We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old tired building and fabric, but good staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dhahran International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dhahran International Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dhahran
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,034 helpful votes
“An old tired building and fabric, but good staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a very old hotel (70s/80s?), and it shows it. Carpets are brown and old, the lift shakes because it is old, many of the towels are thin because they are old. I have stayed here before, and the staff however always impress. They know (and use) your name, the run around after things you need, room service is prompt and tasty (and plentiful). The hotel runs x3 daily buses to and from the local town and/or shopping centres at 9am, 4pm and 6.45pm. These are free and worth it for the experience (particularly if you are new to Saudi Arabia). There are lots of things that will annoy you like the (old) shower curtains hardly reach the side of the bath, so there is always water everywhere. There not enough plugs in the rooms (but they are US, EU and UK). Overall, I'm generally OK to stay here, but a week is enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
2
2
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is an ancient hotel that hasn't been renovated. I stayed here on business because I had to, but it was a very pleasant experience. The service was good, the food excellent, and the room good (but very very old). It's located pretty much inside a military base, so it's a safe area. It's not perfect, but I like it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have been to this hotel many times as this is the one provided by my company and I have no choice, The hotel is located far from the main town and has a very poor accessiblity even by a private taxi, It's facade is old and the rooms are also in the old style(70's-80's). Still the rooms are warm, big and good. The showers and Toilets have all the Old fixtures. The beds are comfortable if not so good. Food at the restaurant is delicious and it offers various themes throughout the week. It has a good helath center, Swimming pool and Tennis facilities. It has a small confference hall, Business Center, Saloon and Coffee Shop. You can prefer this hotel if you want to stay away from City Traffic.

Room Tip: It's in a faraway location, Beware unless you have your own vehicle or would like to use hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavithKantheti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I first visited this hotel over 25 years ago when the the main airport was just across the road. When the airport relocated and became less busy before becoming famous as the CNN conference centre during the Gulf War. A few years ago it could be described as tired and jaded and the five stars seemed to be optimistic. The hotel is now in recovery, the stars are regaining some polish. I've stayed there several times recently and the rooms have been redecorated and are quite comfortable. The restaurant is quite good and has the same themed evenings that it had twenty years ago, the breakfast is excellent and it is included in the room rate. The entrance lobby is much the same as it has always been. The hotel is conveniently located for Al-Khobar and Dhahran. It's not really the full five stars but it's good enough for business trips and I've even stayed there a few times with the family. The open air pool is very clean and is great for relaxing in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, these mostly have the new flat screen tv's. Also, check if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCKeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel was chosen for me by my client in Saudi. Its location near the old international airport (now a restricted airbase) implies that it was once the premier accommodation when flying into Dhahran. That is not the case any more.

If you read my other posts, you'll know that I am not generally a complainer.

Pro:
My client paid for it for me.

Cons:
There was no security, x-ray machine, or metal detector at the entrance.
The rooms were small and outdated.
The carpets in the hallways were stained.
The whole building smelled musty.
I did see a few security guards while I was there but they were always sitting upstairs in the hallway on some chairs playing games on their phones.
The counter staff had poor English and it was difficult to make car arrangements and such.
The hotel's restaurant- The Sands- is another whole story. The food was terrible, and quite expensive.
The hotel uses old-school keys. It's quaint in Italy, but low tech and unsecure in KSA.

It is worth the extra expense to stay in Khobar at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MedicMan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

There's not much to say about this one - I've had to work for a bit more than a year in Saudi and I've been to this Hotel many times during that period...

Let's start by the best : The food. everyday, there's a buffet and it's awesome !!! Of course, no alcoholic drinks (we're in Saudi :s)

The building is a massive imposing one and the hall is really big and beautiful !!! It would be nice to take photos... but avoid shooting in direction of Saudi people !

Internet connection is available by a cable (no Wifi) - you should ask for it at the reception desk. There's also an Internet Room for those who do not have a laptop. In the whole country, there's a firewall... you will not be able to access the majority of websites (if there's the word "sex" for example on a website, the whole domain is banned from the network :s)

The personnel is nice... well the Indian / Paki people are really nice ! Avoid the Saudis in the Hotels... For them, people who are not Saudi are nothing, and it's the same thing in the whole country ! It's just a fact, sorry :(

Cleanliness of rooms is horrible !!! The towels are ok, they are clean and the service is done on a daily basis... That's okay ! But don't be shocked to see rust around the taps in the bathroom or a broken tile here or there... I'm sorry to say this but this Hotel is "supposed" to be a 5 Star one... For me, it's got the same standard as a Good European 2 star one !!!

There's a swimming pool too, but I've not gone to see it - Please ask the timetable for swimming at the reception (Men aren't allowed at the same time as women)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervin_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ahsa, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

This hotel is calm, old, and clean. The breakfast and room service were above average. The rooms are partially renovated. The only really bad thing about this hotel is the location. This hotel is located near the old Dhahran airport which is now a military air base. Other than this it is fine.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AliAlAwadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhahran
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dhahran
3.9 mi away
Aloft Dhahran
Aloft Dhahran
#10 of 75 in Al Khobar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhahran International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhahran International Hotel

Property: Dhahran International Hotel
Address: Dhahran Airport, Dhahran 31932, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Eastern Province > Dhahran
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Dhahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhahran International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dhahran International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing