We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but there are better options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel
Ranked #15 of 143 Hotels in Medina
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good but there are better options”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The main factor for us in Madina is always the location. The property in in the third row of hotels from the north wall of the haram, on the east side. It is in line with the main ladies area/entrance. It takes about 5 minutes walking at a moderate pace to reach the haram door. So its not too far away and if its winter and you are all fit and healthy, I doubt the short walk will trouble you at all but in the summer when its above 40 degrees in the shade you will certainly feel it. There are are other hotels that are closer for example, Dallah Taibah or Taibah Arac.

The hotel is an unusual design with an open circular core running all the way up the building that houses the lobby on the ground floor. There are several lifts mostly located close together but not all interconnected so you are left pressing different call buttons and trying to figure out which bank of lifts will come first.

Our room was comfortable and clean. 5 star hotels in Makkah and Madina tend to be equivalent to 4 star hotels elsewhere and this was no different in terms of the room.

The buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate with a wide variety of the usual hot and cold items but nothing stood out. There were no fresh juices or filter coffee (just the instant stuff) but again, that's not unusual in Makkah/Madina.

Service was acceptable but nothing special. Staff came across as responsive but I wouldn't say welcoming or friendly. We had (almost) no help with our luggage, either on our arrival or departure.

Overall, a perfectly fine functional hotel. But presumably most visitors are staying there for its proximity to the haram rather than the comfort of the hotel. On that front, there are better, cheaper options like Dallah Taibah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ak47a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    59
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
67
17
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Radisson Blu is a good "Five Star" option that is closer to the Ladies entrance, but you still have to walk two blocks which might be a bit much for anyone who has mobility issues.

We had booked a quad room, however the nice check in person upgraded us to a suite with two bathrooms. A definite plus!

Food was fine, but was not to the level that you would expect from a true five star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank krafih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

+ points::
Near to haram, just road crossing will help you to reach haram. Posh hotel. Staff very helpful.
They provide extra two blankets immediately when requested. Internet free. They gave us internet card on arrival. Cafetaria was lovely, good service. I will highly recommend this to family. They have 4-5 lifts , so no waiting time for elevator
Negative points: :Very small rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BeautifulCanada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a nice hotel, close to Medinah Masjid. The facilities are good. I went during a very busy time which was Eid and even though the breakfast hall was very busy I still managed to find a spot for my family.

The rooms are OK in size and the in-room dining is priced OK.

One tip: take a shower cloth with you as they don't have any.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arfan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt - Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

very very good hotel.
location is very near to haram.
view from room not good but needless.
service and room service very nice.
staff very very helpful.
specially in the restaurant.
food is very very amazing and variety is big.
but the bad thing is the room is very small.
but the room is very clean and luxury .
my overall review is very very good hotel.

Room Tip: any room in this hotel very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heshambek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the facility itself which is kind of nicely decorated and clean, and the price which not cheap but reasonable compared to the area.

On the other hand, I would not return to this hotel for the following reasons:
- Very small rooms.
- I requested slippers, the hotel was out of them until our last day.
- We requested hair conditioner, they did not have it or know what it is.
- A lot of scratches in bath tub.
- Old and smelly towels.
- Breakfast was a disgrace and ripoff. Very lousy food and too crowded to the extent that you find someone sitting in your place if you do not guard it, I saw people eating while standing.
- This weird hotel has a policy not to clean guest rooms unless they are present! Why do the have "Clean my Room" signs then?!
- I woke up twice to the sound a drill.
- I woke up once on some kind of electrical shock in the AC.
- At check-out, the bill boy held our luggage until he double-checked with reception whether we paid our bill! Reception said its their procedure! What kind of 5-star hotel treats their guests this way, like thieves!
- They refused to add my frequent traveler info to the reservation, and said they only accept the Radisson Blu loyality membership, for which they were out of applications.

Room Tip: I do not recommend the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EB1433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medina hotels

Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

First of all, this hotel has a great sense of style. We stayed there just for the day, and left at 12:00 AM for our flight at 4 AM. Anyways, the rooms were very, very nice. They had the most helpful staff I've ever seen. We had brought 8 huge luggage and the guys came and took them to a huge locker, all for free. We didn't even have to do any work. The rooms were just such well kept. Everything was cleaned and new. The hotel gave us many amenities, although some of them cost some money, such as food and luxury shuttle services. We got pretty fast LAN and WiFi internet, very helpful.The beds were very comfy and I fell asleep quite easily. At 12:00, the staff was still there ready to do anything. Again, they took our luggage and put it in a van that they got for us. We were very impressed with their work and gave them huge tips. At last we left and we hope we go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prplninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medina hotels
0.1 mi away
Madinah Hilton
Madinah Hilton
#1 of 143 in Medina
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anwar Al Madinah Movenpick Hotel
0.6 mi away
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
#10 of 143 in Medina
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Majlis GRAND MERCURE Madina
0.1 mi away
Shaza Al Madina
Shaza Al Madina
#6 of 143 in Medina
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Taqwa Hotel - Madinah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel

Property: Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel
Address: Obaidah Bin Al Jarrah Street, Central Area, Medina, Saudi Arabia (Formerly Al Muna Kareem Radisson Blu)
Location: Saudi Arabia > Al Madinah Province > Medina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Medina
#15 Luxury Hotel in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Muna Kareem Radisson Blu Hotel Medina
Leader Al Muna Kareem Hotel Al Madinah/Medina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing