We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way out of day and way too expensive!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dhahran International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dhahran International Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dhahran
Shreveport, La.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Way out of day and way too expensive!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

For the price I paid at other hotels and the quality I received, this place is way over priced. It has been here for a while and I have no doubt it was a great place in its day but its just too out dated. They still try hard to be the best on the block but are falling way short. It's time to rebuild. I will not stay here again now that I know what I'm getting for the price. It even look old from the outside.

Room Tip: If you do come here make sure your air conditioning will work during the hot part of the day. Mine d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
2
2
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Staff were helpful and very pleasent,rooms are shabby - loose tiles in bathroom etc,just run down.No tea or coffee facilities in room.Food was good but luke warm with breakfast eggs and sausages cold and hot plates etc not kept hot.The location is perfect - no noise from outside or nearby - as others have said - its not modern and needs restoration throughout.In my opinion it is abit expensive at £80 single room.Probably a safe bet for first time visitor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stavros007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here whilst on business in the area. I can only echo previous reviews, it's an old building with old rooms, decor and facilities. Desperately in need of renovating! However the staff were excellent and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indimaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,031 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a very old hotel (70s/80s?), and it shows it. Carpets are brown and old, the lift shakes because it is old, many of the towels are thin because they are old. I have stayed here before, and the staff however always impress. They know (and use) your name, the run around after things you need, room service is prompt and tasty (and plentiful). The hotel runs x3 daily buses to and from the local town and/or shopping centres at 9am, 4pm and 6.45pm. These are free and worth it for the experience (particularly if you are new to Saudi Arabia). There are lots of things that will annoy you like the (old) shower curtains hardly reach the side of the bath, so there is always water everywhere. There not enough plugs in the rooms (but they are US, EU and UK). Overall, I'm generally OK to stay here, but a week is enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is an ancient hotel that hasn't been renovated. I stayed here on business because I had to, but it was a very pleasant experience. The service was good, the food excellent, and the room good (but very very old). It's located pretty much inside a military base, so it's a safe area. It's not perfect, but I like it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have been to this hotel many times as this is the one provided by my company and I have no choice, The hotel is located far from the main town and has a very poor accessiblity even by a private taxi, It's facade is old and the rooms are also in the old style(70's-80's). Still the rooms are warm, big and good. The showers and Toilets have all the Old fixtures. The beds are comfortable if not so good. Food at the restaurant is delicious and it offers various themes throughout the week. It has a good helath center, Swimming pool and Tennis facilities. It has a small confference hall, Business Center, Saloon and Coffee Shop. You can prefer this hotel if you want to stay away from City Traffic.

Room Tip: It's in a faraway location, Beware unless you have your own vehicle or would like to use hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavithKantheti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I first visited this hotel over 25 years ago when the the main airport was just across the road. When the airport relocated and became less busy before becoming famous as the CNN conference centre during the Gulf War. A few years ago it could be described as tired and jaded and the five stars seemed to be optimistic. The hotel is now in recovery, the stars are regaining some polish. I've stayed there several times recently and the rooms have been redecorated and are quite comfortable. The restaurant is quite good and has the same themed evenings that it had twenty years ago, the breakfast is excellent and it is included in the room rate. The entrance lobby is much the same as it has always been. The hotel is conveniently located for Al-Khobar and Dhahran. It's not really the full five stars but it's good enough for business trips and I've even stayed there a few times with the family. The open air pool is very clean and is great for relaxing in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, these mostly have the new flat screen tv's. Also, check if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCKeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhahran
668.4 mi away
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
Madinah Movenpick Hotel
#10 of 134 in Medina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dhahran
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhahran International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhahran International Hotel

Property: Dhahran International Hotel
Address: Dhahran Airport, Dhahran 31932, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Dhahran
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dhahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhahran International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dhahran International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing