms.
The room were dark and no view only overlooking side walls and windows.

Decor is ok but Cleanliness is below five star level.
Dirty old stained carpets, dirty and dusty furnitures and toilets were left with skid marks ( disgusting).
It seems the staff lack serious training so can't blame the poor foriegn workers.

This hotel is claustrophobic with night club themed lighting but without bling bling!!!

Room Tip: One of the closest to Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SaraAkhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    33
    10
    6
See reviews for
65
17
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during my visit to Madinah. This hotel advertises itself as five star but at best it is probably a 4 star hotel (no comparison with Madinah Hilton or Madinah Oberoi for example). As others mentioned it is good location in Markazia (central area), third row of hotels from Prophet's mosque towards ladies entrance so you can reach inside mosque in 5-7 minutes which is probably only positive factor. I found customer service at average at best. Check in staff are locals who speaks mainly Arabic and very little english and they did not even smile while checkin and didnt even say welcome or "Marhaba". I am Club Carlson Gold member (which was already in my booking) still there was no recognition of my elite status, I did not receive complimentary upgrade and I was not even provided complimentary bottle of water despite reminding atleast twice to front desk. It is interesting to note that at front desk they did have big banners for Club Carlson membership benefits and some enrolment forms for club carlson membership but staff had no regard for Elite Gold member at all (as in my case). Hotel rooms are very small and would not fit a family with children unless they opt for quad room or suite (which would be way more expensive). Hotel building is newish with round circular core and multiple lifts which is probably only good thing otherwise rooms are small, bathroom-toilet even smaller. If you have few bags than you will hardly have any room to move inside room. Wifi is free which is good but signals can be weak at time. Morning breakfast was average with limited selection of hot/cold items but nothing extra ordinary. I would not rate this hotel as five star but mostly close to a good 3 star or average 4 star hotel in Western country.Not really a great value for money unless you find a cheaper rate or wanting to stay for brief period and not expecting a decent customer service.

Room Tip: Request for larger room as standard room is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelfan123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es salaam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I must say that the radisson was not my first choice, I booked pretty late and hence it was my second choice. The location was the most important factor. I travelled with kids and it was a good 5 minutes walk to Haram and direct to the ladies entrance which was a bonus. Check in was pretty quick, we had efficient, English speaking staff.
The rooms are pretty small and we had trouble with our suitcases. The bathrooms are just as small, you barely had room to move about.
The breakfast was good with a variety of hot and cold foods.
Free wifi was a definite plus for the hotel and we were given the access code as soon as we checked in. The hotel has quite a few lifts so you don't have to wait for too long for one.
Staff in the hotel were generally helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Safari_njema40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The main factor for us in Madina is always the location. The property in in the third row of hotels from the north wall of the haram, on the east side. It is in line with the main ladies area/entrance. It takes about 5 minutes walking at a moderate pace to reach the haram door. So its not too far away and if its winter and you are all fit and healthy, I doubt the short walk will trouble you at all but in the summer when its above 40 degrees in the shade you will certainly feel it. There are are other hotels that are closer for example, Dallah Taibah or Taibah Arac.

The hotel is an unusual design with an open circular core running all the way up the building that houses the lobby on the ground floor. There are several lifts mostly located close together but not all interconnected so you are left pressing different call buttons and trying to figure out which bank of lifts will come first.

Our room was comfortable and clean. 5 star hotels in Makkah and Madina tend to be equivalent to 4 star hotels elsewhere and this was no different in terms of the room.

The buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate with a wide variety of the usual hot and cold items but nothing stood out. There were no fresh juices or filter coffee (just the instant stuff) but again, that's not unusual in Makkah/Madina.

Service was acceptable but nothing special. Staff came across as responsive but I wouldn't say welcoming or friendly. We had (almost) no help with our luggage, either on our arrival or departure.

Overall, a perfectly fine functional hotel. But presumably most visitors are staying there for its proximity to the haram rather than the comfort of the hotel. On that front, there are better, cheaper options like Dallah Taibah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ak47a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Radisson Blu is a good "Five Star" option that is closer to the Ladies entrance, but you still have to walk two blocks which might be a bit much for anyone who has mobility issues.

We had booked a quad room, however the nice check in person upgraded us to a suite with two bathrooms. A definite plus!

Food was fine, but was not to the level that you would expect from a true five star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank krafih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

+ points::
Near to haram, just road crossing will help you to reach haram. Posh hotel. Staff very helpful.
They provide extra two blankets immediately when requested. Internet free. They gave us internet card on arrival. Cafetaria was lovely, good service. I will highly recommend this to family. They have 4-5 lifts , so no waiting time for elevator
Negative points: :Very small rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BeautifulCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a nice hotel, close to Medinah Masjid. The facilities are good. I went during a very busy time which was Eid and even though the breakfast hall was very busy I still managed to find a spot for my family.

The rooms are OK in size and the in-room dining is priced OK.

One tip: take a shower cloth with you as they don't have any.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arfan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.4 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dallah Taibah Hotel
Dallah Taibah Hotel
#6 of 138 in Medina
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
#10 of 138 in Medina
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 138 in Medina
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Villa Madinah
Holiday Villa Madinah
#17 of 138 in Medina
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel

Property: Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel
Address: Obaidah Bin Al Jarrah Street, Central Area, Medina, Saudi Arabia (Formerly Al Muna Kareem Radisson Blu)
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Medina
#15 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Muna Kareem Radisson Blu Hotel Medina
Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing